• Sign In / Register
  • Help
  • Basket0
The Winds of Folly (Paperback)
  • The Winds of Folly (Paperback)
zoom

The Winds of Folly (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 384 Pages / Published: 02/02/2012
  • We can order this

Usually despatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket

The compelling fourth historical naval adventure from a master of maritime storytelling. Seth Hunter's electrifying series is the perfect read for fans of Master and Commander and novels by Iain Gale.

'Seth Hunter has a more natural storyteller's eye than Patrick O'Brian' Daily Telegraph

1796: Nathan Peake, captain of the frigate Unicorn is sent with a small squadron into the Adriatic to help bring Venice into an Italian alliance against the French.

He establishes a British naval presence, harrying the French corsairs that swarm out of Ancona in Italy. While Nathan confronts the politics of 'intrigue, poison and the stiletto' in Venice, his mission is further complicated by the arrival of Napoleon Bonaparte's aide de camp, Junot.

Recognising Nathan as the 'American' who saved Bonaparte's life in Paris, Junot invites him to army headquarters where he unwillingly joins the French in a victorious battle against the Austrians.

Meanwhile, in Venice, French troops move into the city and a new revolutionary government takes power. Nathan learns that Bonaparte is negotiating a peace deal with the Austrians - Britain's only remaining ally. Worse, the Spanish are about to ally with the French. Nathan returns to the Unicorn and rejoins Nelson for the decisive Battle of St Vincent against the entire Spanish fleet.

What readers are saying about THE WINDS OF FOLLY:

'Full of action and intrigue mixed with a worldly view of historical figures. A non-stop read - his best yet'

'Another winning combination of naval action and espionage from Seth Hunter'

'More fascinating adventures through the Adriatic. The integration of old and new characters makes the story believable with its pieces of history woven through'

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9780755379019
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 306 g
Dimensions: 198 x 132 x 24 mm

You may also be interested in...

The Ionian Mission
Added to basket
Desolation Island
Added to basket
The Mauritius Command
Added to basket
The Fortune of War
Added to basket
Sharpe's Prey
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Sharpe's Fortress
Added to basket
The Fort
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Thirteen-Gun Salute
Added to basket
Sharpe's Tiger
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Treason's Harbour
Added to basket
Sharpe's Triumph
Added to basket
The Hundred Days
Added to basket
A Close Run Thing
Added to basket
Alibi
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Master and Commander
Added to basket

Reviews

View all

“Excellent and entertaining boolk!”

This is part of the Nathan Peake series and one of Seth Hunter's best. it is fast moving, exciting and if you like naval battles as well as reading about developed and mutlifaceted characters you will love this... More

Paperback edition
5th January 2013
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.