The Wild Way Home (Paperback)
  • The Wild Way Home (Paperback)
  • The Wild Way Home (Paperback)
  • The Wild Way Home (Paperback)
  • The Wild Way Home (Paperback)
  • The Wild Way Home (Paperback)
zoom
The Wild Way Home (Paperback) The Wild Way Home (Paperback) The Wild Way Home (Paperback) The Wild Way Home (Paperback)

The Wild Way Home (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 256 Pages
Published: 01/07/2020
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

A triumph of assured storytelling from a distinctive new voice, The Wild Way Home is a deftly constructed time-slip adventure featuring brilliantly realised characters and a richly imagined past world. Exploring themes of family, identity and friendship in a mature and engaging way, Kirtley’s debut transports the reader to another time and place.

Waterstones Children's Book of the Month for July 2020

When Charlie's longed-for brother is born with a serious heart condition, Charlie's world is turned upside down. Upset and afraid, Charlie flees the hospital and makes for the ancient forest on the edge of town. There Charlie finds a boy floating face-down in the stream, injured, but alive. But when Charlie sets off back to the hospital to fetch help, it seems the forest has changed. It's become a place as strange and wild as the boy dressed in deerskins. For Charlie has unwittingly fled into the Stone Age, with no way to help the boy or return to the present day. Or is there?

What follows is a wild, big-hearted adventure as Charlie and the Stone Age boy set out together to find what they have lost - their courage, their hope, their family and their way home. Fans of Piers Torday and Stig of the Dump will love this wild, wise and heartfelt debut adventure.

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
ISBN: 9781526616289
Number of pages: 256
Weight: 216 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

The Wild Way Home echoes Skellig and Stig of the Dump, with a bold, readable charm entirely its own ... Full of peril, sadness and wild joy, it’s a timeslip adventure with a difference. - Guardian

Underpinning this action-packed debut is a sensitive portrayal of how a child’s fear of illness and change can be overcome by helping others and facing up to the truth. - Daily Mail

This thrilling time-slip adventure oozes magic and heart - Bookseller EDITOR'S CHOICE

So good I read it twice - Hilary McKay, author of The Skylarks' War

I loved this unique quirky story full of heart - Jasbinder Bilan, author of Asha and the Spirit Bird

An enchanting debut - Mail on Sunday, best fiction of the year

With echoes of Skellig, this story is so smoothly told I barely stopped. A really powerful debut and definitely a must in every school library - Fleur Hitchcock for Waterstones Bookseller Reviews

Delivers in spades. It made me laugh, cry, gasp and turn the pages for one more chapter every time I had to stop - Nizrana Farook, author of The Girl Who Stole an Elephant

Reminiscent of Skellig and Stig of the Dump, The Wild Way Home is a lovely time-slip adventure full of heart, family and finding your feet when times are tough - Anna Fargher, author of Umbrella Mouse

An exciting debut that takes us on a timeslip adventure into the deep past, where survival is at the point of a spear and family is the only thing you have to hold onto - A.F. Harrold

Gorgeously magical and achingly real. I loved every character in this book and I devoured the whole story in a breathless rush because I couldn't stop reading (even when it made me cry) - Stephanie Burgis, author of The Dragon With a Chocolate Heart

A beautiful story of things ancient and eternal. Kirtley convincingly creates and navigates the difficult landscapes of both Stone Age Ireland and contemporary family life in this big-hearted, gripping debut. - Kelly McCaughrain

A tense, emotionally charged time-slip story … deeply moving and at times heart-breaking. Coming soon and eminently worth the wait - Irish Examiner

It is a heart-warming, magical book that has family, friendship and overcoming difficulties at its core. I couldn’t put it down! - NetGalley user

A captivating story of self-discovery and realising what is truly important in life - Scope For Imagination

Perfect for an UKS2 Stone Age topic, or for a nature or history lover, this world was immersive and believable and characters, settings and plot line were written with extraordinary attention to detail. Beautiful! - NetGalley Reviewer

Fans of Stig of the Dump or Michelle Paver’s Wolf Brother series will very much enjoy Sophie Kirtley’s vivid, exciting and heart-warming Stone Age timeslip story… Kirtley portrays the emotional truths of her story with equal skill, making that Charlie’s sense of loss, love and home as vivid and affecting as the encounters with wolves. This is Sophie Kirtley’s debut novel and very impressive. - Books For Keeps

A captivating story of self-discovery and realising what is truly important in life… It is also a magnificent portrayal of Stone Age life with opportunities for discussion about values, survival and family. - Top 10 Summer Holiday Books for Children, True Education Partnerships

Enchanting debut about Charlie, who travels back to the Stone Age while running away from the feelings prompted by the arrival of a poorly baby brother. When Charlie saves a lost Stone Age boy from drowning, the pair brave storms, wolves and other dangers while trying to find their way home - Mail on Sunday

You may also be interested in...

Impossible Creatures
Added to basket
Paper Dragons: The Fight for the Hidden Realm
Added to basket
Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Chalice of the Gods
Added to basket
Cat Kid Comic Club 5: Influencers
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
Added to basket
Wrath of the Triple Goddess
Added to basket
Dog Man 11: Twenty Thousand Fleas Under the Sea (PB)
Added to basket
Dog Man 12: The Scarlet Shedder
Added to basket
£12.99   £8.99
Hardback
The Last Bear
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Lottie Brooks's Totally Disastrous School-Trip
Added to basket

“Terrific debut”

Charlie is excited about the birth of his younger brother, but his younger brother is so fragile and so sick that Charlie runs and hides, finding himself in a distant past where things are so different and yet so... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 36

“I want to reread this book until the end of time!!”

I never read a book twice unless it's significantly got to me in some way. Either it makes me cry or I just don't want it to end!! 'The Wild Way Home' by was so fantastic I had to reread!!
Firstly... More

Paperback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 25

“The whole book was my favourite part!”

What a thrilling, emotional and exciting tale!

The Wild Way Home is an adventure that takes the reader on a wild journey from the present day into the overgrown wilderness of an ancient forest. When Charlie's... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 24

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: