The Widening Gyre - Fiction Without Frontiers (Hardback)
  • The Widening Gyre - Fiction Without Frontiers (Hardback)
zoom

The Widening Gyre - Fiction Without Frontiers (Hardback)

(author)
£20.00
Hardback 256 Pages / Published: 14/03/2019
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket
"Johnston's debut will keep readers on the edge of their seats as the heroes get themselves into one scrape after another. It has a hint of Battlestar Galactica, but with giant reptilian aliens. Johnston, with skillful plotting and impeccable world building, takes the tale of Tajen and his crew searching for home and shapes it into an unforgettable journey." - Booklist
The Remembrance War Book 1
Eight hundred years ago, the Zhen Empire discovered a broken human colony ship drifting in the fringes of their space. The Zhen gave the humans a place to live and folded them into their Empire as a client state. But it hasn't been easy. Not all Zhen were eager to welcome another species into their Empire, and humans have faced persecution. For hundreds of years, human languages and history were outlawed subjects, as the Zhen tried to mold humans into their image. Earth and the cultures it nourished for millennia are forgotten, little more than legends.
One of the first humans to be allowed to serve in the Zhen military, Tajen Hunt became a war hero at the Battle of Elkari, the only human to be named an official Hero of the Empire. He was given command of a task force, and sent to do the Empire's bidding in their war with the enigmatic Tabrans. But when he failed in a crucial mission, causing the deaths of millions of people, he resigned in disgrace and faded into life on the fringes as a lone independent pilot.
When Tajen discovers his brother, Daav, has been killed by agents of the Empire, he, his niece, and their newly-hired crew set out to finish his brother's quest: to find Earth, the legendary homeworld of humanity. What they discover will shatter 800 years of peace in the Empire, and start a war that could be the end of the human race.
FLAME TREE PRESS is the new fiction imprint of Flame Tree Publishing. Launching in 2018 the list brings together brilliant new authors and the more established; the award winners, and exciting, original voices.

Publisher: Flame Tree Publishing
ISBN: 9781787581456
Number of pages: 256
Weight: 390 g
Dimensions: 229 x 152 x 20 mm
Edition: New edition


MEDIA REVIEWS
"Every now and then the Space Opera genre wakes up from its current day mediocrity, and something good shines under the light of a different star. This is what happened with this book." - Angelo Benuzzi "Johnston can bring up not only solid worldbuilding [...] but investigate a full spectrum of themes from belonging to friendship to personal identity and more." - ScienceFiction.com "I'll be very interested to see where Johnston goes with the next book. He has the potential to take it in some unexpected directions, and I'm hoping he does." - Locus Magazine "Johnston's debut will keep readers on the edge of their seats as the heroes get themselves into one scrape after another. It has a hint of Battlestar Galactica, but with giant reptilian aliens. Johnston, with skillful plotting and impeccable world building, takes the tale of Tajen and his crew searching for home and shapes it into an unforgettable journey." - Booklist "Fans of David Weber or Elizabeth Moon will enjoy this debut, and experienced sf readers will catch some winks at other series." - Library Journal "The story is the action-packed space opera that the synopsis suggests. But it was so much more! [...]But I think the best surprise, for me, was the introduction of LGBT characters. It was unexpected, yet done in such a casual way that it was just natural." - Astroclone

You may also be interested in...

The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Good Omens
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
In the Time We Lost
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
Added to basket
£32.00   £27.99
Hardback
In the Time We Lost
Added to basket
Norse Mythology
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Sea of Greed
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket
The Last
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Testaments
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
The Taking of Annie Thorne
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Brink
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
The Shining
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
Added to basket
Ninth House
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Good Omens
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.