The Wicked Girls (Paperback)
  • The Wicked Girls (Paperback)
zoom

The Wicked Girls (Paperback)

(author)
8 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 21/06/2012
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket

The word-of-mouth bestselling debut from multi-award-winning bestseller Alex Marwood

That's us. We're the girls who killed Chloe. We are the devil now.

One fateful summer morning in 1986, two eleven-year-old girls meet for the first time and by the end of the day are charged with murder.

Twenty-five years later, journalist Kirsty Lindsay is reporting on a series of sickening attacks on young female tourists in a seaside town when her investigation leads her to interview funfair cleaner Amber Gordon. For Kirsty and Amber, it's the first time they've seen each other since that dark day when they were just children. But with new lives - and families - to protect, will they really be able to keep their wicked secret hidden?

An absolutely gripping, ripped-from-the-headlines psychological thriller perfect for fans of The Suspect by Fiona Barton and The Rumour by Lesley Kara

'[I] devoured every page . . . cleverly plotted and pacy, with all the storylines thundering towards a final, gripping conclusion. I loved it' Elizabeth Haynes

Praise for Alex Marwood:

'So good I wish I'd written it myself'
VAL McDERMID

'Without a doubt, she is one of crime fiction's brightest stars. Not to be missed'
MEGAN ABBOTT

'Alex Marwood has become one of my must-read crime writers'
SOPHIE HANNAH

'Scary as hell'
STEPHEN KING

'I cancel all engagements for a new novel from Alex Marwood'
ERIN KELLY

'Crime writing at its best'
LISA JEWELL

'I can't wait to see what Alex Marwood comes up with next'
JOJO MOYES

_____________________

Don't miss the shocking new novel from Alex Marwood - THE POISON GARDEN is out now

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780751547986
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 254 g
Dimensions: 196 x 130 x 25 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Genuinely disturbing and emotionally unsettling, The Wicked Girls is irresistible * Val McDermid *
Having read it and devoured every page, I really wish I'd written it! It was cleverly plotted and pacy, with all the storylines thundering towards a final, gripping conclusion. I loved it * Elizabeth Haynes *
The Wicked Girls is utterly compelling. It's psychologically rich, complex and masterfully plotted. I couldn't put it down, even when I sensed it was taking me somewhere very dark indeed. I can't wait to see what Alex Marwood comes up with next * Jojo Moyes *
The best thriller I've read since Sister. Taut, gritty and utterly compelling * Lisa Jewell *
I devoured The Wicked Girls over one weekend and loved it. I held my breath during the last few chapters * Erin Kelly *
In The Wicked Girls, debut author Alex Marwood's taut crime story poses bigger questions about tabloid witch hunts and the nature of evil * Good Housekeeping *
The Wicked Girls is ingenious and original -- a novel that surprises and rewards its readers, delivering a twist of an ending that I never saw coming, then realised it was the only ending that could truly satisfy. Real, chilling, true to its world and its characters. In short, a knock-out * Laura Lippman *
Original, thought-provoking and utterly brilliant * The Sun *
A rundown seaside amusement park provides the backdrop for Marwood's memorable first novel . . . Marwood fills this disturbing thriller with sordid red herrings and brutal reflections * Publishers Weekly *
One of the best books I read this year: The suspense keeps the pages flying, but what sets this one apart is the palpable sense of onrushing doom * Stephen King, 'The Best Books I Read This Year', Entertainment Weekly *

You may also be interested in...

Still Life
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Find Them Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Guest List
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dinner Guest
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Darkest Evening
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Cry Baby
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Little Disasters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Fair Warning
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Hidden in Plain Sight
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
Later
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£14.99   £10.99
Hardback
Win
Added to basket
Win
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Sentinel
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
A Slow Fire Burning
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
Raven88

“An enjoyable but disturbing read...”

Marwood has constructed a crime thriller with obvious allusions to the lives of other well documented child murders with the perpetrators being children themselves and how they assimilate back into society on release.... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 66
Bookread2day

“very good read”

slow start up to page 90. I wasnt really sure while reading up to page 90 what all the good reviews were going on about. Then from page 90 i just cant stop reading it. The story really starts and it so good i cant put... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 60

“Okay”

This book is okay, not great, just okay.

The plot is rather predictable, which doesn't make for a page turner as you've already worked out what's going to happen. The characters feel... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 45

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.