The Whistling (Hardback)
  • The Whistling (Hardback)
zoom

The Whistling (Hardback)

(author)
£14.99
Hardback 384 Pages
Published: 14/10/2021

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

FEEL SHIVERS DOWN YOUR SPINE WITH THE CHILLING AND GRIPPING GHOST STORY SET ON A FAR-FLUNG SCOTTISH ISLAND . . .

'Wonderfully atmospheric, genuinely eery' GUARDIAN
'Gripping, chilling and very, very satisfying' DAILY MAIL
'A wicked twist . . . brilliant, scary, clever' 5***** READER REVIEW
_______

Alone in the world, Elspeth Swansome has taken the position of nanny to a family on the remote Scottish island of Skelthsea.

Her charge, Mary, is a troubled child. Distracted and secretive, she hasn't uttered a word since the sudden death of her twin, William - just days after their former nanny disappeared.

With Mary defiantly silent, Elspeth turns to the islanders. But no one will speak of what happened to William. Just as no one can explain the hypnotic lullabies sung in empty corridors. Nor the strange dolls that appear in abandoned rooms.

Nor the faint whistling that comes in the night . . .

As winter draws in and passage to the mainland becomes impossible, Elspeth finds herself trapped.

But is this house haunted by the ghosts of the past?

OR THE SECRETS OF THE LIVING..?

Chilling, twisty and emotionally gripping, The Whistling is an atmospheric page-turner with shades of the classics, yet a unique character of its own. Perfect for fans of Susan Hill and Laura Purcell.


READERS ARE CHILLED BY THE WHISTLING

'I was sucked in from page one and read it in one fell swoop' 5* READER REVIEW

'A wicked twist . . . brilliant, scary, clever. Horror writing at its best' 5* READER REVIEW

'A great story with moments of heart-grabbing terror, beautifully written' 5* READER REVIEW

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780241533994
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 498 g
Dimensions: 222 x 144 x 35 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Assured debut . . . This wonderfully atmospheric read offers both a satisfying puzzle and some genuinely eery moments - Guardian

If you're looking for a chilling tale as we head towards Halloween, you've found it . . . It's not easy to pull off a genuinely unsettling ghost story, but this evocative mystery succeeds beautifully - Heat, 'Read of the Week'

Gripping, chilling and very, very satisfying - Daily Mail

A perfectly conjured setting and an unfolding mystery that will keep you guessing to the very end . . . Atmospheric and eerie, it will chill you to the bone - Anita Frank, author of The Lost Ones

A terrific, all-absorbing read. A wonderfully eerie haunted house set-up is given new life by brilliant, atmospheric writing, and by those rare things in any ghost story: real heart and feeling. I loved it! - Gytha Lodge, Sunday Times bestselling author

While The Whistling is an intricately plotted ghost story, it is also a beautifully poignant study of grief that kept me guessing right to its satisfying end. A must read! - Susan Stokes-Chapman, author of Pandora

Dripping in gothic melodrama, this chilling mystery is the perfect read for a cold winter's night - Daily Mirror

A genuinely creepy book with a gripping mystery at its heart. For fans of Laura Purcell and gothic historical fiction, this is a must! - Woman's Weekly

If you love haunted house ghost tales that are as psychological as they are supernatural, then you'll love Rebecca Netley's atmospheric debut - Culturefly

A beautifully written and intricate gothic tale with an atmospheric setting - NB Magazine

A chilling read - Prima

Troubled children in a chilling, chilly house, built on an island off the Scottish coast . . . A touching and engrossing story, perfect for winter evenings! - Hope Adams, author of Dangerous Women

The Whistling is an incredibly haunting and utterly gripping tale, with writing so chillingly atmospheric I had to sleep with the lights on! If you enjoy a good scare, this book is for you - Fíona Scarlett, author of Boys Don't Cry

You may also be interested in...

The Three-Body Problem
Added to basket
Wisteria
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
The Adventures of Amina Al-Sirafi
Added to basket
A Court of Silver Flames
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Babel
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Emily Wilde's Encyclopaedia of Faeries
Added to basket
House of Earth and Blood
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Lady Macbeth
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
The Familiar
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Dune Messiah
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Caraval
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Throne of Secrets
Added to basket
Rewitched
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
In Ascension
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Godkiller
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Stu Cummins

“A classic gothic tale that both pays homage to and surpasses some of the greats!”

The Whistling is a perfect example of the gothic horror genre being done well. It’s a story that is very much about unsettling, chilling experiences, but it’s also an unpredictable and exquisitely plotted mystery and... More

Hardback edition
4 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 13
Dan - Clifton, Bristol.

“If you hear it, its already too late.....”

Alone in the world, Elspeth Swansome has taken the position of nanny to a family on a remote and somewhat overlooked Scottish island which seems like the ideal getaway from her own troubled past but upon meeting her... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 10

“A haunting tale”

The Whistling is a haunting tale set on an isolated Scottish island. It follows the story of Elspeth, a young woman sent from the mainland to take up a post as nanny to a little mute girl, Mary. There have been two... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 10

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: