Your Waterstones card is changing, introducing...
TELL ME MORE
The Whisperers: A Charlie Parker Thriller: 9 - Charlie Parker Thriller (Paperback)
  • The Whisperers: A Charlie Parker Thriller: 9 - Charlie Parker Thriller (Paperback)
zoom

The Whisperers: A Charlie Parker Thriller: 9 - Charlie Parker Thriller (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 560 Pages / Published: 29/04/2014
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Detective Charlie Parker returns in another chilling thriller - a must-read for fans of Michael Connelly and Jeffery Deaver.

The border between Maine and Canada is porous. Anything can be smuggled across it: drugs, cash, weapons, people.

Now a group of disenchanted former soldiers has begun its own smuggling operation, and what is being moved is infinitely stranger and more terrifying than anyone can imagine. Anyone, that is, except private detective Charlie Parker, who has his own intimate knowledge of the darkness in men's hearts.

But the soldiers' actions have attracted the attention of the reclusive Herod, a man with a taste for the strange. And where Herod goes, so too does the shadowy figure that he calls the Captain. To defeat them, Parker must form an uneasy alliance with a man he fears more than any other, the killer known as the Collector . . .

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
ISBN: 9781444711189
Number of pages: 560
Weight: 384 g
Dimensions: 196 x 133 x 36 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A tour de force finale in a book which will sure be a bestseller this summer. It well deserves to be. * Independent on Sunday *
Brilliant, terrifying and effortlessly seductive, I defy anyone to put this thriller down - it is sensational. * Daily Mail *
Another creepy thriller from a modern master. * Daily Mirror *
This is one of Connolly's darker, scarier novels, all the more effective for the way the supernatural elements arise organically out of the realistic detail * Guardian *
Connolly subtly combines the supernatural with the traditional crime story to superb effect. And in Herod, a man being eaten by cancer, he may have created his creepiest villain yet. * Sun *
As ever with Connolly, the macabre narrative is couched in prose that is often allusive and poetic. * Barry Forshaw, Independent *
His latest plot is a clever mixture of quest and chase, written in prose that unfolds at warp speed * Observer *
Supernatural thriller by Dublin's finest. * Herald Magazine *

You may also be interested in...

The Good Daughter
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Thirteen
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Silent Companions
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Damaged
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Sunburn
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Dry
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Origin
Added to basket
£7.99   £3.99
Paperback
The People vs. Alex Cross
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
A Stranger in the House
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Y is for Yesterday
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Dark Angel
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Missing Girl
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback
The House Between Tides
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Sharp Objects
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Do Not Disturb
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Girl Before
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all
Ilona

“The Whisperers”

Although I really enjoyed Parker`s character and the political/paranormal plot, I found the story occassionally took a detour instead of staying with the main characters and the main story.

Paperback edition
10th March 2011
Helpful? Upvote 34

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.