The Whale Road - The Oathsworn Series Book 1 (Paperback)
  • The Whale Road - The Oathsworn Series Book 1 (Paperback)
zoom

The Whale Road - The Oathsworn Series Book 1 (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 01/08/2007
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

The first in the Oathsworn series, charting the adventures of a band of Vikings on the chase for the secret hoard of Attila the Hun.

Life is savage aboard a Viking raider. When young Orm Rurikson is plucked from the snows of Norway to join his estranged father on the Fjord Elk, he becomes an unlikely member of a notorious crew. They are the Oathsworn - so named after the spoken bond that ties them in brotherhood - and they ply a casual trade on the ocean wave, selling their swords to the highest bidder.

But times are changing. Loyalty to the old Norse Gods is fading, and the followers of the mysterious 'White Christ' are gaining power across Europe. Hired as relic-hunters by the merchant rulers of a bustling city, the Oathsworn are sent in search of a legendary sword of untold value to the new religion. With only a young girl as guide, their quest will lead them onto the deep and treacherous waters of the 'whale road', toward the cursed treasure of Attila the Hun. And to a challenge that will test the very bond that holds them together.

Robert Low, a significant up and coming voice in historical fiction, has created a startlingly modern tale in the style of the great Viking sagas. A heady mix of powerful suspense, blockbuster battles and religious intrigue, THE WHALE ROAD is a must for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Tim Severin. The Oathsworn series is sure to hook old and new readers alike.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780007215300
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 260 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 22 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'A company of warriors, desperate battles, an enthralling read' BERNARD CORNWELL

'A fantastic book, one of the best I have read for years. There's a wonderful earthiness to proceedings and he creates a tangible sense of being there. There's a sturdy, lyrical and epic quality about the writing which makes it feel like the kind of saga a Viking would recount in his old age.'
SIMON SCARROW

'A stirring Viking series of blockbuster battles and religious intrigue.'
Publishing News

'All the right ingredients are firmly in place...above all there is the storyline itself; told in an earthy, rough-and-ready stylewhich perfectly compliments this saga for the 21st Century.'
Yorkshire Evening Post

'A fascinating read' The Glasgow Herald

'The Hangman humour of the band of sworn brothers gives Low's epic but brutal tale real humanity and the detail of 10th century life is wonderfully vivd. The action is fast and furious...shockingly believably so. Low's debut novel hits the mark with maximum impact.'
Bridlington Today

You may also be interested in...

Sword Song
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Heresy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Shogun
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Harlequin
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Sisters Brothers
Added to basket
The Paying Guests
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Lamentation
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Pale Horseman
Added to basket
Dissolution
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Master and Commander
Added to basket
Girl With a Pearl Earring
Added to basket
The Red Queen
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Emperor's Babe
Added to basket
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Restoration
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Cinderella Sister
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback

“Top notch Historical Fiction....now a fan”

As a historical fiction fan Robert Low has been added to my list of favourite authors, this series of books will give enjoyment to any fan of Bernard Cornwell/Simon Scarrow/Tim Severin or Conn Iggulden and are an... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 63
Lance Mitchell

“Disappointing”

The story is fairly good: the sort of plot that you would expect from the likes of Conn Iggulden. However, The Whale Road doesn’t come close to the class of Iggulden, or any other of my favourite historical fiction... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 19

“One of the best ive read in a long time.”

The whale road is the first edition of the oathsworn saga, about norseman from norway, sailing on the whale road. Robert Low knows what he's talking about, when it comes to either norse myth or old norse names.... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 17

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.