The Weight of Small Things (Paperback)
  • The Weight of Small Things (Paperback)
zoom

The Weight of Small Things (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback Published: 06/08/2020
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'A beautifully written book with a charming, young narrator, combined with a surprisingly dark and unusual whodunnit. It's a touching, powerful and twisty read, packed with intrigue. Will appeal to fans of Joanna Cannon's The Trouble With Goats and Sheep.' S.J. Harris, author of The Colour of Bee Larkham's Murder

'Powerful writing...' Woman's Way Magazine
'With devastating purity and clarity, nine year old Frankie Appleton is likely to enter your hearts in this poignant and emotional read.' Love Reading

Nine-year-old Frankie Appleton likes to count gates.

One day she hopes to design the perfect gate - a gate to keep the bad things out.

Little does she know that the bad things have already got in.

Now her mother is dead, and the only other person with a house key has disappeared.

Frankie thinks she knows who it is. But first she has to prove it.

A delicately brutal exploration of what lies behind closed doors, and of the secrets and lies that form the fabric of every family, The Weight of Small Things is as charming as it is chilling.

Publisher: Mirror Books
ISBN: 9781913406189
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'A beautifully written book with a charming, young narrator, combined with a surprisingly dark and unusual whodunnit. It's a touching, powerful and twisty read, packed with intrigue. Will appeal to fans of Joanna Cannon's The Trouble With Goats and Sheep.' S.J. Harris, author of The Colour of Bee Larkham's Murder


'One of the best books I've read this year' Dave, 5 stars
'Extremely current and highly readable' Beverley, 5 stars
'Brutally honest, frank and beautiful' Natalie, 5 stars

You may also be interested in...

It Ends With Us
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Book of Two Ways
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
You and Me on Vacation
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Transient Desires
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Bewilderment
Added to basket
£18.99   £16.99
Hardback
Beautiful World, Where Are You
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Vanishing Half
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Survivors
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
One August Night
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Trio
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket
The Cat Who Saved Books
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Hardback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£18.99   £15.99
Hardback
Eight Detectives
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Very hard hitting read”

When I read the description of this book I thought it would be a murder/mystery I could get into.
However the description wasnt really a true outline of the story.
Yes its told from Frankie's point of view... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“Raw and honest”

A raw account of life which is hard to read in places. Frankie has had an unimaginably hard life. I found this story heartbreaking in places. The writing is raw and honest and kept me reading. People’s lives can be so... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“A fantastic find!”

This book was excellent. I don't read a lot of fiction-mostly memoirs; true stories. But I loved this. It's told from different characters' own points of view, and well observed and detailed, so it... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.