The Testaments out now
The Weight of a Thousand Feathers (Paperback)
  • The Weight of a Thousand Feathers (Paperback)
zoom

The Weight of a Thousand Feathers (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 368 Pages / Published: 13/06/2019
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
WINNER OF THE AN POST IRISH BOOK AWARDS TEEN & YOUNG ADULT BOOK OF THE YEAR 2018 LONGLISTED FOR THE CILIP CARNEGIE MEDAL 2019 Angry, stirring and tender, this is a bold, questioning exploration of the lengths to which we'll go for the people we love. From the Costa Children's Book Award winning author of When Mr Dog Bites and The Bombs That Brought Us Together. Bobby Seed has questions. What's another word for `thesaurus'? How can I tell Bel I want her as my girl friend, not my girlfriend? How much pain is Mum in today? Has she taken her pills? And sometimes, secretly, Why us? Bobby's little brother Danny has questions too. Will Bobby let him have Rice Krispies for dinner? And can he stay up late on the computer? And why won't Mum's stupid illness just GO AWAY? But it's Mum's question for Bobby that could turn everything on its head. It's the Big One. The Unthinkable One. If Bobby agrees, he won't just be soothing her pain. He'll be helping to end it. Would he? Could he? Perfect for readers of Patrick Ness and Malorie Blackman.

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
ISBN: 9781408871546
Number of pages: 368
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Utterly moving and heartbreakingly beautiful, this is a brilliant novel * The Sun, Five Star Review *
An emotional rollercoaster of a book, written with so much heart it bounces off of the page. The darkness is balanced by cracking dialogue and humour. A bold, life-affirming read' * The Irish Independent *
Conaghan is a sublime storyteller who can make the reader hang on his every last word (and all of the others) ...Conaghan is sensitive and the dark plot retains a lightness. * Alex O'Connell, The Times, Children's Book of the Week *
Although it's heartbreaking at times, there's also tenderness and humour ...The tremendous empathy with which Conaghan writes about young people is impressive * The Irish Times *
Heart wrenching, honest, funny and bold, this exceptional novel about the life, loves and agonies of a young carer, and the love between a mum and her sons, is a storytelling triumph ...Always warm and witty, and never sentimental, this raw portrait of real-life ravages is suffused in the magic of the human heart. Bobby is an unforgettable, inspirational character - we could all do with taking a leaf from Bobby's book of strength and wit - and author Brian Conaghan is a writer of the highest rank. * Joanne Owen, LoveReading4Kids *
Brian Conaghan is a courageous writer, never afraid to really go there. He combines the straight and the blunt of kitchen sink writing with a luminous meditation on the nature of love and life and death. And he has shone a supportive spotlight on the lives of thousands of young carers across the UK. I cried buckets * Jill Murphy, The Bookbag *
Conaghan's lightness of touch and sense of humour shine through in this heartbreaking story, and each of the characters lingers in the imagination until the final page * The Scotsman *
A hard-hitting, heartbreaking tale ...One sentence after another knocks the reader out * Independent *
Brian Conaghan has done it again. Uncompromising, gritty, laced with a black humour, this is a novel that you live ... An extraordinary book to be recommended to thoughtful, enquiring readers prepared to take a step into the dark. * Books for Keeps *
Truly outstanding * The School Librarian *
A powerful love story about this unique family of three ...[a] beautiful novel * Inis Reading Guide *
This is a portrayal of young male bonding, complete with all the lively banter of true camaraderies, at its most tender and affectionate * Praise for WHEN MR DOG BITES: Irish Times *
Beautifully observed and hilariously uncomfortable * Praise for WHEN MR DOG BITES: Guardian *
Believable, funny, brave and vulnerable young male characters ... thought-provoking novel ... drama and tension in plenty ... irrepressible humour * Praise for THE BOMBS THAT BROUGHT US TOGETHER: Joy Court, The School Librarian *
Humanity and humour thread through the challenging storyline from the first page to the very last * Praise for THE BOMBS THAT BROUGHT US TOGETHER: The Bookbag *

You may also be interested in...

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Added to basket
Dog Man 7: For Whom the Ball Rolls
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Hardback
Matilda
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Explorer
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Dear Evan Hansen
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Goodnight Mister Tom
Added to basket
Not My Fault
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
The World's Worst Children
Added to basket
Dog Man 5: Lord of the Fleas PB
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Hunger Games
Added to basket
Bad Dad
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
The Wonky Donkey
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Five Feet Apart
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
Added to basket
This Lie Will Kill You
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Grandpa's Great Escape
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback

“Heart wrenching and beautiful”

This book is so good that I practically inhaled it! Heart wrenching and beautiful but not so sad that I couldn't read it. A pacey book looking at a most sensitive issue, in a most sensitive way.

“A sensitive story of progressive illness through the eyes of a young carer”

I received a copy of this book for from the publishers in exchange for an honest review.

I demolished this book in 3 sittings. It would have been 1 but I physically couldn't stay awake long enough! The Weight of... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“TEARJERKER-ALERT!”

Let's start with the - kind of - least important thing: the writing. The Weight of a Thousand Feathers consists mostly of short chapters, which made reading easy and difficult at the same time. That might sound... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.