The Way Past Winter (Paperback)
  • The Way Past Winter (Paperback)
zoom

The Way Past Winter (Paperback)

(author)
6 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 256 Pages / Published: 03/10/2019
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 48 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

The Waterstones Children’s Book Prize-winning author returns with her most poignant, bittersweet and captivating novel to date, steeped in the landscape and literature of Scandinavia. Questing through the frozen wastes of an eternal winter, Millwood Hargrave weaves her distinctive magical spell.

From the bestselling author of The Girl of Ink & Stars comes a paperback edition of this gorgeous wintry folk tale for young and old alike - an exciting adventure to the frozen north, perfect for fans of Philip Pullman.

Mila and her sisters live with their brother Oskar in a small forest cabin in the snow. One night, a fur-clad stranger arrives seeking shelter for himself and his men. But by the next morning, they've gone - taking Oskar with them. Fearful for his safety, Mila and her sisters set out to bring Oskar back - even it means going north, crossing frozen wild-lands to find a way past an eternal winter.

Publisher: Chicken House Ltd
ISBN: 9781912626076
Number of pages: 256
Weight: 200 g
Dimensions: 197 x 134 x 18 mm
Edition: 2nd edition


MEDIA REVIEWS

'This gorgeous story of bravery, sisterhood, goodbyes and beginnings is a must for everyone.' - Jessie Burton

'The Way Past Winter is a masterclass in exquisite storytelling.' - Catherine Doyle

'Gorgeous, heartfelt and incredibly exciting. Her best yet, and that's saying something.' - Robin Stevens

You may also be interested in...

The Baddies
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
Spaceboy
Added to basket
£14.99   £7.49
Hardback
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Diper Overlode
Added to basket
The Very Merry Murder Club
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Heartstopper Volume 1
Added to basket
Skandar and the Unicorn Thief
Added to basket
Guinness World Records 2023
Added to basket
The Christmasaurus
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Greg the Sausage Roll: The Perfect Present
Added to basket
Bluey: Christmas Eve with Verandah Santa
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Grannysaurus
Added to basket
£12.99   £6.49
Hardback
We're Going on a Sleigh Ride
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Heartstopper Yearbook
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Bloodmarked
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Space Band
Added to basket
£14.99   £11.99
Hardback
Tom Gates 20: Happy to Help (eventually)
Added to basket
Nala's World
Added to basket
£12.99
Hardback
The First to Die at the End
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Hardback
Big Bearded Bookseller

“Another Stunner from Kiran Millwood Hargrave”

In an everlasting winter, sisters Mila and Pipa set out in search for their brother Oskar. Mila is certain that he didn’t accompany the stranger of his own accord, that he didn’t leave like their father did. Her other... More

“Classic Millwood Hargrave Read!”

I was excited to see 'The Way Past Winter' come into store. The book was very much in keeping with Kiran's style of magical realism, and remained sympathetic to the Nordic mythology throughout. The... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 38

“Tense Winter Adventure.”

A missing brother?
A tense adventure that keeps those pages turning no matter how tired you are... always just one more chapter.
Perfect for a cold winters night!

Paperback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 35

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.