The Way Back (Paperback)
  • The Way Back (Paperback)
zoom

The Way Back (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 384 Pages / Published: 08/07/2021
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

A US National Book Award Finalist: the new fantasy novel from the author of the acclaimed crossover novel Anna and the Swallow Man. A story for fans of Neil Gaiman, Philip Pullman and The Book Thief.
'As timeless as a fairy tale' - New York Times

'Steeped in the rich traditions of ghost stories and Jewish folklore, this remarkable feat of storytelling is sure to delight' - Kirkus Reviews


For the Jews of Eastern Europe, demons are everywhere. Talk of them is endless. The fear they summon is real.
Bluma and Yehuda Leib, two young people from the little shetl of Tupik, know mostly of demons through stories - these, and the occasional shiver down the back of their necks. Until one night when they unexpectedly encounter the Dark One - Death - an encounter which sends them spinning off on a journey in search of something they have both lost.
Theirs is a journey that will change everyhting. It will take them through the cemetery of Tupik and into the Far Country, the demon land filled with the souls of the dead. It will see them make pacts with demons and declare war on Death itself.
But can they possibly find their way back . . . ?

Publisher: Penguin Random House Children's UK
ISBN: 9780241442517
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 256 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 23 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Feels as timeless as a fairy tale * New York Times *
Set in a frigid and arcane 19th century winter, The Way Back blends Jewish demonology with a fairytale past to create a beautiful tale of mysticism, mystery, and just one low-key little war against the Angel of Death. * Hypable *
A bewitching allegorical adventure comprised of small, beautifully composed moments. * Publishers Weekly, starred review *
Steeped in the rich traditions of ghost stories and Jewish folklore, this remarkable feat of storytelling is sure to delight. * Kirkus Reviews,starred review *
This work of prodigious imagination is especially notable in its author's uncanny ability to create a visceral suspense that captures readers' attention and won't let go as the pages fly by * Booklist, starred review *

You may also be interested in...

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
Added to basket
The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
Added to basket
Northern Lights
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
To Be A Cat
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Artemis Fowl
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Julia and the Shark
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
Added to basket
Daughter of the Deep
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
Added to basket
Julia and the Shark
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.