• Sign In / Register
  • Help
  • Basket0
The Way Back Home (Paperback)
  • The Way Back Home (Paperback)
zoom

The Way Back Home (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 256 Pages / Published: 04/05/2017
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Zoe Bird is going nowhere fast. She's angry and lonely, and her only true friend is her granny, whose Alzheimer's is worsening. When her parents put Granny in a home, Zoe decides now is the time to break free. She smuggles Granny out and together they hit the tracks on a cross-country trip to find Zoe's long-lost uncle. But there will be some home truths along the way. . . An emotional story about family, surviving school and being true to yourself for fans of The Art of Being Normal and Unbecoming.

Publisher: Andersen Press Ltd
ISBN: 9781783445219
Number of pages: 256
Weight: 207 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 16 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"The Way Back Home is a heartfelt, riveting novel from a master of his craft" * Quill and Quire *
"I love this book - a riveting page-turner full of likeable, flawed, believable people. It's beautiful, heartbreaking, yet wonderfully funny. Stratton writes some of the wittiest dialogue in YA fiction today." -- Susin Nielsen
"The Way Back Home is raw, funny, brutal and profoundly humane. It broke my heart and then healed it again" -- Susan Juby
"Terrific. I read it in one big gulp. Does Stratton have an ear for dialogue or what? His splendid new novel involves a journey from a painful past into something like, well, utter grace. Like all of Stratton's work, this is a read that makes us recognise the pilgrimages we are all on, and cheer at the thought that they might, they really might, be successful." * Gary D Schmidt *
"An emotional story of survival, loss, family and memory... a thought-provoking book that is both shocking and funny in equal measure" * Carousel *
"The novel discusses many important topics such as bullying, mental health and the loss of a loved one. Zoe's experiences are certain to resonate with young teenagers, making it an honest and relatable read" * INIS *
"An absorbing and emotionally truthful story about the conflict between generations and the misunderstandings that can break families apart" * The School Librarian *
"By turns heartbreaking and hilarious, and always life-affirming, this will be adored by readers who enjoyed Jacqueline Wilson at a younger age." -- Joanne Owen * Lovereading4Kids *
"Thought-provoking, sad, touching and funny... this is a book which does not fear discussing sexuality and transgender issues and how, like age and illness, they can marginalise people." * Armadillo Magazine *
"This book is one to remember! Exploring many different and deep concepts and emotions, The Way Back Home shows the importance of family, friendship and trust." -- Olivia Arnold, age 12 * for lovereading4Kids.co.uk *

You may also be interested in...

The Sun is also a Star
Added to basket
INK
Added to basket
INK
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Eve of Man
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
A Court of Frost and Starlight
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
They Both Die at the End
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Knife of Never Letting Go
Added to basket
Clean
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
13 Minutes
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Everything, Everything
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Smoke Thieves
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
La Belle Sauvage: The Book of Dust Volume One
Added to basket
Holes
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
One Of Us Is Lying
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.49
Paperback
Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda
Added to basket
Gone
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Things a Bright Girl Can Do
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.