The Way Back Home (Paperback)
  • The Way Back Home (Paperback)
zoom

The Way Back Home (Paperback)

£7.99
Paperback 256 Pages / Published: 04/05/2017
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Winner of the Scelte di classe 2019 Zoe Bird is going nowhere fast. She's angry and lonely, and her only true friend is her granny, whose Alzheimer's is worsening. When her parents put Granny in a home, Zoe decides now is the time to break free. She smuggles Granny out and together they hit the tracks on a cross-country trip to find Zoe's long-lost uncle. But there will be some home truths along the way. . . An emotional story about family, surviving school and being true to yourself for fans of The Art of Being Normal and Unbecoming.

Publisher: Andersen Press Ltd
ISBN: 9781783445219
Number of pages: 256
Weight: 207 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 16 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"The Way Back Home is a heartfelt, riveting novel from a master of his craft" * Quill and Quire *
"I love this book - a riveting page-turner full of likeable, flawed, believable people. It's beautiful, heartbreaking, yet wonderfully funny. Stratton writes some of the wittiest dialogue in YA fiction today." -- Susin Nielsen
"The Way Back Home is raw, funny, brutal and profoundly humane. It broke my heart and then healed it again" -- Susan Juby
"Terrific. I read it in one big gulp. Does Stratton have an ear for dialogue or what? His splendid new novel involves a journey from a painful past into something like, well, utter grace. Like all of Stratton's work, this is a read that makes us recognise the pilgrimages we are all on, and cheer at the thought that they might, they really might, be successful." * Gary D Schmidt *
"An emotional story of survival, loss, family and memory... a thought-provoking book that is both shocking and funny in equal measure" * Carousel *
"The novel discusses many important topics such as bullying, mental health and the loss of a loved one. Zoe's experiences are certain to resonate with young teenagers, making it an honest and relatable read" * INIS *
"An absorbing and emotionally truthful story about the conflict between generations and the misunderstandings that can break families apart" * The School Librarian *
"By turns heartbreaking and hilarious, and always life-affirming, this will be adored by readers who enjoyed Jacqueline Wilson at a younger age." -- Joanne Owen * Lovereading4Kids *
"Thought-provoking, sad, touching and funny... this is a book which does not fear discussing sexuality and transgender issues and how, like age and illness, they can marginalise people." * Armadillo Magazine *
"Raw and moving, this is a powerful read about a very special friendship." * Inis Reading Guide *

You may also be interested in...

Six of Crows
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
If This Gets Out
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
It's Behind You
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Gilded
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
One Of Us Is Next
Added to basket
Tom Gates 18: Ten Tremendous Tales
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Girl in Pieces
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
All the Bright Places
Added to basket
The Girls I've Been
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Heartstopper Volume Two
Added to basket
The Bell Jar
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
You'll Be the Death of Me
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
They Both Die at the End
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
We Were Liars
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
You'd Be Home Now
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.