Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
The Water and the Wild (Hardback)
  • The Water and the Wild (Hardback)
zoom

The Water and the Wild (Hardback)

(author)
£10.99
Hardback 448 Pages / Published: 27/04/2015
  • Publisher reprinting

Temporarily out of stock

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
A green apple tree grows in the heart of Thirsby Square and tangled up in its magical roots is the story of Lottie Fiske. For as long as Lottie can remember, the only people who seem to care about her are her best friend, Eliot and the mysterious letter writer who sends her birthday gifts. But now strange things are happening on the island Lottie calls home and Eliot's getting sicker, with a disease the doctors have given up trying to cure. Lottie is helpless, useless, powerless-until a door opens in the apple tree. Follow Lottie down through the roots to another world in pursuit of the impossible: a cure for the incurable, a use for the useless and protection against the pain of loss.

Publisher: Chronicle Books
ISBN: 9781452113869
Number of pages: 448
Weight: 544 g
Dimensions: 184 x 140 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"Every year on her birthday Lottie receives a letter granting her birthday wish from a magic apple tree in her front yard. So, when her best friend's illness takes a turn for the worse, Lottie asks for one thing, a cure to save his life. Instead of a letter though, Lottie receives two sprites who take her through the apple tree to their world. There she must weigh the importance of her friend's life against the lives of an entire world of sprites. A fun debut perfect for fans of The Chronicles of Narnia." --Brandi Stewart, Changing Hands Bookstore, Tempe, AZ
The Water and The Wild is a debut children's fantasy that feels akin to the British childhood favorites I grew up reading--The Chronicles of Narnia, The Dark Is Rising, and Alice in Wonderland. So introduce your child to a modern classic in the making or read it yourself in nostalgic remembrance." --Jill Hendrix, Fiction Addiction
"Lottie was an orphan that had been adopted by Mr. Yates. Mrs. Yates was not in charge since he has passed away, and she did not care about Lottie. Outside Lottie's room was an apple tree, and she had found a box at the base of it. A picture of her parents was in it and a message. Lottie's best friend was dying and she was determined to find a cure for him. One night Lottie finds herself being taken into the apple tree and spirited away to another world. Great read! Her determination to save her friend, Eliot, takes her on a wild journey." --Sue Mason, Waucoma Bookstore, Hood River, Oregon."
"I can't wait for the next book by Ormsbee that will take me back to New Albion - land of sprites, wisps, barghests, and more magical beings. Besides the adventurous journey that Lottie Fiske embarks on, this book is, at its core, about our need for connection and friends. Whether you're a sprite or a halfling, we all want to be understood as well as be understanding." --Valerie Welbourn, The Fountainhead Bookstore, Hendersonville, NC
"Engaging. imaginative."-Kirkus Reviews
"Humorous descriptions and vivid creatures. should keep many readers intrigued."--Publishers Weekly
"Readers may just turn to the first page and begin again."-School Library Journal
"Reminiscent of Alice in Wonderland and A Series of Unfortunate Events."--School Library Connection
"A beautifully told fairy tale."-Booklist

You may also be interested in...

A Song for Ella Grey
Added to basket
The Chronicles of Narnia
Added to basket
The Magic Faraway Tree
Added to basket
The Letter for the King
Added to basket
The Magician's Nephew
Added to basket
Death Bringer
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Last Stand of Dead Men
Added to basket
House of Secrets
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
Added to basket
The Horse and His Boy
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.