The Watchers (Paperback)
  • The Watchers (Paperback)
zoom

The Watchers (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 336 Pages
Published: 12/05/2022
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

Soon to be a MAJOR MOTION PICTURE produced by M. NIGHT SHYAMALAN and starring DAKOTA FANNING.

You can't see them. But they can see you.

This forest isn't charted on any map. Every car breaks down at its treeline. Mina's is no different. Left stranded, she is forced into the dark woodland only to find a woman shouting, urging Mina to run to a concrete bunker. As the door slams behind her, the building is besieged by screams.

Mina finds herself in a room with a wall of glass, and an electric light that activates at nightfall, when the Watchers come above ground. These creatures emerge to observe their captive humans and terrible things happen to anyone who doesn't reach the bunker in time.

Afraid and trapped among strangers, Mina is desperate for answers. Who are the Watchers, and why are they keeping the humans imprisoned, keen to watch their every move?

A spine-chilling debut horror adventure set in the remote and sinister forests of Ireland, from critically acclaimed Irish writer A.M. Shine.

'A dark, claustrophobic read' T. Kingfisher, author of Paladin's Grace

'Readers get an intimate glimpse into the fraying edges of each character's psyches, the constant hunger, the paranoia, the loss of hope, and far worse... The Watchers will appeal to fans of Kealan Patrick Burke, Josh Malerman, and Scott Smith' A.E. Siraki, Booklist

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
ISBN: 9781801102148
Number of pages: 336
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

A dark, claustrophobic read - T. Kingfisher

Readers get an intimate glimpse into the fraying edges of each character's psyches, the constant hunger, the paranoia, the loss of hope, and far worse... A combination of supernatural and psychological horror, The Watchers will appeal to fans of Kealan Patrick Burke, Josh Malerman, and Scott Smith - A.E. Siraki, Booklist

This book has such atmosphere, and creepiness, and is an ideal read for the Halloween season, or any time you want some spookiness in your life! - Beauty and Lace

A fantastic horror concept - Hollywood Reporter

Intense and thrilling, The Watchers is a great debut and solid addition to the survival horror sub-genre - Read By Dusk

A brisk, at times scary but thoroughly enjoyable read - Bloody Flicks

A clever, highly original story beautifully written - The Untidy Bookshelf

The Watchers was a punch to the jugular... The author pulled out the rug from under me on more than one occasion. A must-read for the spooky season! - The Coy Caterpillar Reads

You may also be interested in...

Throne of Secrets
Added to basket
When the Moon Hatched
Added to basket
Spectacular
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Ink Blood Sister Scribe
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
I Who Have Never Known Men
Added to basket
Witchcraft for Wayward Girls
Added to basket
You Like It Darker
Added to basket
£25.00   £20.00
Hardback
Godkiller
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Queen B
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Wind and Truth
Added to basket
Lady Macbeth
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
The Three-Body Problem
Added to basket
Rewitched
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Dune Messiah
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Katabasis
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
Babel
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback

“A brisk and entertaining read”

En-route to a house sitting assignment in rural island Mina (and her pet parrot) are forced to stay in a home with a dark secret.

While she thinks this is the big issue, when darkness falls another unseen force comes... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 8

“Part claustrophobic, part "Lost" - Creepy AF”

I'm not usually into Horror but "The Watchers" by AM Shine is creepy as anything. Admittedly it does take a couple of chapters to get into, and I did have to go back and read the synopsis but after... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 8

“Genuinely disturbing, extremely addictive.”

I literally read this book in one sitting one morning . Impossible to put down, this is classic horror, beautifully written and seriously creepy.

Imagine if Quiet Place and Body Snatchers had a more terrifying baby... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 8

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: