The Wall - Vintage Earth (Paperback)
  • The Wall - Vintage Earth (Paperback)
zoom

The Wall - Vintage Earth (Paperback)

(author), (translator)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 256 Pages
Published: 07/07/2022
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

When her cousin and wife fail to return from a walk, this story takes a sinister turn to a quest of survival

A woman takes a holiday in the Austrian mountains, spending a few days with her cousin and his wife in their hunting lodge. When the couple fails to return from a walk, the woman sets off to look for them. But her journey reaches a sinister and inexplicable dead end. She discovers only a transparent wall behind which there seems to be no life. Trapped alone behind the mysterious wall she begins the arduous work of survival.

This is at once a simple account of potatoes and beans, of hoping for a calf, of counting matches, of forgetting the taste of sugar and the use of one's name, and simultaneously a disturbing dissection of the place of human beings in the natural world.

**PERFECT FOR FANS OF THE YELLOW WALLPAPER, STATION ELEVEN AND THE MARTIAN**

VINTAGE EARTH is a collection of novels to transform our relationship with the natural world. Each one is a work of creative activism, a blast of fresh air, a seed from which change can grow. The books in this series reconnect us to the planet we inhabit - and must protect. Discover great writing on the most urgent story of our times.

Publisher: Vintage Publishing
ISBN: 9781784878030
Number of pages: 256
Weight: 181 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 16 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

It's a novel that contrives to be, by turns, utopian and dystopian, an idyll and a nightmare... Every joint and sinew of the story is restless with a sense of threat - London Review of Books

Brilliant in its sustainment of dread, in its peeling away of old layers of reality to expose a raw way of seeing and feeling. Doris Lessing once remarked that only a woman could have written this novel, and it's true... I've read The Wall three times already and am nowhere near finished - Nicole Krauss

It makes you sick, because, if she wasn't a woman, everyone would be reading it, like Robinson Crusoe - Sheila Heti, author of 'Motherhood' and 'Pure Colour'

Totally gripping - Daniel Swift, Spectator, Books of the Year*

An extraordinarily interesting writer, always underappreciated - Elfriede Jelinek

You may also be interested in...

Long Island
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Housekeepers
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Housemaid
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Kairos
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Butter
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Someone Else’s Shoes
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Guest
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
Yellowface
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Last Devil To Die
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
You Like It Darker
Added to basket
£25.00   £12.50
Hardback
Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow
Added to basket
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Close to Home
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Babel
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Prophet Song
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback

“An impressive female perspective on the End of the World scenario.”

Whilst this is a narrative of some length, with only the one human protagonist throughout practically its entirety, I found it continually engaging. The lack of chapters, or any breaks, is perhaps deliberate on the... More

Paperback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 13

“A forgotten masterpiece”

This is a book that I discovered many decades ago, and since then, I must have re-read it about three times. Recently, just re-read it again and decided that it was my favourite book. As many readers say, 'not... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“A forgotten masterpiece”

This is a book that I discovered many years ago, and since then, I must have re-read it about three times. Recently, just re-read it again and decided that it was my favourite book. Many reviews say, 'not much... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: