The Vanishing (Hardback)
  • The Vanishing (Hardback)
zoom

The Vanishing (Hardback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£12.99
Hardback 400 Pages / Published: 12/01/2017
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket
When she spoke, her voice startled me, that sudden gentle voice, amidst the tumult of the storm and the lurch of the carriage.
               ‘If we take his life,’ she said, ‘we had best do it quickly.’
               ‘Madam,’ I said, ‘there is no “if”’

On top of the Yorkshire Moors, in an isolated spot carved out of a barren landscape, lies White Windows, a house of shadows and secrets.

Here lives Marcus Twentyman, a hard-drinking but sensitive man, and his sister, the brisk widow, Hester. When runaway Annaleigh first meets the Twentymans, their offer of employment and lodgings seems a blessing. Only later does she discover the truth. But by then she is already in the middle of a web of darkness and intrigue, where murder seems the only possible means of escape...

Sophia Toibin’s work for a Bond Street antique dealer, a specialist in silver and jewellery, inspired her to write her first novel The Silversmith’s Wife which was shortlisted for the Lucy Cavendish College Fiction Prize. She followed this up with the highly-praised novel The Widow’s Confession.

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
ISBN: 9781471151606
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 576 g
Dimensions: 234 x 153 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
`The plot twists with admirable zest... Entertaining' * The Times *
`Layer upon layer of increasingly fevered intrigue, and just when you think you can guess where this story is going, it takes a turn for the unexpected... undeniably page-turning' * Mail on Sunday *
`Atmosphere aplenty and some real surprises' * Daily Mail *
`Tobin writes with brio and the narrative carries the reader briskly along. The plotting is skilful, with a network of lies being woven so that no one, characters or readers, can be sure of the truth' * Daily Express *
'There is a Jane Eyre feel to The Vanishing by Sophia Tobin' * Good Housekeeping *
`A thrilling atmospheric page-turner in which madness threatens to unhinge the protagonists' * Metro *
`Think Wuthering Heights or Jane Eyre, but 10 times darker, and you have The Vanishing...One to curl up by the fire with on a windy night' * Stylist *
`Tobin, an antiques specialist-turned-novelist, has created a vivid sense of the period she is writing about, which stays with the reader long after the final page' * the i *
`An atmospheric historical novel that echoes Wuthering Heights with its Yorkshire Moors setting and sense of intrigue' * RED *
'The Vanishing is a pitch perfect evocation of a classic nineteenth century Gothic novel which confirms Sophia Tobin as a writer of the highest calibre' -- William Ryan, author of The Constant Soldier
'I found it so compelling that I couldn't wait to go back to it and really wanted to read it curled up on the sofa by a roaring fire on a dark and stormy night. Definitely reminiscent of the Brontes - a cross between Jane Eyre and Wuthering Heights' -- Susan Elliot Wright
`It compels the reader with the poignancy and drama so loved in the novels of Wilkie Collins. The beauty of the writing sings throughout. A splendid and accomplished literary page turner' -- Kate Mayfield

You may also be interested in...

The Leopard
Added to basket
The Paying Guests
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The White Queen
Added to basket
Girl With a Pearl Earring
Added to basket
The Sisters Brothers
Added to basket
Shogun
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Master and Commander
Added to basket
The Boleyn Inheritance
Added to basket
Bring up the Bodies
Added to basket
The Other Queen
Added to basket
The Name Of The Rose
Added to basket
Heresy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
A Place Called Winter
Added to basket
Dissolution
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Pale Horseman
Added to basket
The White Princess
Added to basket
Leilah at Doncaster

“Secrets, servitude and psychosis.”

When a book arrives with comparisons to ‘Jane Eyre’, ‘Fingersmith’, ‘The Miniaturist’ and ‘Burial Rites’, it is certain to grab my attention. Add in the deeply familiar landscape of the Yorkshire Moors and I’m sold... More

Hardback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 58

“A great read for fans of historical and gothic fiction!”

I was so excited when I first saw this was coming out as I love historical fiction. This has been marketed as perfect for fans of The Miniaturist and Jane Eyre and I couldn’t agree more! Tobin writes the perfect... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 52

“A tale of madness, love and revenge”

Annaleigh Calvert has to leave behind all she has ever known in London and travel to Yorkshire. There, at White Windows, nestled on the Moors, she is to be the housekeeper to the Twentymans, Marcus, the lonesome... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 25

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.