Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street - The Vanderbeekers (Paperback)
  • The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street - The Vanderbeekers (Paperback)
zoom

The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street - The Vanderbeekers (Paperback)

(author)
£6.99
Paperback 320 Pages / Published: 01/10/2018
  • Publisher out of stock

Currently unavailable to order

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
The Vanderbeekers have always lived in the brownstone on 141st Street. It's practically another member of the family. So when their reclusive, curmudgeonly landlord decides not to renew their lease, the five siblings have eleven days to do whatever it takes to stay in their beloved home and convince the dreaded Beiderman just how wonderful they are. And all is fair in love and war when it comes to keeping their home.

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company
ISBN: 9781328499219
Number of pages: 320
Dimensions: 193 x 130 x 20 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"Glaser's love for the Vanderbeekers shines through in her prose and stick drawings. Readers will look forward to future adventures. A highly recommended purchase for all middle grade collections." --School Library Journal, starred review

"Few [families] in children's literature are as engaging or amusing as the Vanderbeekers." --Booklist, starred review

..".[Karina Yan Glaser's] contemporary family narrative preserves the winsome tone and innocence of the aforementioned classics while updating them with a rich, modern diversity of characters, settings and problems....Glaser's warmhearted story highlights a cold truth: What is often missing in the busy lives of today's plugged-in, checked-out families is a sense of community. In the vast village of New York City, she suggests, what it takes to raise a child can still be found on one square block." --The New York Times Book Review

"A heartwarming story about family and community that will appeal to readers who also enjoy an old-fashioned feel." --Kirkus

"
With rich dialogue and detailed descriptions of the neighborhood, the text provides a humorous and heartwarming story about siblings uniting to save their home. Through the Vanderbeekers, Glaser provides a portrait of the splendors of Harlem and the sense of community that can be built among neighbors of all backgrounds. . . This will draw fans of rollicking family stories, and while it's centered on Christmas, it would be enjoyable any time of the year." --Bulletin

." .
. Uplifting. . . Readers who enjoy a cheery story that's simultaneously old-fashioned and of the moment in its sensibility will enjoy this introduction to the Vanderbeekers and look forward to their future adventures." --Publishers Weekly

"
Glaser's third-person narration weaves individual characters' plot threads and a palpable sense of place through the larger family story in the tradition of Jeanne Birdsall, Sydney Taylor, Elizabeth Enright, and Hilary McKay." --Horn Book

"The Vanderbeekers join the Melendys, the Cassons, and the 'All of a Kind' Family on my list of favorite book-families. I'm in love with every single Vanderbeeker! Their story is utterly enchanting: I did not want it to end. More, please?"
--Linda Sue Park, Newbery medalist

You may also be interested in...

The Great Fire of London
Added to basket
The Snow Queen
Added to basket
£5.99
Hardback
The Gunpowder Plot
Added to basket
The Incredible Journey
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Fairy Unicorns 1 - The Magic Forest
Added to basket
Stories Of Pirates
Added to basket
The Secret Garden
Added to basket
£5.99
Hardback

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.