The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy (Paperback)
  • The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy (Paperback)
zoom

The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99 £7.49
Paperback 448 Pages / Published: 25/08/2022
  • Save £1.50
  • We can order this from the publisher

UK delivery within 2 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'Romantic, wildly creative, and utterly charming, The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy is a fantasy unlike any I've read before' Lana Harper, author of Payback's a Witch

The Princess Bride
meets You've Got Mail in this enchantingly quirky, completely refreshing fantasy with a rom-com-worthy premise, perfect for readers of The House in the Cerulean Sea.

Hart is a marshal, tasked with patrolling the magical wilds of Tanria. It's an unforgiving job, and he's got nothing but time to ponder his loneliness.

Mercy never has a moment to herself. She's been single-handedly keeping Birdsall & Son Undertakers afloat in defiance of sullen jerks like Hart-ache Hart, the man with a knack for showing up right when her patience is thinnest.

After yet another run-in with Merciless Mercy, Hart finds himself penning a letter addressed simply to "A Friend". Much to his surprise, he receives an anonymous reply, and a tentative friendship is born. Little does Hart know he's baring his soul to the person who infuriates him most. . .

Set in a world equally full of magic and demigods as it is donuts and small-town drama, this utterly unique fantasy is sure to sweep you off your feet.

Praise for The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy:

'The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy broke my heart, put it back together, then tucked me into bed with a forehead kiss. Packed with earnest characters, wit, action, and reluctant yearning, this is easily my favourite fantasy romance of the year' Jen DeLuca, author of Well Met

'A uniquely charming mixture of whimsy and the macabre that completely won me over' Helen Hoang, author of The Kiss Quotient

'Megan Bannen remains the queen of swoons upon swoons upon swoons! The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy is a playful, quirky gem-full of feels and guaranteed to deliver the perfect grumpy/sunshine fix!' Sierra Simone

'An unabashedly offbeat adventure' Freya Marske, author of A Marvellous Light

'A lovely, macabre fantasy romance about life, death, and Actually Living. I cried twice and smiled plenty' Olivia Atwater, author of Half a Soul

'Megan Bannen broke me, made me laugh, then put me back together again. . . The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy is one of those books you'll be thinking about long after you've read the last page' Manda Collins

'A truly outstanding romantic fantasy' India Holton, author of The Wisteria Society of Lady Scoundrels

'A little sweet, a little spicy, a little sharp and entirely moreish!' Davinia Evans, author of Notorious Sorcerer

'I showed up for the fantastic, fun fantasy setting but it was Hart and Mercy that kept me reading' Ruby Dixon, author of Ice Planet Barbarians

'Megan Bannen has found her voice with this incredibly smart, and hilariously weird debut. A must read' Nisha Sharma, author of Dating Dr. Dil

'Warm, compassionate and compelling' Vivian Shaw, author of Strange Practice

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780356518664
Number of pages: 448
Weight: 300 g
Dimensions: 196 x 126 x 32 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A lovely, macabre fantasy romance about life, death, and Actually Living. I cried twice and smiled plenty -- Olivia Atwater, author of HALF A SOUL
This book is a gooey (and hot!) romance immersed in a tasty layer of quirky fantasy, like some decadent chocolate treat. A little sweet, a little spicy, a little sharp and entirely moreish! I delighted in every lived-in detail of the vibrant world, and relaxed into Bannon's confident wielding of romance beats that made me laugh, cry and exult in true victory. She played my emotions like a harp, and it was beautiful -- Davinia Evans, author of NOTORIOUS SORCERER
With its wonderfully unique setting, lovable characters, and engaging mix of humour and spice, The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy is a truly outstanding romantic fantasy. I loved both its kookiness and its deep authenticity. An instant favourite! -- India Holton, author of THE WISTERIA SOCIETY OF LADY SCOUNDRELS
A uniquely charming mixture of whimsy and the macabre that completely won me over. If you ever wished for an adult romance that felt like Howl's Moving Castle, THIS IS THAT BOOK -- Helen Hoang, author of THE KISS QUOTIENT
Perfect for readers who love enemies-to-lovers mashed up with a touch of secret penpal romance. I showed up for the fantastic, fun fantasy setting but it was Hart and Mercy that kept me reading -- Ruby Dixon, author of ICE PLANET BARBARIANS
If Lewis Carroll and Nora Ephron teamed up to write a magical Western, this would be the result. An unabashedly offbeat adventure full of dead gods and mostly-dead zombies, family drama, swoon-worthy love letters, and a Very Good Dog, The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy oozes romantic fun like a corpse oozes dubious fluids. -- Freya Marske, author of A MARVELLOUS LIGHT
Warm, compassionate and compelling -- Vivian Shaw, author of STRANGE PRACTICE
Megan Bannen remains the queen of swoons upon swoons upon swoons! The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy is a playful, quirky gem-full of feels and guaranteed to deliver the perfect grumpy/sunshine fix! -- Sierra Simone
The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy broke my heart, put it back together, then tucked me into bed with a forehead kiss. Packed with earnest characters, wit, action, and reluctant yearning, this is easily my favourite fantasy romance of the year -- Jen DeLuca, author of WELL MET
Megan Bannen broke me, made me laugh, then put me back together again. . . The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy is one of those books you'll be thinking about long after you've read the last page -- Manda Collins
Romantic, wildly creative, and utterly charming, The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy is a fantasy unlike any I've read before. . . an absolutely stunning story -- Lana Harper, author of PAYBACK'S A WITCH
Megan Bannen has found her voice with this incredibly smart, and hilariously weird debut. A must read -- Nisha Sharma, author of DATING DR. DIL

You may also be interested in...

Visions of Heat
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Dark Lycan
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Return
Added to basket
Death's Sweet Embrace
Added to basket
Scent Of Magic
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Dinner with a Vampire
Added to basket
Shadow of Night
Added to basket
Crave The Night
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
A Shade of Blood
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The New Hunger (The Warm Bodies Series)
Added to basket
The Bane Chronicles
Added to basket
Dark Wolf
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Autumn Rose
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Viper Game
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback

“Tim Burton meets Neil Gaiman by way of You've Got Mail”

I LOVED this book so much. It’s such a charming mix of endearing and macabre, with characters that you just want to keep reading forever.
Set in a world where part of the land is cut off by a mist, behind which the... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1
Micky - bookphenomena

“A delight of a romantasy read”

Headlines:
Grumpy-grumpy-together we make sunshine
Brilliant fantasy world with easy world-building
Who said the appendix was a moot organ?

I completely vibed with this book from the first few pages, I knew I was... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0
Carolyn Percy

“You've Got Mail, but with the undead”

Do you want a gorgeous, slightly spooky, romantic fantasy version of 'You've Got Mail'? With Western elements, a main enemies-to-lovers romance that has been compared to Howl's Moving Castle... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.