The Unadoptables: Five fantastic children on the adventure of a lifetime (Hardback)
  • The Unadoptables: Five fantastic children on the adventure of a lifetime (Hardback)
  • The Unadoptables: Five fantastic children on the adventure of a lifetime (Hardback)
  • The Unadoptables: Five fantastic children on the adventure of a lifetime (Hardback)
  • The Unadoptables: Five fantastic children on the adventure of a lifetime (Hardback)
  • The Unadoptables: Five fantastic children on the adventure of a lifetime (Hardback)
  • The Unadoptables: Five fantastic children on the adventure of a lifetime (Hardback)
  • The Unadoptables: Five fantastic children on the adventure of a lifetime (Hardback)
zoom
The Unadoptables: Five fantastic children on the adventure of a lifetime (Hardback) The Unadoptables: Five fantastic children on the adventure of a lifetime (Hardback) The Unadoptables: Five fantastic children on the adventure of a lifetime (Hardback) The Unadoptables: Five fantastic children on the adventure of a lifetime (Hardback) The Unadoptables: Five fantastic children on the adventure of a lifetime (Hardback) The Unadoptables: Five fantastic children on the adventure of a lifetime (Hardback)

The Unadoptables: Five fantastic children on the adventure of a lifetime (Hardback)

(author), (illustrator)
£12.99
Hardback 400 Pages / Published: 23/07/2020
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

Effortlessly merging the gothic and ghastly with the eccentric and absurd, Hana Tooke’s mesmerising debut sends a quintet of abandoned orphans off on a caper across nineteenth-century Amsterdam.

The amazing humour and world-building of Nevermoor meets the wisdom and warmth of Rooftoppers in this completely unforgettable and totally gorgeous comedy-adventure!

In all the years that Elinora Gassbeek has been matron of the Little Tulip Orphanage, not once have the Rules for Baby Abandonment been broken. Until the autumn of 1886, when five babies are left in outrageous circumstances: one in a tin toolbox, one in a coal bucket, one in a picnic hamper, one in a wheat sack, and finally, one in a coffin-shaped basket.

Those babies were Lotta, Egg, Fenna, Sem and Milou, who were swiftly and firmly deemed 'the unadoptables'. Twelve years on the children still have each other - until the fateful night a most sinister gentleman appears and threatens to tear them apart. The gang decide to make a daring escape, fleeing the frozen canals of Amsterdam for an adventure packed with puppets and pirate ships, clock-makers and cruel villains - and with only a scrap of a clue to guide them to their mysterious new home . . .

Publisher: Penguin Random House Children's UK
ISBN: 9780241417461
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 580 g
Dimensions: 222 x 162 x 36 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'A compelling, gorgeously-written story about the power of friendship and the true meaning of family. It's a mystery with a hint of magic, featuring characters who feel entirely real ... perfection!' - Robin Stevens, author of the bestselling Murder Most Unladylike series

'A corker of a story. I loved the writing, the setting, the STUPENDOUS action scenes, how well-paced it was, with such drama, revelations, plot twists and the loveliest of final lines... and one of the most satisfying endings I've read in a long while, with the promise of more in the epilogue. Bravo, Hana - what a book!' - Emma Carroll, author of Letters to the Lighthouse

'I adored this story from the very first page. Sleek as Amsterdam velvet and full of heart-clutching mysteries, moonlit escapes on frozen canals, puppets with heartbeats and secret messages engraved upon pocket watches. Follow Milou and her adopted family on a glorious adventure as they race through the streets of Amsterdam, determined to fight for their freedom with spectacular wit, dazzling theatrical wonder and huge amount of hope, courage and everlasting friendship. A book to absolutely fall in love with.' - Cerrie Burnell, author of The Girl With the Shark's Teeth 

'Offbeat orphans! Sinister villains! Sort of creepy life-sized puppets! In her debut middle-grade book, Hana Tooke has crafted a terrific, atmospheric story wherein five 'unadoptable' orphans, each of whom showed up in the orphanage in very unusual ways and have unique not-quite-powers, are about to be taken in by the callous Rotman for nefarious purposes and must go on the run. The Unadoptables will make you wish your own parents had loved you enough to leave you at a Dutch orphanage in the 19th century to join in their adventures. Great for readers of A Series of Unfortunate Events and the Serafina series.' - Nathan Halter, Lahaska Bookshop 

'When Milou discovers the orphanage matron's plot to sell her and her friends to a nefarious figure, she hatches an escape plan. Using only the clues left with her as a baby (a coffin-shaped basket, a cat puppet, a velvet dress), Milou and her friends dive headlong into a new adventure outside the orphanage's walls. The Unadoptables has everything: evil ship captains, lifelike puppets, a charming Dutch setting complete with windmills and canals, a ragtag group of orphans looking for a family, and a mystery at the heart of it all. Perfect for reading out loud, and just the right amount of scary, this has the feel of a classic in the making.' - Bethany Strout, Tattered Cover Bookstore 

'The world building in The Unadoptables was absolutely unforgettable. This book has everything you need: villians, action, comedy and adventure all rolled into one. Perfect for fans of Nevermoor and Hero's Guide to Saving Your Kingdom.' - Robyn Broderick, The Reading Bug 

'In a cold, dark, Amsterdam winter, a group of unique orphans shine brightly with hope and love. Milou and her band of talented friends set out from the Little Tulip Orphanage on a quest for freedom and family, over frozen canals to evade a despicable villain. With a little bit of spookiness and a whole lot of quirkiness, this book will capture your heart!' - Tegan Tigani, Queen Anne Book Company 

You may also be interested in...

Diary of an Awesome Friendly Kid
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
Rowley Jefferson's Awesome Friendly Adventure
Added to basket
The Danger Gang
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Hardback
Amelia Fang and the Trouble with Toads
Added to basket
Pokemon Annual 2021
Added to basket
£7.99   £3.99
Hardback
Diary Of A Wimpy Kid (Book 1)
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Twits
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Meltdown (Book 13)
Added to basket
The Owl Who Was Afraid of the Dark
Added to basket
George's Marvellous Medicine
Added to basket
The Christmasaurus
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
The Christmasaurus and the Winter Witch
Added to basket
The Ickabog
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Dog Man
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Death Sets Sail
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback

“When in doubt – blame werewolves”

A charming, sweet adventure about 5 unusual orphans who escape being sold into slavery by the wicked matron. They follow clues left with Milou, coordinates on a pocket watch hidden inside a toy cat, to try and find... More

Hardback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 18

“'...the same sound water makes as it disappears down a clogged drain. A death rattle, Milou thought.'”

My proof arrived carefully wrapped in gold paper in a box - with gold string. Sometimes publishers take a lot of trouble to ensure you are aware of their latest publication. Other times they seem to just throw them in... More

Hardback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 17
Gavin Hetherington

“An Exciting Historical Middle Grade!”

A story that is equally heartwarming as it is exciting, The Unadoptables is a tale of five orphans who live at Little Tulip Orphanage under the thumb of the villainous matron, Elinora Gassbeek.

Milou, Egg, Lotta, Sem... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 16

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.