The Twisted Tree - The Twisted Tree (Paperback)
  • The Twisted Tree - The Twisted Tree (Paperback)
zoom

The Twisted Tree - The Twisted Tree (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 272 Pages
Published: 10/01/2019
  • 5+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 48 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Part ghost story, part Nordic mystery - a creepy and chilling tale steeped in Norse myth, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Michelle Paver's DARK MATTER. SEQUEL OUT NOW: The Crooked Mask Martha can tell things about a person just by touching their clothes, as if their emotions and memories have been absorbed into the material. It started the day she fell from the tree at her grandma's cabin and became blind in one eye. Determined to understand her strange ability, Martha sets off to visit her grandmother, Mormor - only to discover Mormor is dead, a peculiar boy is in her cabin and a terrifying creature is on the loose. Then the spinning wheel starts creaking, books move around and terror creeps in . . . Set in the remote snows of contemporary Norway, THE TWISTED TREE is a ghost story that twists and turns - and never takes you quite where you'd expect. Praise for The Twisted Tree A creepy and evocative fantasy likely to make readers wary of the shadows in the corner of an eye, The Sunday Times Rattles along with proper page-turning pace, The Daily Express Creepy and amazing, MTV UK Creates an atmosphere of Stephen King intensity, The Irish Examiner A terrific read - twisty and scary and instantly gripping, Waterstones (Exeter Roman Gate) A ghost story that will get under the skin of the most hardened reader, Starburst Magazine The perfect book for cold and wintry nights, prepare to be chilled to your very bones, Culturefly

Publisher: Hot Key Books
ISBN: 9781471407765
Number of pages: 272
Weight: 202 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 16 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A creepy and evocative fantasy, likely to make readers wary of the shadows in the corner of an eye * Sunday Times *
Creepy and amazing * MTV UK *
The Twisted Tree is a romantic, creepy, hugely atmospheric story. I loved it. * L.A. Weatherly *
I really enjoyed this book - well written, an original idea, with an unusual setting and some fantastic moments. Martha is a great character and I like the fact that she isn't an automatic hero, that her bravery isn't a given. * NM Browne, author of WOLF BLOOD *
The Twisted Tree is billed as a YA novel, but don't let that fool you - this is a ghost story that will get under the skin of the most hardened reader. It's a slow burner that makes fantastically creepy use of its isolated Norwegian setting, and expertly combines Nordic mythology with the supernatural. In many ways, it feels a bit like Neil Gaiman's Coraline collided with Catherine Storr's Marianne Dreams, with a smidgen of Beowulf thrown in for good measure * Starburst Magazine *
Rachel Burge presents us with a stunning intermingling of Norse mythology, horror, and an unusual coming of age. Hauntingly beautiful descriptions, juxtaposed against a ramping relentless sense of peril. Wonderfully eerie, deliciously frightening, a perfect story for a dank and windy night in front of the fire * Bookbag *
Its dark and ominous and the perfect quick read for those who want some eerie goodness on a weeknight. The fact that I opened it, sat down and read for 3 hours straight (minor breaks because my heart can't take creepy) on a night when I have 5000+ other things I should be occupying myself with solidifies my belief that this should get a perfect score * Close Encounters of the Paper Kind *
So compelling and creepy, and would make a perfect Halloween or wintery read * Library of Books and Tea *
Brilliantly effective at creating a slow, creeping atmosphere that made me feel chilled even when sitting in a room filled with lots of people. Fantastic writing! * Chrikaru Reads *
This is the perfect story for the dark nights which will come before spring and I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys thrillers which are atmospheric rather than gory. A beautiful and haunting tale * Book Murmuration *
The spooky descriptions of the cabin and its surrounds are like an Arthur Rackham illustration melted into words; the mixture of Norse mythology and horror creates an atmosphere of Stephen King intensity, while at the same time we witness a slowburning and credible relationship between two very damaged but likeable protagonists * Irish Examiner *
The dark, cold month of January is the perfect backdrop to this wonderfully chilling new novel * Viva Lewes *
Dark, eerie and wonderfully creepy, The Twisted Tree has everything a Nordic horror story should have: a bitterly cold and unforgiving setting, ghostly undercurrents, monstrous creatures and characters struggling with very human demons * Culturefly *
Author challenging that Alan Garner-esque sense of ancient, almost incomprehensible power rumbing from the soil. Burge creates a wonderfully chilly atmosphere with some sharp shocks, emotional honesty and clear potential for further adventures for Martha * SciFi Now *
Entertaining... you will root for the happiness of two young people struggling to find their way in the world * SFX Magazine *
Imbued with Norse mythology this creepy coming-of-age tale is perfect for the cold January nights * South Wales Evening Post *
A gripping and spooky debut novel that got me out of a reading slump * Shaz Reads *
It's a very creepy and atmospheric book perfect for winter. I felt myself there when I was reading it. The pace was good, and it was very mysterious * Umut Reviews *
Wonderfully chilling Scandi-noir 'lite' that is brimming with mustery and mythology * Night Resplendent *
Evocative and scary, Burge's debut is perfect for spooky nights * Mail on Sunday *
The spooky descriptions of the cabin and its surrounds are like an Arthur Rackham illustration melted into words; the mixture of Norse mythology and horror creates an atmosphere of Stephen King intensity, while at the same time we witness a slow-burning and credible relationship between two very damaged but likeable protagonists * Irish Examiner *
I started and finished it that night. I was absolutely hooked. This book was very much my thing - I LOVE reads that include elements of myth and legend, magic and mystery - so this one had me from the get go, and it didn't disappoint. Immediately, The Twisted Tree became a favourite, and I was recommending it to anyone who would listen, and can we just talk about those covers... There's just something about the simplicity of it that is so beautiful to me. And the small bits of subtle gold foiling on the cover of The Crooked Mask that you just catch in certain lights really brings out that element of magic that's in the book for me (a photo cannot do it justice). I know, you're probably thinking pft yeah okay, a lot of book covers use foil Hope, and you're correct. But there is just something about this one. There aren't large sections of foil, just tiny lines of it around the cover, so subtly that unless you catch it in just the right light you might not see them. The black and deep yellow on the cover give me that sense of darkness and horror, and the little bits of gold give me the magic. You might think I'm looking way too much into it, but what can I say, I'm an English Lit student, reading into things is what I do! And besides, covers are important! In my opinion, it is the cover, not the blurb, that is the first impression someone gets when they pick up your book. The cover needs to say something, and this one certainly does. Anyway, now I've rambled about the covers, on to the actual review... 'Horror' as a book genre has never gripped me, and I know exactly why. It's because it never seems to scare me. Fear is one emotion that a book has just never managed to make me feel, and it's not that I'm not easily scared, because I am. I love a good horror movie as much as the next person, but you best believe I'm going to be hiding behind a pillow the entire time. But books just don't make me feel the same sort of fear, and if I'm just not going to read a horror that doesn't scare me. Then I read The Twisted Tree. The first book to make me feel fear. I was scared - but not in a cover my face, something is going to jump out at me kind of scared, but a I can feel this in the pit of my stomach kind of scared. FINALLY! * Feeling Hopeful *

You may also be interested in...

The Night Animals
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Big Shot (Book 16)
Added to basket
Heartstopper Volume 2
Added to basket
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Bunny vs Monkey: Machine Mayhem
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Hardback
The Baddies
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
The Inheritance Games
Added to basket
Heartstopper Volume 1
Added to basket
One Of Us Is Lying
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Rainbow Grey: Battle for the Skies
Added to basket
Spaceboy
Added to basket
£14.99   £7.49
Hardback
Bunny vs Monkey: Multiverse Mix-up!
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
A Court of Thorns and Roses
Added to basket
Shatter Me
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Way I Used to Be
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Girl in Pieces
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Kayleigh

“A truly delightfully gothic tale with some Nordic aspects and a strong supernatural theme.”

From the small section that I read, this seems like a truly delightfully gothic tale with some Nordic aspects and a strong theme of supernatural. There was a certain fairytale like quality to the prose than lent a... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 35

“WOW! Loved this book”

I devoured the book in one sitting and literally could not put it down. (I stayed up until 2am and was properly creeped out when I turned off the light!) Even now I find myself keep thinking about the story, as if... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 30
Whispering Stories

“This is a book not to be missed”

Teenager Martha has unanswered questions that no-one wants to talk to her about. She was blinded in one eye after falling out of a tree at her Grandmother’s house in Norway. After the event, and a stay in the... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 29

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.