The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley (Hardback)
  • The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley (Hardback)
zoom

The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley (Hardback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£16.99
Hardback 496 Pages / Published: 06/04/2017
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

A roller-coaster father-daughter road trip for fans of PULP FICTION or THE GIRLS: 'Pacy and violent, poignant and sensitive' Daily Mail, Best Reads for the Beach 2017

After years spent living on the run, Samuel Hawley moves with his teenage daughter Loo to Olympus, Massachusetts. There, in his late wife's hometown, Hawley finds work as a fisherman, while Loo struggles to fit in at school and grows curious about her mother's mysterious death. Haunting them both are twelve scars Hawley carries on his body, from twelve bullets in his criminal past - a past that eventually spills over into his daughter's present, until together they must face a reckoning yet to come. Both a coming of age novel and a literary thriller, THE TWELVE LIVES OF SAMUEL HAWLEY explores what it means to be a hero, and the price we pay to protect the people we love most.

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472234360
Number of pages: 496
Weight: 772 g
Dimensions: 240 x 158 x 41 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
[We are] carried by Tinti's seductive prose. She has a deep feeling for the passage of time and its effect on character. And when it's appropriate, she can use her vivid language to express the ripping depth of human pain. As this strikingly symphonic novel enters its last movement, the final bars remind us that all of the painful wounds that humans can endure, the worse are self-inflicted. * New York Times Book Review *
Starring a fiercely loving, reluctant criminal and a girl of grit and wonder, Tinti has forged a breathtaking novel of violence and tenderness * Booklist *
Exceptional... a tender work of art exposing the universal needs of men to survive, to love, and grieve - whether their fate is cast in stars, or submerged beneath the surface... a sure-fire hit with characters I came to love. -- Essie Fox
What Hannah Tinti knows about fathers, daughters and time could, as they say, fill a book - and truly does. The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley is bold, exciting, and original -- Meg Wolitzer, author of THE INTERESTINGS
The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley is one part Quentin Tarantino, one part Scheherazade , and twelve parts wild innovation. Hannah Tinti proves herself to be an old fashioned storyteller of the highest order -- Ann Patchett
Hannah Tinti's second novel doesn't disappoint...Sensitive, coming-of-age literary novel meets Pulp Fiction and it all works? Yes, indeed! * Daily Mail *
A father/daughter road trip you won't soon forget -- Richard Russo
Utterly magnificent - gripping, suspenseful, funny, and so full of heart -- Ruth Ozeki
A master class in literary suspense * The Washington Post *
Beautifully constructed... Tinti has fused a cowboy-noir action adventure and a coming-of-age tale into a father-daughter love story * Boston Globe *
An inventive and fearless story about heroism and protecting the people we love * Culture Fly *
It was the innovative storytelling and wonderful character of Loo, the schoolgirl on a mission to uncover the secret of her mother's mysterious death and decode the twelve scars that mark her ex-con father's body, that hooked me -- Sam Baker * The Pool *
Their relationship is sharply drawn in this violent, tender tale * Woman & Home *
This father-daughter story is an unusual but winning blend of small-town New England atmosphere and high-octane action scenes. Imagine a John Irving novel getting the Hollywood shoot-'em-up treatment and you'll have some idea of what Tinti does in this unexpectedly dark book full of quirky characters * The Bookbag *
The rapid-fire switching between the story lines gives the book an irresistible velocity that Ms. Tinti sustains to the end * Wall Street Journal Europe *
Pacy and violent, poignant and sensitive * Daily Mail, Best Reads for the Beach *
Tinti's second novel is a determinedly literary thriller about a father trying to shake off his criminal past and his daughter's need for answers about her mother's death * Weekend Herald *
If you like to be challenged and you love writing that is subtly brilliant, and you enjoy a story that is unexpected, complex and unsettling, then you should put this coming-of-age tale on your to-read pile * NZ Womens Weekly *

You may also be interested in...

Heads You Win
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Agent Running in the Field
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Conversations with Friends
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
In a House of Lies
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Unsheltered
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Transcription
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The October Man
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Hardback
The Labyrinth of the Spirits
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Love is Blind
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
An American Marriage
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Past Tense
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Never Greener
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Paris Echo
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Added to basket
Normal People
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

“A well-told tale about a man trying to do the best for his daughter”



This novel deals with Sam Hawley, a lowlife, trying to settle down with his daughter, Loo, in a small town in Massachusetts. They meet a variety of interesting characters as both attempt to adapt to a sedentary life... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 10

“Read it!!!”

I was sent The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley by Hannah Tinti to read and review by NetGalley.
I really enjoyed this book, it had a very curious feeling of being timeless. The basis of the story is the relationship... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 8

“At the heart you'll find love, acceptance and belonging.”

I love reading books with familial relationships at the centre, and that's what prompted me to pick up The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley - I knew very little about this book going in, having only come across the... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.