The Tumbling Girl - A Variety Palace Mystery (Paperback)
  • The Tumbling Girl - A Variety Palace Mystery (Paperback)
zoom

The Tumbling Girl - A Variety Palace Mystery (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£12.99
Paperback 296 Pages
Published: 25/05/2023
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

The first in a sharp, witty series of Victorian mystery novels, The Tumbling Girl sees an unlikely duo team up to solve a grisly spate of murders.

1876, Victorian London. Minnie Ward, the feisty scriptwriter for the Variety Palace Music Hall, is devastated when her best friend is found brutally murdered. She enlists the help of private detective Albert Easterbrook, who already has his hands full trying to catch the notorious Hairpin Killer. But Minnie can't help getting involved in the investigation, and as the bodies begin to pile up, Albert's burgeoning feelings for his amateur partner start to interfere...

A dazzling debut for fans of Sarah Waters and Elizabeth Macneal, and shows like Miss Scarlet and the Duke.

Publisher: Gallic Books
ISBN: 9781913547516
Number of pages: 296
Dimensions: 215 x 134 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Walsh does a splendid job depicting Minnie’s flea-bitten yet appealing theatrical world and Albert’s monied yet treacherous milieu' Wall Street Journal'A narrative that neatly weds historical detail and quiet wit' Sunday Times‘A sparkling novel and a complete delight to read. The characters and world are wild, vivid and enchanting. A wry, warm and proper rib-tickling slice of dirty Victorian gothic . . . I can’t wait to see what Minnie and Albert are up to next’ Julia Crouch, author of The Daughters‘Beautifully evocative, deftly plotted and with engaging characters, it was a page-turner from beginning to end’ Sheila O’Flanagan, author of What Eden Did Next 'A brilliantly written page-turner. A bravura performance tumbling us into a compelling mystery in a vivid, richly imagined world. You can smell the greasepaint and hear the roar of the crowd on every page' Imogen Robertson, author of The Paris Winter‘Minnie Ward is a woman you want to follow through all the wicked twists and turns of Victorian London. Bridget writes wonderfully. It had me on the edge of my seat until the final page’ S. J. Bennett, author of Murder Most Royal'I absolutely loved The Tumbling Girl. Bridget Walsh is a fresh and fabulous new voice in historical crime fiction' Elizabeth Chadwick, author of The King's Jewel‘Brilliant . . . Beautifully written . . . keeps you guessing till the end’ A. J. West, author of The Spirit Engineer 'Gripping, dark and thrilling and takes the reader on a rollercoaster journey from music hall to gentleman's club and back again; all in the company of two engaging protagonists' W. C. Ryan, author of A House of Ghosts‘An accomplished crime murder mystery, with an addictively gritty plot and truly remarkable cast of characters . . . deliciously dark and compelling’ Essie Fox, author of The Somnambulist'One of the most engaging double acts I've read in ages. Delightful, dark and depraved' Trevor Wood, author of You Can Run'A racy and thrilling ride that doesn't let up till the last sentence. Superbly done' Femi Kayode, author of Lightseekers'Walsh resurrects the culture and crimes of Victoriana without cliché or condescension, but with warmth, wit, remarkable texture and rare authority' Tom Benn, author of Oxblood‘Smart, funny and expertly plotted, The Tumbling Girl cartwheels off the page . . . A cracking start to a charismatic and distinctive series’ Emma Styles, author of No Country for Girls'Walsh’s diligent research pays off in spades here, and her rich and nuanced portrayal of the period will leave readers feeling like they’re on the soggy streets of London. Imogen Robertson readers will be eager for a sequel to this un-put-downable mystery' Publishers Weekly (starred review) 'This atmospheric debut historical mystery captures the world of music halls and the danger to women in Victorian London. Will appeal to fans of Leonard Goldberg’s 'Daughter of Sherlock Holmes' mysteries, Sherry Thomas’s 'Lady Sherlock' books, or the show Miss Scarlet and the Duke' Library Journal (Starred Review) 'Minnie's world reeks of greasepaint, stale tobacco and oysters, populated by characters J. B. Priestley would have been proud of' Katherine Mezzacappa, Historical Novel Society

You may also be interested in...

The Book of Eve
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Murder at Holly House
Added to basket
The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle
Added to basket
Traitors Gate
Added to basket
£22.00   £17.99
Hardback
Next in Line
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Other Side of Mrs Wood
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Murder at Holly House
Added to basket
The Beholders
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Hercule Poirot’s Silent Night
Added to basket
£22.00   £18.99
Hardback
The Bookseller of Inverness
Added to basket
The Great Deceiver
Added to basket
£22.00   £18.99
Hardback
Blue Water
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Shadows of London
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Whispering Muse
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The White Lady
Added to basket
The Railway Detective's Christmas Case
Added to basket
Dan - Clifton, Bristol.

“A fabulous new series!”

The year is 1876, picture Victorian London, if you will, in all her glory where dreams can be made reality, people can be whoever they choose to be as long as you have the inclination to do so.
But don’t pretend to... More

Paperback edition
6 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 3

“Enjoyable (audiobook)”

The narration of this audiobook is enjoyable, with the narrator expertly giving different characters instantly recognisable accents and tones. Minnie and Albert are both well-rounded and likeable protagonists, and... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“Atmospheric historical crime”

I loved the narration, demonstrated a great range of voices and had the working-class ones like Minnie down to a tee. Also had the intangible sense that she was enjoying what she was doing.

The failure of the... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: