Ts&Cs apply
The True Queen: Signed Edition - Sorcerer to the Crown novels (Hardback)
  • The True Queen: Signed Edition - Sorcerer to the Crown novels (Hardback)
zoom

The True Queen: Signed Edition - Sorcerer to the Crown novels (Hardback)

(author)
5 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£16.99
Hardback 384 Pages / Published: 21/03/2019
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

Email me when available

Stay one step ahead and let us notify you when this item is next available to order

Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

Anyone who revelled in the brilliant splicing of Regency-era court politics and fantasy fairydom in Zen Cho’s award-winning debut Sorcerer to the Crown will thrill to be back in her unique and picaresque world, but new readers shouldn’t be deterred from starting here. Moving from the enchanted witch-isle of Janda Baik to the contested realm of fairy and the rivalry-riven domain of the newly appointed Sorceress Royal, Cho’s story is driven by fast-paced plot and whip-sharp dialogue. A pure pleasure to read.

 

Signed Edition

Fairyland's future lies in doubt...

The enchanted island of Janda Baik, in the Malay Archipelago, has long been home to witches. And Muna and her sister Sakti wake on its shores under a curse, which has quite stolen away their memories. Their only hope of salvation lies in distant Britain, where the Sorceress Royal runs a controversial academy for female magicians. But the pair travel via the formidable Fairy Queen's realm, where Sakti simply disappears.

To save her sister, Muna must learn to navigate Regency London's high society and trick the English into believing she's a magical prodigy. But when the Sorceress Royal's friends become accidentally embroiled in a plot - involving the Fairy Queen's contentious succession - Muna is drawn right in. She must also find Sakti, break their curse and somehow stay out of trouble. But if fairyland's true queen does finally return, trouble may find her first . . .

The True Queen is Zen Cho's spelling binding second book. It's set in a sparkling version of Regency London, with a fairy tale twist. And although it's set in the same world as her award-winning novel, Sorcerer to the Crown, this reads as a standalone.

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9781785175817
Number of pages: 384
Dimensions: 234 x 153 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Praise for Sorcerer to the Crown:

'A captivating debut... tells an entertaining story with wit and consummate skill.' - The Guardian

'An enchanting cross between Georgette Heyer and Susannah Clarke, full of delights and surprises. Zen Cho unpins the edges of the canvas and throws them wide.' - Naomi Novik

'Fabulous! If you like Austen or Patrick O'Brian, or magic and humor like Susannah Clarke, or simply a very fun read, you will really, really, enjoy this.' - Ann Leckie

'Sorcerer to the Crown is fast-paced and witty, and should appeal to fans of Mary Robinette Kowal and Gail Carriger.' - Elizabeth Bear

'A delightful and enchanting novel that uses sly wit and assured style to subvert expectations while it always, unfailingly, entertains. I loved it!' - Kate Elliott

Like a mix of Jane Austen, PG Wodehouse, and Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell, and all its own thing. Glorious.' - Aliette de Bodard on Sorcerer to the Crown

A thumping good read -- Independent on Sorcerer to the Crown

A winning combination of magic and thrill -- Washington Post on Sorcerer to the Crown

You may also be interested in...

False Value
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Last Hours: Chain of Iron
Added to basket
Tales from the Cafe
Added to basket
The Last Wish
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Piranesi
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Serpentine
Added to basket
£7.99
Hardback
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Added to basket
Blood of Elves
Added to basket
The Priory of the Orange Tree
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
Added to basket
The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
Ninth House
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Rhythm of War
Added to basket
£25.00   £20.00
Hardback
Norse Mythology
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
Added to basket

“A sparkling return to a magical world”

I absolutely loved Zen Cho’s Sorcerer to the Crown when I read it a couple of years ago, so I was utterly delighted to hear there was a sequel on the way – and even more thrilled when I was approved for a proof copy... More

Hardback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 31

“Regency magical adventure”

I'm grateful to the publisher for a free advance e-copy of this book via NetGalley. I have also bought a copy, this book is beautiful thing!

The True Queen is the sequel to Sorcerer to the Crown, in which... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 29
Laura at Harrogate

“More magic, more fairy realm, all fun!”

This was such a great read that opened up more of the fairy realm created in Sorcerer to the Crown. Focusing on sisters Muna and Sakti and their search for information about the curse that has taken their memories and... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 27

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.