Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
The Translation of the Bones: From the Winner of the Orange Award for New Writers 2009 (Paperback)
  • The Translation of the Bones: From the Winner of the Orange Award for New Writers 2009 (Paperback)
zoom

The Translation of the Bones: From the Winner of the Orange Award for New Writers 2009 (Paperback)

(author)
6 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 240 Pages / Published: 16/08/2012
  • Publisher out of stock

Currently unavailable to order

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

A searingly powerful novel about passion and isolation, about the nature of belief, about love and motherhood, for fans of Ali Smith and Maggie O'Farrell

In a church in Battersea, Mary-Margaret O'Reilly sees blood on her hands and believes she has witnessed a miracle. The consequences are both profound and devastating - not just for her but for others, too: Father Diamond, the parish priest, struggling with his own faith. Stella, adrift in her marriage and aching for her ten-year old son, away at boarding school. Alice, counting the days until her soldier son comes home. And Mary-Margaret's mother, imprisoned in a tower block with nothing but her thoughts for company... What happens to Mary-Margaret will send ripples through this tight community, raising questions about the nature of devotion - in all its forms - and the cost of loving in a confusing world.

'Unfailingly gripping, filled with the essential ingredients - tension and emotion.' Patricia Duncker, LITERARY REVIEW

'Beautifully musical sentences with carefully judged rhythms.' Philip Womack, DAILY TELEGRAPH

'Skillfully constructed and beautifully written.' Peter Parker, SUNDAY TIMES

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781780220147
Number of pages: 240
Weight: 234 g
Dimensions: 194 x 129 x 17 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
An intense and penetrating exploration of power, isolation, community and faith -- Charlotte Vowden * DAILY EXPRESS *
Kay leads us out to sea in calm waters and then leaves us to battle the waves where religion is by turns a prop, powerful, life-affirming and damaging. -- Alyson Rudd * THE TIMES *
This delicate second novel from the talented writer centres on an unhappily married mother and explores unexpected questions about the dangers and consolations of faith. * METRO *
Kay's superbly intelligent literary novel examines faith and delusion in luminous prose. * THE SUNDAY TELEGRAPH SEVEN Magazine *
compelling for anyone interested in how and why religion does or does not work, and the abuses committed in the name of faith. -- Ruth Gledhill * THE TIMES *
Francesca Kay's power lies in the shock of deliberate understatement. Her narrative is underpinned by compassion, even when at its most appalling. * THE TIMES *
This is a fine work from an accomplished author, and its treatment of the thorny subject of religious fervour is well done. * THE SUNDAY BUSINESS POST *
With its fine-grained pattern of voices, its relish for the jostlings of inner-city life and its tender lyricism, the novel offers insight and uplift but no mystical schmaltz. * THE INDEPENDENT *
The author marries acute observation of character and place to a mastery of the silent spaces in which dwell hope and, sometimes, its absence. -- Andrew Norfolk * THE TIMES *
Elegant and perfectly paced... written with great sensitivity and intelligence. * THE GOOD BOOK GUIDE *
That feeling of local magic and mystery has been artfully captured. * ABSOLUTELY BATTERSEA & CLAPHAM *

You may also be interested in...

Normal People
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
If Cats Disappeared From The World
Added to basket
The Ministry of Utmost Happiness
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Into the Water
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Lethal White
Added to basket
£20.00   £13.99
Hardback
Winter
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Past Tense
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Middle England
Added to basket
£16.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Sixteen Trees of the Somme
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Heads You Win
Added to basket
£20.00   £12.00
Hardback
An Unsuitable Match
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Death of the Fronsac: A Novel
Added to basket
Snap
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Norse Mythology
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Added to basket

“Fantastic novel!”

Excellent book! Would make for fantastic holiday reading.
I found this particular book very easy to read and yet it explores some interesting, complex and inter-related themes - family relationships, particularly... More

Hardback edition
5th August 2011
Helpful? Upvote 32

“Passionate & thought-provoking”

The Translation of the Bones is wonderfully written – a fresh new novel to shake the cobwebs off and introduce readers to something a bit different.

The style for one thing, is genius. No chapters, no dialogue tags... More

Hardback edition
24th July 2011
Helpful? Upvote 4

“Quick, easy to read & up to date novel”

A contemporary piece of writing, that is easy to read, and hard to put down. You are quickly introduced to each individual character and their family, no laborious descriptions, which is a bonus. This book has strong... More

Hardback edition
22nd September 2011
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.