The Translation of the Bones: From the Winner of the Orange Award for New Writers 2009 (Paperback)
  • The Translation of the Bones: From the Winner of the Orange Award for New Writers 2009 (Paperback)
zoom

The Translation of the Bones: From the Winner of the Orange Award for New Writers 2009 (Paperback)

(author)
6 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 240 Pages
Published: 16/08/2012
Email me when available to order

We will also notify you if no further stock is available and share alternative book recommendations

A searingly powerful novel about passion and isolation, about the nature of belief, about love and motherhood, for fans of Ali Smith and Maggie O'Farrell

In a church in Battersea, Mary-Margaret O'Reilly sees blood on her hands and believes she has witnessed a miracle. The consequences are both profound and devastating - not just for her but for others, too: Father Diamond, the parish priest, struggling with his own faith. Stella, adrift in her marriage and aching for her ten-year old son, away at boarding school. Alice, counting the days until her soldier son comes home. And Mary-Margaret's mother, imprisoned in a tower block with nothing but her thoughts for company... What happens to Mary-Margaret will send ripples through this tight community, raising questions about the nature of devotion - in all its forms - and the cost of loving in a confusing world.

'Unfailingly gripping, filled with the essential ingredients - tension and emotion.' Patricia Duncker, LITERARY REVIEW

'Beautifully musical sentences with carefully judged rhythms.' Philip Womack, DAILY TELEGRAPH

'Skillfully constructed and beautifully written.' Peter Parker, SUNDAY TIMES

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781780220147
Number of pages: 240
Weight: 234 g
Dimensions: 194 x 129 x 17 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

An intense and penetrating exploration of power, isolation, community and faith - Charlotte Vowden, DAILY EXPRESS

Kay leads us out to sea in calm waters and then leaves us to battle the waves where religion is by turns a prop, powerful, life-affirming and damaging. - Alyson Rudd, THE TIMES

This delicate second novel from the talented writer centres on an unhappily married mother and explores unexpected questions about the dangers and consolations of faith. - METRO

Kay's superbly intelligent literary novel examines faith and delusion in luminous prose. - THE SUNDAY TELEGRAPH SEVEN Magazine

compelling for anyone interested in how and why religion does or does not work, and the abuses committed in the name of faith. - Ruth Gledhill, THE TIMES

Francesca Kay's power lies in the shock of deliberate understatement. Her narrative is underpinned by compassion, even when at its most appalling. - THE TIMES

This is a fine work from an accomplished author, and its treatment of the thorny subject of religious fervour is well done. - THE SUNDAY BUSINESS POST

With its fine-grained pattern of voices, its relish for the jostlings of inner-city life and its tender lyricism, the novel offers insight and uplift but no mystical schmaltz. - THE INDEPENDENT

The author marries acute observation of character and place to a mastery of the silent spaces in which dwell hope and, sometimes, its absence. - Andrew Norfolk, THE TIMES

Elegant and perfectly paced... written with great sensitivity and intelligence. - THE GOOD BOOK GUIDE

That feeling of local magic and mystery has been artfully captured. - ABSOLUTELY BATTERSEA & CLAPHAM

You may also be interested in...

Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
Days at the Morisaki Bookshop
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
The Marriage Portrait
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
I Will Find You
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Antarctica
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Really Good, Actually
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Prophet Song
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
In Ascension
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Intermezzo
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Birnam Wood
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Bullet That Missed
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
In The Blink of An Eye
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Intermezzo
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
We Solve Murders
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
Small Things Like These
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback

“Fantastic novel!”

Excellent book! Would make for fantastic holiday reading.
I found this particular book very easy to read and yet it explores some interesting, complex and inter-related themes - family relationships, particularly... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 44
Teresa Majury

“Beautifully Written and Honest”

Francesca Kay won the Orange Prize for New Writers in 2009 for her first novel, An Equal Stillness, a fictional biography of a female artist.

In The Translation of the Bones she explores new territory, setting her... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 19

“Passionate & thought-provoking”

The Translation of the Bones is wonderfully written – a fresh new novel to shake the cobwebs off and introduce readers to something a bit different.

The style for one thing, is genius. No chapters, no dialogue tags... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 19

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: