The Toymakers (Hardback)
  • The Toymakers (Hardback)
zoom

The Toymakers (Hardback)

(author)
£16.99
Hardback 480 Pages / Published: 08/02/2018
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

Do you remember when you believed in magic?

It is 1917, and while war wages across Europe, in the heart of London, there is a place of hope and enchantment. The Emporium sells toys that capture the imagination of children and adults alike: patchwork dogs that seem alive, toy boxes that are bigger on the inside, soldiers that can fight battles of their own.

Into this family business comes young Cathy Wray, running away from a shameful past. The Emporium takes her in, makes her one of its own. But Cathy is about to discover that the Emporium has secrets of its own...

A dark enchanting, spectacularly imaginative novel perfect for fans of Jessie Burton's The Miniaturist and Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus.

Publisher: Cornerstone
ISBN: 9781785036347
Number of pages: 480
Weight: 625 g
Dimensions: 222 x 144 x 41 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

"There is magic at the heart of The Toymakers, a glittery inventiveness that shimmers through the dark corners of a story about love, war and sibling rivalry...Robert Dinsdale's imagined toys are truly glorious...a gripping, moving story." - Sunday Express 

"Like the magic at the heart of the story, this vivid, haunting novel is both vast and intimate. A world war echoes a family conflict, and the delights and dangers of childhood suddenly have vast implications. A wonderful and thought-provoking read." - Katherine Arden, author of The Winternight Series

"What an extraordinary and wonderful achievement this novel is! I was gripped, and thrilled, and touched, and above all I was completely swept into the magic of the book...And the scope of the thing! Such a broad chronological range, such sweep, all with the lightest touch. Just astonishing." - Adam Roberts 

You may also be interested in...

The Other Boleyn Girl
Added to basket
Heresy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Master and Commander
Added to basket
The Name of the Rose
Added to basket
The Sisters Brothers
Added to basket
Girl With a Pearl Earring
Added to basket
Dissolution
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Long Ships
Added to basket
Shogun
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Sword Song
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Lamentation
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Ross Poldark
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Lords of the North
Added to basket
Harlequin
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Lady of the Rivers
Added to basket

“Welcome to the Emporium...”

...apply in person at London's premier merchant of toys and childhood paraphernalia.
Cathy saw this advert and this is where the story begins. As the emporium opens with the first frost, it is a place of wonder... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 106

“Will be the most talked about book of 2018”

To say the The Toy Makers is about toy makers is a bit like saying Alice In Wonderland is about a girl. This to me had all the magical qualities of anything Lewis Carroll wrote - it is truly a magical book on so many... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 51

“Breathtaking. Amazing. Wonderful.”

A beautifully magical story that will take your breath away and then break your heart.
The Emporium is a place where magic is created in every toy, and where children and adults alike find the sheer joy of playing... More

Hardback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 45

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.