The Testaments out now
The Thing about Jellyfish (Hardback)
  • The Thing about Jellyfish (Hardback)
zoom

The Thing about Jellyfish (Hardback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£10.99
Hardback 352 Pages / Published: 10/03/2016
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
It's peculiar how no-words can be better than words. How silence can say more than noise, or a person's absence can occupy even more space than their presence did. Suzy is 12 when her best friend, Franny, drowns one summer at the beach. It takes two days for the news to reach Suzy, and it's not something that she can accept: Franny has always been a strong swimmer, from the day they met in swim class when they were just 5. How can someone all of a sudden, just no longer be there? Suzy realizes that they must have got it wrong: Franny didn't just drown - she was stung by a poisonous jellyfish. This makes a lot more sense to Suzy's logical mind than a random drowning - cause: a jellyfish sting; effect: death. Suzy's journey to acceptance is quiet - she resolves to either say something important, or say nothing at all. But it's also bursting with bittersweet humour, heart-breaking honesty, big ideas and small details. Perfect for fans of Wonder, Counting By 7s and My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece.

'A heartbreakingly touching debut about friendship, loss, fear and love that is funny, clever and beautifully written.' The Mail

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9781447283836
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 428 g
Dimensions: 205 x 136 x 31 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
The writing is stunning and so magical. * Reese Witherspoon *

This is a heartbreakingly touching debut about friendship, loss, fear and love that is funny,
clever and beautifully written.

* Daily Mail *
An accomplished debut that skillfully charts the pressure growing up puts on friendships * The Bookseller *
[an] intense and nuanced tale of friendship, revenge and youthful resourcefulness * Guardian *
the kind of book you just want to hug it's so good * Irish Independent *

You may also be interested in...

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Added to basket
The Umbrella Mouse
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Grandpa's Great Escape
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Billionaire Boy
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Battle for Perfect
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
Added to basket
Top Marks For Murder
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
The Boy At the Back of the Class
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Matilda
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
The World's Worst Children
Added to basket
The Lost Princess
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Hardback
The Girl Who Speaks Bear
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
How to Train Your Dragon
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
The Deathless Girls
Added to basket
Murder Most Unladylike
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Hux - Blogger, @littlehux

“Grief and loss, tied up in obsession of jellyfish. Strongly recommended for children experiencing grief.”

The Thing About Jellyfish is an impressive middle grade book about coping with the death of a friend, growing up and growing apart, and an obsession with jellyfish. When Suzy's best friend drowns, she decides... More

Hardback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 28

“A beautifully written debut”

This is such a beautifully written story which covers so many important topics; family, friendships and grief. These topics are dealt with in such a way that they never seem overwhelming or too upsetting.
Suzy's... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 10

“Truly stunning”

You just have to read this book. It's heart-breaking, revealing, and everything else in between. It's one of those books that's nobody knows about, even though it should be a bestseller. I can't... More

Hardback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.