• Sign In / Register
  • Help
  • Basket0
The Tenderness of Wolves (Paperback)
  • The Tenderness of Wolves (Paperback)
zoom

The Tenderness of Wolves (Paperback)

(author)
7 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 496 Pages / Published: 08/02/2007
  • We can order this

Usually despatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

10 YEAR ANNIVERSARY EDITION - FEATURES READING GROUP QUESTIONS AND NEW MATERIAL FROM STEF'S UPCOMING EPIC NOVEL, UNDER A POLE STAR

COSTA AWARD WINNER and WORLDWIDE BESTSELLER. A breathtaking tale of mystery, buried secrets and romance, set in nineteenth century frontier Canada - for fans of THE SNOW CHILD and A PLACE CALLED WINTER.

'Unquestionably atmospheric, evocative and rewarding' Independent on Sunday

'A tense and delicately written thriller' Observer

Canada, 1867. A young murder suspect flees across the snowy wilderness. Tracking him is what passes for the law in this frontier land: trappers, sheriffs, traders and the suspect's own mother, desperate to clear his name. As the party pushes further from civilisation, hidden purposes and old obsessions are revealed. One is seeking long-lost daughters; another a fortune in stolen furs; yet another is chasing rumours of a lost Native American culture. But where survival depends on cooperation, their fragile truce cannot afford to be broken, nor their overriding purpose - to find justice for a murdered man - forgotten.

The Tenderness of Wolves is a must-read historical epic, weaving adventure, suspense and humour into an exhilarating thriller, a panoramic romance and ultimately, one of the books of the last ten years.

Publisher: Quercus Publishing
ISBN: 9781847240675
Number of pages: 496
Weight: 334 g
Dimensions: 199 x 132 x 32 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
a tense and delicately written thriller - The Observer * Observer *
... a quite remarkable debut novel.' Birmingham Post * Birmingham Post *
"This subtle and superb novel brings the freezing landscape of the Canadian woods to such vivid life that the landscape itself becomes a strong character within the story. Once you have dived into the tiny, closeted world of Caulfield and its forbidding surroundings, you will certainly not wish to leave." Crimesquad.com * Crimesquad.com *
... a highly-assured debut....Stef Penney has written an absorbing and stylish mystery. The Glasgow Herald * Glasgow Herald *
"...Stef Penney's hefty first novel The Tenderness of Wolves, mines her setting and period for all it's got and then some, injecting plenty of invented intrigue and Da Vinci Code like revelations of Huge Cultural Importance whenever she can. The result is an entertaining, well-constructed mystery that jazzes up the "real" history in a way that's more Ron Howard than Pierre Berton. It's...sexy, suspenseful, densely plotted storytelling...The Tenderness of Wolves remains a first-rate gripper with a notably sensual as well as psychological understanding of its main characters. More than this, it is a novel with far greater ambitions than your average thriller, combining as it does the themes of Conrad's Heart of Darkness with Atwood's Survival, and lashing them to a story that morphs Ian Rankin..." Andrew Pyper, The Globe and Mail * Globe and Mail *
unquestionably atmospheric, evocative and eventually rewarding - Independent On Sunday * Independent On Sunday *

You may also be interested in...

The House Between Tides
Added to basket
The Other Mrs Walker
Added to basket
Dissolution
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Dark Fire
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Circus Train Conspiracy
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Necessary Evil
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Mitford Murders
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Ashes of London
Added to basket
A Talent for Murder
Added to basket
Loch of the Dead
Added to basket
The Street Orphans
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
NOD
Added to basket
NOD
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Last Hours
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Panic Room
Added to basket
£18.99   £14.99
Hardback
Prague Nights
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle
Added to basket

Reviews

View all

“Good, but not brilliant”

I'll start by saying I did enjoy this book. It is extremely well written with some beautiful language. There are some wonderful characters; Moody, Parker and Mrs. Ross are particularly strong. As with one of the... More

Paperback edition
7th April 2011
Helpful? Upvote 65

“The Tenderness of Wolves”

The Tenderness of Wolves was the 2006 Costa Book of the Year, apparently a better book than William Boyd's Restless. As I loved Restless I was really looking forward to reading this. There's a murder at the... More

Paperback edition
30th March 2007
Helpful? Upvote 42

“The Tenderness of Wolves”

I'm sure I had frostbitten feet reading this, such is the gritty realism conveyed by Stef Penney. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and felt like I'd struggled through every page in the frozen Canadian wastes.... More

Paperback edition
24th February 2008
Helpful? Upvote 16

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.