• Sign In / Register
  • Help
  • Basket0
The Temptation to Be Happy (Paperback)
  • The Temptation to Be Happy (Paperback)
zoom

The Temptation to Be Happy (Paperback)

(author), (translator)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£12.99
Paperback 256 Pages / Published: 05/10/2017
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

`Sad, funny, wise and unblinkingly honest, this is truly wonderful.' Daily Mail

Cesare is a seventy-seven-year-old widower and cynical troublemaker. He has lived his whole life by his own rules and has no intention of changing now. Aside from an intermittent fling with a nurse called Rossana, he spends his days avoiding the old cat lady next door and screening calls from his children.

But when the enigmatic Emma moves in next door with her strange and sinister husband, Cesare suspects there is more to their relationship than meets the eye. He enlists the other residents to help him investigate and soon discovers a new and unexpected sense of purpose that leads him to risk everything for a future he had never thought possible.

Laced with humour and pathos in equal measure, this is a delightful book to savour, for young and old alike - perfect for fans of The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared and The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry.

'Immensely charming... Uplifting and very much on the side of life.' Mail on Sunday

Publisher: Oneworld Publications
ISBN: 9781786072887
Number of pages: 256
Dimensions: 216 x 135 x 18 mm
Edition: UK and Export


MEDIA REVIEWS
`Sad, funny, wise and unblinkingly honest, this is truly wonderful.' * Daily Mail *
`Uh-oh, here comes another one of those colourful curmudgeons who drop pearls of senior wisdom on their way to a new lease on life. Cesare certainly fits the stereotype, but he's funny, interesting and grumpy enough to stay on the winning side of the formula.' * New York Times Book Review *
`Immensely charming... Uplifting and very much on the side of life.' * Mail on Sunday *
`An impressive literary feat...a charming tale of opportunities taken and missed.' * Reading Magazine *
`Marone's characters, irreverent and absurd, embark on adventures they had ceased to allow themselves to imagine in this darkly comedic take on ageing.' * World Literature Today *
`Poignant...[with] moments of touching eccentricity.' * bookoxygen *
`Lorenzo Marone is the new voice that literature needs.' * Corriere della Sera *
`A wonderful novel about ageing - ironic and light-footed.' * Italien Magazin *
`A toast to real happiness!' * La Stampa *
`A book that touches the heart...wonderfully honest, ingenious, quick and tragic.' * Siegener Zeitung *
`Unforgettable...comical and cynical while remaining tender and dramatic.' * Corriere della Sera *
`This novel owes its success largely to Lorenzo Marone's wonderful character Cesare Annunziata, and to the funny and paradoxical fact that this is an excellent coming-of-age novel whose protagonist is over seventy years old.' * Il Mattino *
`Comic, ironic, sarcastic descriptions that will make you smile but will also make you take a deep look at life in old age.' * Wochenspiegel *

You may also be interested in...

Call Me By Your Name
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Reservoir 13
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Norse Mythology
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
How to Stop Time
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Little Fires Everywhere
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Five Years From Now
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Sparsholt Affair
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Less
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Stars are Fire
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Men Without Women
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Silent Companions
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
Added to basket
The End We Start From
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Burning Chambers
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Added to basket

Reviews

View all

“A Wonderful Novel”

Cesare Annunziata, a seventy seven year old widower lives alone in Naples. He leads quite a lonely life not seeing too much of his grown up son or daughter. He is very set in his ways and is very cynical about life.... More

Paperback edition
28th July 2017
Helpful? Upvote 8
TripFiction

“An uplifting and life-affirming novel that will make you want to go to NAPLES”

For those of you who perhaps have fewer years ahead of you than behind, and who are facing the darkening days of winter with some trepidation, then this debut novel from Lorenzo Marone is the book for you – an... More

Paperback edition
29th November 2017
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.