The Temple House Vanishing (Paperback)
  • The Temple House Vanishing (Paperback)
zoom

The Temple House Vanishing (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 336 Pages
Published: 03/09/2020
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket


'This brooding tale of obsessive love, teenage jealousy and hidden desire has a dark charm' The i paper

'Atmospheric, creepy, tense and utterly absorbing' Harriet Tyce

'Clean prose, subtle characters and intrigue to keep the pages turning' Mike McCormack

___________________

Power. Jealousy. Desire.

Twenty-five years ago, a sixteen-year-old schoolgirl and her charismatic teacher disappeared without trace...

When Louisa arrives at Temple House, an elite catholic boarding school, she quickly finds herself drawn to sophisticated fellow pupil Victoria and their young bohemian art teacher, Mr Lavelle. The three of them form a bond that seems to offer an escape from the repressive regime of the nuns who run the cloistered school. Until Louisa and Mr Lavelle suddenly vanish.

Years later, a journalist with a childhood connection to Louisa determines to resolve the mystery. Her search for the truth will uncover a tragic, mercurial tale of suppressed desire and long-buried secrets. It will shatter lives and lay a lost soul to rest.

The Temple House Vanishing is a stunning, intensely atmospheric novel of unrequited longing, dark obsession and unintended consequences.

'Chilling' Christine Dwyer Hickey

'Exquisite' Jo Spain
___________________

Perfect for fans of Emily M. Danforth's's Plain Bad Heroines...

Publisher: Atlantic Books
ISBN: 9781786499394
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 237 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 20 mm
Edition: Main


MEDIA REVIEWS

Evocative and mysterious... sublime writing with an engaging plot and superbly drawn characters - Sunday Independent

Donohue is a master of clean, sharp prose - Irish Times

Donohue looks to be the latest name to join the ranks of Ireland's proud female thriller-writing tradition. - Irish Independent

Subtle, intriguing and very well written - Guardian: 'The best recent crime and thrillers'

This brooding tale of obsessive love, teenage jealousy and hidden desire has a dark charm. - i

An enchanting writer... ingenious - Sunday Business Post

A hugely promising debut - Mike McCormack, author of Solar Bones

Atmospheric, creepy, tense and utterly absorbing - Harriet Tyce, author of Blood Orange

Beautifully written... chilling - Christine Dwyer Hickey

An exquisitely written novel. Absolutely beautiful - Jo Spain, author of The Confession

Assured and compelling - Liz Robinson, LoveReading

An extremely fine novel... compelling - New Books Magazine

Beautifully atmospheric... terrific... Intelligent, insightful and intriguing - LizLovesBooks

This eerie mystery thriller, which has also evoked comparisons with Picnic at Hanging Rock, has pitched Donohue as a rising star. Definitely worth a look. - RTE Guide

A chilling, atmospheric tale of obsession and desire - Culturefly

Casts a spell that keeps you captivated. - Heat

Exceptional - The Canberra Times

A highly entertaining thriller - Coly Point Observer

An atmospheric, gothic read - The List

Sublime writing, thick with atmosphere - Irish Independent

You may also be interested in...

I Will Find You
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Trial
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Killing Moon
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Think Twice
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Ferryman
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Raging Storm
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Adventures of Amina al-Sirafi
Added to basket
Traitors Gate
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The List
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Secret
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Just Another Missing Person
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Butter
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
The Secret Hours
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.49
Paperback
None of This is True
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Housemaid Is Watching
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Silent Patient
Added to basket

“An atmospheric mystery”

Obviously I was seduced by the blurb of a mystery centred around a Catholic boarding school in 1990, and I really enjoyed this spooky tale of sinister relationships.

Louisa is a scholarship girl in a sea of posh... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 21

“Obsession and it's destructive resolution”

A beautiful, haunting novel which had me hooked from the start. Rachel Donohue has an enormous talent, most first novels are tentative, you know that the gift is there but the author has to gain confidence - not so in... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 20

“Brilliantly observed”

The Temple House Vanishing is a beautifully constructed story of teenage obsession, jealousy and love. It centres around three people, Louisa and Victoria, both students at Temple House school, and their art teacher,... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 19

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: