The Temple House Vanishing (Hardback)
  • The Temple House Vanishing (Hardback)
zoom

The Temple House Vanishing (Hardback)

(author)
£12.99
Hardback 336 Pages / Published: 20/02/2020
  • Temporarily unavailable

Currently unavailable to order

Email me when available

Stay one step ahead and let us notify you when this item is next available to order


'This brooding tale of obsessive love, teenage jealousy and hidden desire has a dark charm' The i paper


'Atmospheric, creepy, tense and utterly absorbing' Harriet Tyce


'Clean prose, subtle characters and intrigue to keep the pages turning' Mike McCormack


___________________

Power. Jealousy. Desire.

Twenty-five years ago, a sixteen-year-old schoolgirl and her charismatic teacher disappeared without trace...

When Louisa arrives at Temple House, an elite catholic boarding school, she quickly finds herself drawn to sophisticated fellow pupil Victoria and their young bohemian art teacher, Mr Lavelle. The three of them form a bond that seems to offer an escape from the repressive regime of the nuns who run the cloistered school. Until Louisa and Mr Lavelle suddenly vanish.

Years later, a journalist with a childhood connection to Louisa determines to resolve the mystery. Her search for the truth will uncover a tragic, mercurial tale of suppressed desire and long-buried secrets. It will shatter lives and lay a lost soul to rest.

The Temple House Vanishing is a stunning, intensely atmospheric novel of unrequited longing, dark obsession and unintended consequences.

'Chilling' Christine Dwyer Hickey

'Exquisite' Jo Spain

___________________

Perfect for fans of Emily M. Danforth's's Plain Bad Heroines...

Publisher: Atlantic Books
ISBN: 9781786499387
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 445 g
Dimensions: 216 x 135 x 23 mm
Edition: Main


MEDIA REVIEWS

An evocative and mysterious coming-of-age tale that successfully combines sublime writing with an engaging plot and superbly drawn characters. With strong literary overtones, it reads like a book that was penned by an
experienced hand, yet it is Rachel Donohue's debut... This is already one of my books of the year. The winner of the 2017 Hennessy New Irish Writing Award, Donohue is a talented and welcome addition to the literary scene.

* Sunday Independent *
Donohue is a master of clean, sharp prose, and has a hugely impressive ability to create layers of atmosphere or ratchet up tension in a couple of beguilingly simple sentences. * Irish Times *
Donohue looks to be the latest name to join the ranks of Ireland's proud female thriller-writing tradition. * Irish Independent *
With shades of everything from The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie and Frost in May to Picnic at Hanging Rock and The Secret History, this is subtle, intriguing and very well written. * Guardian: 'The best recent crime and thrillers' *
This brooding tale of obsessive love, teenage jealousy and hidden desire has a dark charm... While the unsettling atmosphere is enough to keep the pages turning, Donohue also does a fine job of holding parts of her story back. When the shocking solution is finally revealed, it is in the sort of circumstances that all but force the reader to return to the beginning to marvel at how the trail was laid. * i *
Rachel Donohue is an enchanting writer. Her words seem, at first, innocuous and straightforward, but then it becomes apparent that they're doing mischievous things... And in the end, the ways in which everything makes a different kind of sense is ingenious - holy, even. * Sunday Business Post *
With clean prose, subtle characters and intrigue to keep the pages turning this is a hugely promising debut. * Mike McCormack, author of Solar Bones *
Atmospheric, creepy, tense and utterly absorbing - a great literary thriller set in a Catholic girls' boarding school. Loved this. * Harriet Tyce, author of Blood Orange *
Beautifully written in the same chilling vein as a Daphne du Maurier novel, The Temple House Vanishing promises to be the outstanding debut of 2020. * Christine Dwyer Hickey *
An exquisitely written novel. Absolutely beautiful. So evocative for me of all those school greats - The Secret History, Dead Poets Society, Picnic at Hanging Rock. It was such a slow build of tension but simmering with that sinister under-layer the whole time. This is some debut. * Jo Spain, author of The Confession *
The ending really spoke to me... Assured and compelling. * Liz Robinson, LoveReading *
This is an extremely fine novel. Donohue handles the action, the places, the people and the emotions so well. It is both absolutely believable and compelling, pulling the reader along at pace... Well worth reading. * New Books Magazine *
A beautifully atmospheric and involving novel, written in a lyrical literary style with a mysteriously compelling story... terrific... Intelligent, insightful and intriguing. * LizLovesBooks *
This eerie mystery thriller, which has also evoked comparisons with Picnic at Hanging Rock, has pitched Donohue as a rising star. Definitely worth a look. * RTE Guide *
A chilling, atmospheric tale of obsession and desire that will please fans of historical mysteries like Picnic at Hanging Rock. * Culturefly *
This languid tale of longing and obsessions casts a spell that keeps you captivated. * Heat *
Exceptional... She's clearly someone to watch * The Canberra Times *
A highly entertaining thriller * Coly Point Observer *
An atmospheric, gothic read * The List *

You may also be interested in...

V2
Added to basket
V2
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Other Passenger
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Westwind
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Long Call
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Lockdown
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Guest List
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dark Remains
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
The Institute
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket
Firewatching
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Walk the Wire
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Guardians
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Agent Running in the Field
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Just My Luck
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Blue Moon
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Atmospheric debut”

Temple House is a second rate girls boarding school that thinks it’s first rate or at least some of the incumbents do, especially the nuns that run it. In September 1990 Louisa, a very clever 16 year old girl, is... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 8

“Brilliantly observed”

The Temple House Vanishing is a beautifully constructed story of teenage obsession, jealousy and love. It centres around three people, Louisa and Victoria, both students at Temple House school, and their art teacher,... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 8

“An atmospheric mystery”

Obviously I was seduced by the blurb of a mystery centred around a Catholic boarding school in 1990, and I really enjoyed this spooky tale of sinister relationships.

Louisa is a scholarship girl in a sea of posh... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 7

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.