Find your perfect holiday reading
The Tattooist of Auschwitz (Paperback)
  • The Tattooist of Auschwitz (Paperback)
zoom

The Tattooist of Auschwitz (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 304 Pages / Published: 23/05/2019
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Young Adult edition - including new foreword and Q+A by the author plus further additional material The incredible bestselling true story. For readers of The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas and The Diary of Anne Frank Heart-breaking - a tale of love and survival amidst the horrors of Auschwitz Human - the real story behind one of the most potent symbols of the Holocaust - the blue numbers tattooed on prisoners' arms Inspirational - the very best of humanity in the very worst of circumstances Unforgettable - a story untold for over seventy years is finally shared Life-affirming - one man's determination to survive and live a full life with the woman he loved Fully verified - Lale Sokolov's background and story has been fact-checked against all available documentary evidence The Story The Tattooist of Auschwitz is based on the true story of Lale and Gita Sokolov, two Slovakian Jews who survived Auschwitz. When Lale, given the job of tattooing the prisoners, saw Gita waiting in line, it was love at first sight. In that moment he determined to keep them both alive. This is a story of hope and of courage.

Publisher: Hot Key Books
ISBN: 9781471408496
Number of pages: 304
Weight: 283 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 22 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Extraordinary - moving, confronting and uplifting . . . a story about the extremes of human behaviour: calculated brutality alongside impulsive and selfless acts of love. I recommend it unreservedly * Graeme Simsion, author of The Rosie Project *
What an extraordinary and important book this is. A moving and ultimately uplifting story of love, loyalties and friendship amidst the horrors of war * Jill Mansell *
a sincere...moving attempt to speak the unspeakable * The Sunday Times *

You may also be interested in...

Five Feet Apart
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Lost Tide Warriors
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Fing
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
The Boy At the Back of the Class
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Where the River Runs Gold
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Diary of an Awesome Friendly Kid
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
One Of Us Is Lying
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
Added to basket
The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket
Two Can Keep a Secret
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Ten Minutes to Bed: Little Unicorn
Added to basket
Oi Duck-billed Platypus!
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Ten Minutes to Bed: Little Mermaid
Added to basket
Dear Evan Hansen
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Heartstopper Volume Two
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback

“An incredible story of survival and love...”

The novel was based on the true story of Lale and Gita Sokolov , two Slovakian Jewish prisoners at Auschwitz. What is special about this story is Lale' s incredible strength of human spirit and his love for... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 159

“A fascinating story ”

Amongst a spate of recent novels set in Auschwitz, The Tattooist of Auschwitz is based on a real man, Lale Sokolov, a Slovakian Jew who was forced to work in that role during his imprisonment in Auschwitz. In 2003... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 100

“A Tale Of Survival”

This is a book that grips you and won't let go. I sat and read it from cover to cover without a break and even a couple of hours later it is still haunting me. You would think that some 70+ years on... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 97

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.