The Taste of Tomorrow: Dispatches from the Future of Food (Hardback)
  • The Taste of Tomorrow: Dispatches from the Future of Food (Hardback)
zoom

The Taste of Tomorrow: Dispatches from the Future of Food (Hardback)

(author)
£16.99
Hardback 304 Pages / Published: 05/05/2012
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

For fans of Michael Pollan and Mark Bittman, Josh Schonwald delivers a fascinating investigation into the trends and technologies that are transforming the world of food before our very eyes-from Alice Waters's micro farm to nanotechnology and beyond. Building upon the knowledge base we have gained from such books as The Omnivore's Dilemma, Schonwald takes our contemporary conversation about food a step further, debunking myths, clarifying controversies (such as the current storm over GMOs, or genetically modified organisms), and exploring the wild possibilities that food science and chemical engineering are making realities today-from food pills to new species of scratch-built fish.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Inc
ISBN: 9780061804212
Number of pages: 304
Weight: 420 g
Dimensions: 210 x 140 x 26 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"Josh Schonwald is an adventurous reporter and engaging writer whose appetite for his subject, so to speak, produces prose with just the right leavening of humor. If we are what we eat, his real subject is cultural self- definition" -- Ron Rosenbaum, author of Explaining Hitler and The Shakespeare Wars
"In his candid, sensible survey, Schonwald weighs carefully the pros and cons of our well-intentioned, but often blindsided `foodie fundamentalism.'" -- Publishers Weekly
"The Taste of Tomorrowis a fascinating adventure through what will controversially, inevitably, and desirably be on your grocery list of the future." -- Dan Koeppel, author of Banana: The Fate of the the Fruit that Changed the World
"[An] enthusiastic exploration of a range of possible food futures." -- Booklist
"The author effectively pairs his personal experiences with significant research, interviews and lively anecdotes. An articulate food book that has an opinion without being preachy and that exudes a joy about food without being oversimplified." -- Kirkus Reviews
"Schonwald is a good-natured and curious guide whose lightness of touch keeps you reading. A non-foodie at the start, he grows into his quest, championing sustainable, local and even genetically modified food to help feed the world." -- Financial Times
"[Schonwald] has come up with a great deal of interesting information, much of which will surprise people who eat food without giving much thought to where it comes from." -- Washington Post
"This is a fun book...Schonwald has the talent to explain serious, complicated issues in ways the average reader will understand. He does it in an entertaining, often irreverent way that keeps you turning the pages...a provocative book." -- Chicago Tribune
"...all this food exploration is divided into manageable and palate-pleasing bites." -- Associated Press

You may also be interested in...

A Cook's Tour
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Hungover Cookbook
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Hardback
Good Food: Meals for One
Added to basket
The Architecture of the Cocktail
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Hardback
Mary Berry Cookery Course
Added to basket
Kitchen Confidential
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.99
Paperback
Delia's Complete Cookery Course
Added to basket
Eating Animals
Added to basket
The Ultimate Bar Book
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.49
Hardback
New York Cult Recipes
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
The Everyday Diabetic Cookbook
Added to basket
The Little Tapas Book
Added to basket
£9.99
Hardback
Medium Raw
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Good Food: Healthy Eats
Added to basket
Good Food: Meals For Two
Added to basket
Good Food: Mediterranean Dishes
Added to basket

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.