The Taste of Blue Light (Hardback)
  • The Taste of Blue Light (Hardback)
zoom

The Taste of Blue Light (Hardback)

(author)
5 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£12.99
Hardback 352 Pages / Published: 07/09/2017
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket

'If Sylvia Plath wrote a novel for young adults, The Taste of Blue Light would be it' Louise O'Neill, author of Asking For It

What happened to me?
Why can't I remember?

Weeks after blacking out and waking up in hospital, Lux still has no memory of what happened.
She doesn't know why her days are consumed by pain and her nights by terrifying dreams; why her parents won't stop shouting and her friends stop talking when she walks into the room.

All she knows is that the Lux she once was is gone - and that if she can't uncover the truth, everything she loves will be taken away too.

'Devastating and brilliant' Stylist

'Truly unforgettable' Heat

Publisher: Hachette Children's Group
ISBN: 9781444936735
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 598 g
Dimensions: 241 x 162 x 32 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
If Sylvia Plath wrote a novel for young adults, The Taste of Blue Light would be it... Beautiful. Visceral. Gripping. I loved it * Louise O'Neill, author of Asking For It *
A gripping Bell Jar-type narrative of mental distress and confusion * Financial Times *

Remember the name Lydia Ruffles: this devastating and brilliant YA book goes to the most
unexpected of places and will leave you mulling it over for days, weeks and months after

* Stylist *
This gripping thriller will stay with you long after you finish the last page * The Sun on Sunday *
dark and affecting...a truly unforgettable debut * Heat Magazine *
An original take on trauma and memory loss...Lux's voice engages readers on issues that are timely, absorbing and perceptively related * Irish Times *
A game-changing exploration of mental health * Emerald Street *

An achingly moving read. Lux is vivid, feisty, vulnerable, brave, darkly humorous, as she fights a battle she doesn't understand. Ruffles' writing is mesmerising and beautiful.I was immersed in Lux's world from the first page

* Debbie Howells, author of The Bones of You *
Vivid, overwhelming, powerful, this is a visceral novel exploringfirst love, obsession and the curse and wonder of synaesthesia * Fiona Cummins, author of Rattle *
It's very brave, and fierce, and electric * Sara Barnard, author of Beautiful Broken Things *
This is a beautiful book, both inside and out ... I devoured every page * Alice Feeney, author of Sometimes I Lie *
Startling and mesmeric. Lux is a refreshingly complex heroine * Daisy Buchanan, author of How to be a Grown Up *
Beautiful. Visceral. Gripping. If Sylvia Plath wrote a novel foryoung adults, The Taste of Blue Light would be it * Louise O'Neill, author of Asking for It *

Brimming to full with tenderness and caustic wit. Immaculately
written, the journey inside the damaged mind of Lux Langleywill leave you feeling overwhelmed and amazed

* Richard Skinner, author of The Mirror *

You may also be interested in...

I Invited Her In
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Rooster Bar
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
A Stranger in the House
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
A Column of Fire
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Origin
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Thirteen
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Fox
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Past Tense
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
The Chalk Man
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Greeks Bearing Gifts
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Silent Companions
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Macbeth
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Midnight Line
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Cry
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Missing Girl
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback
Into the Water
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all
Hannah  at  Edinburgh West End

“Searing and memorable”

This is hyper-realisitc YA fiction at it's finest. Perfect for fans of Louise O'Neill and Courtney Summers, it follows Lux, a young woman who has lost who she is. This new Lux is deeply traumatised after a... More

“Beautiful and moving.”

A beautifully written YA novel focusing on Lux's search for the truth.
Set in a boarding school for art students, the creativity element comes out in the descriptions of both characters and setting.
The plot is... More

Paperback edition
9th February 2018
Helpful? Upvote 3
Kristina at Manchester Deansgate

“A YA thriller that will keep you guessing”

After my colleague's raving review I had very high hopes for this book. Maybe that was why it did not blow me away. It was a very good read nonetheless, and it definitely kept me guessing.
Lux, the main... More

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.