The Swifts: Exclusive Edition - The Swifts (Paperback)
  • The Swifts: Exclusive Edition - The Swifts (Paperback)
  • The Swifts: Exclusive Edition - The Swifts (Paperback)
  • The Swifts: Exclusive Edition - The Swifts (Paperback)
  • The Swifts: Exclusive Edition - The Swifts (Paperback)
  • The Swifts: Exclusive Edition - The Swifts (Paperback)
  • The Swifts: Exclusive Edition - The Swifts (Paperback)
  • The Swifts: Exclusive Edition - The Swifts (Paperback)
zoom
The Swifts: Exclusive Edition - The Swifts (Paperback) The Swifts: Exclusive Edition - The Swifts (Paperback) The Swifts: Exclusive Edition - The Swifts (Paperback) The Swifts: Exclusive Edition - The Swifts (Paperback) The Swifts: Exclusive Edition - The Swifts (Paperback) The Swifts: Exclusive Edition - The Swifts (Paperback)

The Swifts: Exclusive Edition - The Swifts (Paperback)

(author), (illustrator)
? RRP £7.99
£6.49
Save £1.50 (19%)
Paperback 464 Pages
Published: 04/01/2024
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Expertly combining the gothic eccentricity of Lemony Snicket with the murder mystery chops of Robin Stevens, Lincoln's page-turning debut centres on a spate of slayings in a very unusual family home and the diminutive detective determined to crack the case.

Exclusive Edition with sprayed edges - a Standard Edition is also available

Waterstones Children's Book of the Month for January 2024

Winner of the Nero Children's Award 2023

Shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize 2024 Younger Readers Shortlist

Longlisted for the Yoto Carnegie Medal for Writing 2024

Discover the hilarious New York Times bestselling mystery adventure perfect for fans of Robin Stevens and Lemony Snicket. On the day they are born, each Swift is brought before the sacred Family Dictionary.

They are given a name and a definition, and it is assumed they will grow up to match. Unfortunately, Shenanigan Swift has other ideas. So what if her relatives all think she's destined to turn out as a troublemaker, just because of her name? Shenanigan knows she can be whatever she wants - pirate, explorer or even detective.

Which is lucky, really, because when one of the Family tries to murder Arch-Aunt Schadenfreude, someone has to work out whodunit. With the help of her sisters and cousin, Shenanigan grudgingly takes on the case, but more murders, a hidden treasure and an awful lot of suspects make thing seriously complicated.

Can Shenanigan catch the killer before the whole household is picked off? And in a Family where definitions are so important, can she learn to define herself?

Publisher: Penguin Random House Children's UK
ISBN: 9780241705032
Number of pages: 464
Weight: 367 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

A stunning debut . . . This is an exquisitely written book about identity and wordplay that's as warm, masterful and up-to-date as it is laugh-out-loud funny. - Kitty Empire, Observer

Deliciously, quirkily Gothic - Robin Stevens, New York Times Book Review

Murder most splendid in this ghoulish debut - Emily Bearn, The Telegraph

Gothic mystery brimming with bonkers characters and boundless energy - Daily Mail

A fun read with diverse characters and an enticing setting. - Alice Clifford, The Sun

A mystery that is as clever and impish as its heroine - Publisher's Weekly Starred Review

An absolutely delightful debut - Kirkus Reviews Starred Review

A witty confection of highly colourful characters - The Horn Book

A delightful pick for sharp readers enamoured of gothic sensibilities and clever prose - Shelf Awareness Starred Review

This witty, imaginative entry deserves a prominent space on the MG shelf. - PaperBound

You may also be interested in...

Impossible Creatures
Added to basket
Dog Man 11: Twenty Thousand Fleas Under the Sea (PB)
Added to basket
Cluedle - The Case of the Dumpleton Diamond
Added to basket
The Last Bear
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Chalice of the Gods
Added to basket
Dog Man 12: The Scarlet Shedder
Added to basket
£12.99   £8.99
Hardback
Lottie Brooks's Totally Disastrous School-Trip
Added to basket
Murder Most Unladylike
Added to basket
Wrath of the Triple Goddess
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
Added to basket
A Mind Full of Murder
Added to basket

“The Swifts”

A brilliant murder, mystery adventure- unlike anything I've read before!
A wonderful cast of characters, incredible use of the English language and very funny.
If you love Robin Stevens and anything Gothic,... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 17
james_reads_books

“Shenanigans and Phenomena abound!”

I love a slightly weird middle grade that works on many levels - fun for children and humorous for grown ups.

Blurb:
On the day they are born, each Swift is brought before the Family Dictionary. They are given a... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 12
Chris Soul UK

“A uniquely inventive crime-thriller with laughs, mischief and mayhem!”

'The Swifts' is a cracking, inventive crime-thriller mystery with laughs, mischief and mayhem from debut author Beth Lincoln! Imagine 'Knives Out' for children with a Gothic edge. It's a... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 12

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: