The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie: A Flavia de Luce Mystery Book 1 - Flavia de Luce Mystery (Paperback)
  • The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie: A Flavia de Luce Mystery Book 1 - Flavia de Luce Mystery (Paperback)
zoom

The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie: A Flavia de Luce Mystery Book 1 - Flavia de Luce Mystery (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 384 Pages / Published: 04/02/2010
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Meet Flavia: Mystery Solver. Master Poisoner. 11 Years Old.

England 1950. At Buckshaw, the crumbling country seat of the de Luce family, very-nearly-eleven-year-old Flavia is plotting revenge on her older sisters.

Then a dead bird is left on the doorstep, which has an extraordinary effect on Flavia's eccentric father, and a body is found in the garden. As the police descend on Buckshaw, Flavia decides to do some investigating of her own.

Praise for the historical Flavia de Luce mysteries:
'The Flavia de Luce novels are now a cult favourite' Mail on Sunday

'A cross between Dodie Smith's I Capture The Castle and the Addams family...delightfully entertaining' Guardian

Fans of M. C. Beaton's Agatha Raisin, Frances Brody and Alexander McCall Smith will enjoy the Flavia de Luce mysteries:
1. Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie
2. The Weed That Strings the Hangman's Bag
3. A Red Herring Without Mustard
4. I Am Half Sick of Shadows
5. Speaking From Among the Bones
6. The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches
7. As Chimney Sweepers Come To Dust
8. Thrice the Brinded Cat Hath Mew'd
9. The Grave's a Fine and Private Place

If you're looking for a cosy crime series to keep you hooked then look no further than the Flavia de Luce mysteries.

* Each Flavia de Luce mystery can be read as a standalone or in series order *

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9780752883212
Number of pages: 384
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 24 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Praise for the cosy crime Flavia de Luce Mysteries - perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Midsomer Murders:
The Flavia de Luce novels are now a cult favourite

* Mail on Sunday *
Certain to become a national treasure * Daily Mail *
Delightfully entertaining * Guardian *
Flavia is enchanting * New York Times *
A breath of fresh air to the world of period-piece sleuthing * Independent *
Flavia is mercilessly addictive * Daily Telegraph *
A clever, witty and totally gripping read with lots of surprises * Essentials *
At once precocious and endearing, Flavia is a marvellous character. Quirkily appealing, this is definitely a crime novel with a difference * Choice *
It's like entering the lost world of the Mitford sisters where the girls are allowed to run completely wild * Crime Squad *
Hilarious, eccentric and mischievous * Deadly Pleasures *
Engaging, entertaining, bright and breezy; and above all, great fun! * Good Book Guide *

You may also be interested in...

Dead If You Don't
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Midnight Line
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
I'll Keep You Safe
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Thirteen
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
A Stranger in the House
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Nightfall Berlin
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
In a House of Lies
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
The Missing Girl
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback
Lethal White
Added to basket
£20.00   £13.99
Hardback
Into the Water
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
A Christmas Railway Mystery
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Panic Room
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle
Added to basket
Nine Perfect Strangers
Added to basket
£18.99   £15.99
Hardback
The Temptation of Forgiveness
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Snap
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“Chemistry-loving Miss Marple!!”

This is one of those fabulous whodunit books where there’s a tumbling down country estate (think I Captured The Castle), an incredibly curious bordering on down-right noisy and irritating girl (Briony from Atonement... More

Paperback edition
29th January 2013
Helpful? Upvote 33

“A Sweet Little Mystery”

I absolutely loved this book, it has all the ingredients of a typical English cozy mystery: set in the 1950's, an old crumbling country house in a small village, quirky characters, a mysterious dead body, strange... More

Paperback edition
28th February 2011
Helpful? Upvote 11

“A new heroine!”

Flavia de Luce is an impetuous, chemistry-loving, 11 year old sleuth determined to solve the mystery of the dead man discovered in the cucumber patch in the grounds of her crumbling ancestral home. Flavia is an... More

Paperback edition
21st March 2013
Helpful? Upvote 8

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.