The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie - Flavia de Luce Mystery (Paperback)
  • The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie - Flavia de Luce Mystery (Paperback)
zoom

The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie - Flavia de Luce Mystery (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 384 Pages / Published: 04/02/2010
  • 5+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Meet Flavia: Mystery Solver. Master Poisoner. 11 Years Old.

England 1950. At Buckshaw, the crumbling country seat of the de Luce family, very-nearly-eleven-year-old Flavia is plotting revenge on her older sisters.

Then a dead bird is left on the doorstep, which has an extraordinary effect on Flavia's eccentric father, and a body is found in the garden. As the police descend on Buckshaw, Flavia decides to do some investigating of her own.

Praise for the historical Flavia de Luce mysteries:
'The Flavia de Luce novels are now a cult favourite' Mail on Sunday

'A cross between Dodie Smith's I Capture The Castle and the Addams family...delightfully entertaining' Guardian

Fans of M. C. Beaton's Agatha Raisin, Frances Brody and Alexander McCall Smith will enjoy the Flavia de Luce mysteries:
1. Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie
2. The Weed That Strings the Hangman's Bag
3. A Red Herring Without Mustard
4. I Am Half Sick of Shadows
5. Speaking From Among the Bones
6. The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches
7. As Chimney Sweepers Come To Dust
8. Thrice the Brinded Cat Hath Mew'd
9. The Grave's a Fine and Private Place

If you're looking for a cosy crime series to keep you hooked then look no further than the Flavia de Luce mysteries.

* Each Flavia de Luce mystery can be read as a standalone or in series order *

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9780752883212
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 260 g
Dimensions: 198 x 128 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Praise for the cosy crime Flavia de Luce Mysteries - perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Midsomer Murders:
The Flavia de Luce novels are now a cult favourite

* Mail on Sunday *
Certain to become a national treasure * Daily Mail *
Delightfully entertaining * Guardian *
Flavia is enchanting * New York Times *
A breath of fresh air to the world of period-piece sleuthing * Independent *
Flavia is mercilessly addictive * Daily Telegraph *
A clever, witty and totally gripping read with lots of surprises * Essentials *
At once precocious and endearing, Flavia is a marvellous character. Quirkily appealing, this is definitely a crime novel with a difference * Choice *
It's like entering the lost world of the Mitford sisters where the girls are allowed to run completely wild * Crime Squad *
Hilarious, eccentric and mischievous * Deadly Pleasures *
Engaging, entertaining, bright and breezy; and above all, great fun! * Good Book Guide *

You may also be interested in...

Snow
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Better Off Dead
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Still Life
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dinner Guest
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Eight Detectives
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Troubled Blood
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Good Girl, Bad Blood
Added to basket
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£18.99   £15.99
Hardback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Anxious People
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Win
Added to basket
Win
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Night Hawks
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
As Good As Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Marlow Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Chemistry-loving Miss Marple!!”

This is one of those fabulous whodunit books where there’s a tumbling down country estate (think I Captured The Castle), an incredibly curious bordering on down-right noisy and irritating girl (Briony from Atonement... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 36

“Delicious!”

A wonderful, humourous, giddy concoction of a crime novel. I absolutely loved this! Flavia is a fantastic creation and Bradley's Miss Marple-esque village of characters knocks the socks off a good number of more... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 34

“A Sweet Little Mystery”

I absolutely loved this book, it has all the ingredients of a typical English cozy mystery: set in the 1950's, an old crumbling country house in a small village, quirky characters, a mysterious dead body, strange... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 31

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.