• Sign In / Register
  • Help
  • Basket0
The Supremes Sing the Happy Heartache Blues (Paperback)
  • The Supremes Sing the Happy Heartache Blues (Paperback)
zoom

The Supremes Sing the Happy Heartache Blues (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 320 Pages / Published: 08/03/2018
  • We can order this

Usually despatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket

A novel of friendship, family and forgiveness, from the author of the bestselling The Supremes at Earl's All-You-Can-Eat, perfect for fans of The Little Coffee Shop of Kabul.

When a late life love affair blooms between Mr. Forrest Payne and Miss Beatrice Jordan, their wedding summons a legend to town. Mr. El Walker, the great guitar bluesman, returns to Plainview, Indiana, to perform in a place he'd sworn--and for good reason--he'd never set foot in again.

But El is not the only Plainview native with a hurdle to overcome. Among those in this tightly knit community are the lifelong friends, known locally as "The Supremes", each facing a challenge of their own -- Clarice, facing down her chance at and fear of a great career; Barbara Jean, grappling with the loss of a mother whose life humiliated both of them, and Odette, reaching toward her husband through an anger of his that she does not understand.

Now, serenaded by El Walker's bittersweet and unforgettable blues song, this group need not learn how to survive but how, fully, to live.

'A joy to read! Besides being laugh out loud hilarious, Edward Kelsey Moore has a profound understanding of human nature' Fannie Flagg, author of Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
ISBN: 9781473661998
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 220 g
Dimensions: 198 x 128 x 26 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A joy to read! Besides being laugh out loud hilarious, Edward Kelsey Moore has a profound understanding of human nature. -- Fannie Flagg, author of Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe
There is no clue in the deliberately obscure title as to just how good this book is . . . An excellent and unpreachy chance to learn how the [civil rights] movement affected ordinary women. * Daily Mail on THE SUPREMES AT EARL'S ALL-YOU-CAN-EAT *
This beautifully written debut novel is a delightful tribute to friendship, full of wit and warmth and with a quirky twist * Candis on THE SUPREMES AT EARL'S ALL-YOU-CAN-EAT *

You may also be interested in...

The Beautiful Summer
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Coming Home to Island House
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Don't Let Go
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Added to basket
Men Without Women
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Manhattan Beach
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Less
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Little Fires Everywhere
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Heartburn
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Midnight Line
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
A Gentleman in Moscow
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Sparsholt Affair
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
How to Stop Time
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Child of All Nations
Added to basket
Call Me By Your Name
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Ministry of Utmost Happiness
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.