The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: Book 1 - The Strangeworlds Travel Agency (Paperback)
  • The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: Book 1 - The Strangeworlds Travel Agency (Paperback)
zoom

The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: Book 1 - The Strangeworlds Travel Agency (Paperback)

(author)
£6.99
Paperback 384 Pages / Published: 30/04/2020
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

Perfect for fans of P.G. Bell or Anna James, Lapinski’s fantastical adventure yarn features Flick Hudson, a twelve year old girl on a desperately dangerous mission for the Strangeworlds magical travel society.  

'Assured, witty and inventive. This debut has "future classic" written all over it.' - The Guardian

Pack your suitcase for a magical adventure! Perfect for fans of The Train to Impossible Places and The Polar Bear Explorers' Club.

At the Strangeworlds Travel Agency, each suitcase transports you to a different world. All you have to do is step inside . . .


When 12-year-old Flick Hudson accidentally ends up in the Strangeworlds Travel Agency, she uncovers a fantastic secret: there are hundreds of other worlds just steps away from ours. All you have to do to visit them is jump into the right suitcase. Then Flick gets the invitation of a lifetime: join Strangeworlds' magical travel society and explore other worlds.

But, unknown to Flick, the world at the very centre of it all, a city called Five Lights, is in danger. Buildings and even streets are mysteriously disappearing. Once Flick realizes what's happening she must race against time, travelling through unchartered worlds, seeking a way to fix Five Lights before it collapses into nothingness - and takes our world with it.

A magical adventure for 9+ readers that will take you to whole new worlds.

Publisher: Hachette Children's Group
ISBN: 9781510105942
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 260 g
Dimensions: 196 x 126 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Assured, witty and inventive, this debut has '"future classic" written all over it. -- Imogen Russell Williams * The Guardian *
You'll love this entertaining, magical adventure * The Week Junior *
This thrilling debut by LD Lapinski is the perfect story to disappear into for a few days. -- Sarah Mallon * The Scotsman *
A fabulous fantastical adventure. -- Sarah Kingsford * The Sunday Express *
Young readers who love fast-paced storied with lots of adventure, imagination and magic will love this. -- Sarah Webb * Irish Independent *
This is an ideal escape for fans of Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett. Lapinski's feats of world building will transport even the most stuck-at-home reader beyond their wildest dreams. -- Piers Torday * The Guardian *
Lapinski has not only created endless worlds made up of magic and colour, but characters made up of the same charm to fill them. -- Benjamin Dean * goodhousekeeping.com *

You may also be interested in...

Rowley Jefferson's Awesome Friendly Spooky Stories
Added to basket
Christmas Wishes
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
The Christmasaurus and the Winter Witch
Added to basket
James and the Giant Peach
Added to basket
Amelia Fang and the Trouble with Toads
Added to basket
The BFG
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Rowley Jefferson's Awesome Friendly Adventure
Added to basket
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
Added to basket
Charlie Changes Into a Chicken
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
How to Train Your Dragon
Added to basket
The Christmasaurus
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
The Magic Finger
Added to basket
£5.99
Paperback
The Creakers
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Frostheart
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Kid Normal
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Isadora Moon Goes to School
Added to basket
Gavin Hetherington

“An Adventure of Multiverses!”

Imagine stepping into a suitcase and ending up in a jungle, or an enchanted forest, or a bright, bustling city filled with magic. Because that’s The Strangeworlds Travel Agency, the first book in a new series.

I... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 27

“Fantastic start to a promising new series”

Visit all manner of worlds and their unusual inhabitants as Flick is initiated into The StrangeWorlds Society. This is the sort of adventure we all hope for whenever we see an old, dusty, disused shop, odd-shaped door... More

Paperback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 21

“Keep hold of your suitcase!”

I was absolutely delighted to be able to read this, because it has been highly recommended to me on twitter. It did not disappoint one bit!

This was a thrill ride the whole way through, I only picked it up this... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 13

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.