The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: Book 1 - The Strangeworlds Travel Agency (Paperback)
  • The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: Book 1 - The Strangeworlds Travel Agency (Paperback)
zoom

The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: Book 1 - The Strangeworlds Travel Agency (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 384 Pages / Published: 30/04/2020
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

Perfect for fans of P.G. Bell or Anna James, Lapinski’s fantastical adventure yarn features Flick Hudson, a twelve year old girl on a desperately dangerous mission for the Strangeworlds magical travel society.  

'Assured, witty and inventive. This debut has "future classic" written all over it.' - The Guardian

Pack your suitcase for a magical adventure! Perfect for fans of The Train to Impossible Places and Pages & Co.

At the Strangeworlds Travel Agency, each suitcase transports you to a different world. All you have to do is step inside . . .


When 12-year-old Flick Hudson accidentally ends up in the Strangeworlds Travel Agency, she uncovers a fantastic secret: there are hundreds of other worlds just steps away from ours. All you have to do to visit them is jump into the right suitcase. Then Flick gets the invitation of a lifetime: join Strangeworlds' magical travel society and explore other worlds.

But, unknown to Flick, the world at the very centre of it all, a city called Five Lights, is in danger. Buildings and even streets are mysteriously disappearing. Once Flick realizes what's happening she must race against time, travelling through unchartered worlds, seeking a way to fix Five Lights before it collapses into nothingness - and takes our world with it.

A magical adventure for 9+ readers that will take you to whole new worlds.

Publisher: Hachette Children's Group
ISBN: 9781510105942
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 280 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Assured, witty and inventive, this debut has '"future classic" written all over it. -- Imogen Russell Williams * The Guardian *
You'll love this entertaining, magical adventure * The Week Junior *
This thrilling debut by LD Lapinski is the perfect story to disappear into for a few days. -- Sarah Mallon * The Scotsman *
A fabulous fantastical adventure. -- Sarah Kingsford * The Sunday Express *
Young readers who love fast-paced stories with lots of adventure, imagination and magic will love this. -- Sarah Webb * Irish Independent *
This is an ideal escape for fans of Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett. Lapinski's feats of world building will transport even the most stuck-at-home reader beyond their wildest dreams. -- Piers Torday * The Guardian *
Lapinski has not only created endless worlds made up of magic and colour, but characters made up of the same charm to fill them. -- Benjamin Dean * goodhousekeeping.com *

You may also be interested in...

Matilda
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
The Danger Gang
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Firesong
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Christmas Pig
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
The Bad Beginning
Added to basket
The BFG
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
The Creakers
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Smeds and the Smoos
Added to basket
The Last Firefox
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
How to Train Your Dragon
Added to basket
Rainbow Grey: Eye of the Storm
Added to basket
George's Marvellous Medicine
Added to basket
Gavin Hetherington

“An Adventure of Multiverses!”

Imagine stepping into a suitcase and ending up in a jungle, or an enchanted forest, or a bright, bustling city filled with magic. Because that’s The Strangeworlds Travel Agency, the first book in a new series.

I... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 44

“Fantastic start to a promising new series”

Visit all manner of worlds and their unusual inhabitants as Flick is initiated into The StrangeWorlds Society. This is the sort of adventure we all hope for whenever we see an old, dusty, disused shop, odd-shaped door... More

Paperback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 42

“A magical masterpiece! What an adventure!”

This debut is simply a middle-grade magical marvel and Lapinski has done an excellent job at creating an array of worlds which not only act as a nod of recognition to traditional fantasy tropes, but opens schisms into... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 27

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.