The Strain (Paperback)
  • The Strain (Paperback)
zoom

The Strain (Paperback)

(author), (author)
9 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£10.99
Paperback 496 Pages / Published: 01/04/2010
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
The high-concept thriller with a supernatural edge from the world-famous director, whose films include Pan's Labyrinth and Hellboy.

A plane lands at JFK and mysteriously 'goes dark', stopping in the middle of the runway for no apparent reason, all lights off, all doors sealed. The pilots cannot be raised.

When the hatch above the wing finally clicks open, it soon becomes clear that everyone on board is dead - although there is no sign of any trauma or struggle. Ephraim Goodweather and his team from the Center for Disease Control must work quickly to establish the cause of this strange occurrence before panic spreads.

The first thing they discover is that four of the victims are actually still alive. But that's the only good news. And when all two hundred corpses disappear from various morgues around the city on the same night, things very rapidly get worse. Soon Eph and a small band of helpers will find themselves battling to protect not only their own loved ones, but the whole city, against an ancient threat to humanity.

Perfect for fans of Dean Koontz's The Eyes of Darkness

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780007311293
Number of pages: 496
Weight: 340 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 31 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'The first in a trilogy that soars with spellbinding intrigue. Truly, an unforgettable tale you can't put down once you read the first page. I can't wait until the next one.' Clive Cussler

'Blood and apocalypse mix in a terrifying story that feels like it was ripped from today's headlines. Vividly wrought and relentlessly paced, THE STRAIN haunts as much as it terrifies. I cannot wait to see where Del Toro and Hogan take us next.' James Rollins

'A rattling piece of escapism' The Times

'A great read' Sun

'An entertaining mix of action blockbuster and vampire myth ... with Del Toro's talent for creating fantastical, macabre characters shining through ... an exciting page-turner' Metro

'Diverting and never less than expertly crafted' Guardian

'A pacy thriller with a great eye for detail and plenty of gloriously icky moments' SFX

'The action and excitement never let up' SciFi Now

'Del Toro and Hogan succeed in constructing a driving plot and delivering a gripping conclusion. Great characters ... and a flair for striking scenes get this trilogy off to a first-rate start. Kirkus Reviews

You may also be interested in...

Still Life
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Small Pleasures
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Leave the World Behind
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Maidens
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
BOX 88
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Long Call
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
If It Bleeds
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Camino Winds
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dinner Guest
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Guest List
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Lockdown
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Sentinel
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Kingdom
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
American Dirt
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“The Strain”

Simply, imagine Del Toro's filmic imagination on page. It's a good read, and leads way for the rest of the trilogy.

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 29

“The stuff of nightmares!!!”

This book takes us back to a vampire construct that terrifies and tears us apart, no pretty vampires flouncing around and romancing their blood donors, oh no, the vamps in this masterpiece are zombie like bloodthirsty... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 24

“Back To Terrifying Vampires.”

This series allows us to return to old school vampires: the kind that scare you instead of leaving you falling in love with them. It really is great to get back to the original idea of vampires, the idea that they’re... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 23

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.