Ts&Cs
apply
The Starter Wife: The darkest psychological thriller you'll read this year (Paperback)
  • The Starter Wife: The darkest psychological thriller you'll read this year (Paperback)
zoom

The Starter Wife: The darkest psychological thriller you'll read this year (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 320 Pages / Published: 13/06/2019
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

A gripping psychological thriller, for fans of My Lovely Wife and The Wife Between Us.

'Everything about this book was superb'
'Full of twists...will hook you in and then shock you in an awesome way'
'When the real story came out I was gobsmacked'
'This is a fast pacing book with an incredible twist at the end'

Claire Westcott tries to be the perfect wife to Byron but fears she will never measure up to his ex, Colleen. After all, it's hard to compete with the dead.

Colleen went missing eight years ago. Her body was never found but the police ruled it a suicide. So when Claire receives a phone call from a woman she believes is Colleen, it sparks a million terrifying questions.

Claire discovers the couple weren't as happy as they would have people believe. And now she's worried Byron has been lying to her.

There are secrets in every marriage, but sometimes those secrets are deadly.

What people are saying about THE STARTER WIFE

'If you are looking for an original domestic thriller than look no further than this one. I was completely hooked and read this in one greedy sitting'

'OK this one got me. Read this in one straight go and WOW was I surprised by the twist!! A great read with a lot of surprises'

'I lose myself in domestic thrillers. This is no different. It totally messed with my head and is an absolute must read for fans of the genre'

'Having read a lot of thrillers recently I've been eager to find one that's original enough to avoid me seeing the twist a mile off and getting bored. 'The Starter Wife' by Nina Laurin absolutely delivered'

'An unexpected twist turned everything I thought I knew upside down'

'Devious and dark, completely addictive and utterly twisted and believable!!'

'Wow - this was quite the page turner! I was on the edge of my seat as I sped through this book'

'Obsession and delusion make this a dark, dark gripping story that stays in your stomach when you turn the last page'

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
ISBN: 9781529325515
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 222 g
Dimensions: 198 x 130 x 21 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
- - Praise for The Starter Wife * - *
The bombshell plot twist toward the end will surprise most readers. Laurin knows how to ratchet up the suspense * Publishers Weekly *
Laurin, with her knack for psychological suspense, here portrays the effects of obsession in chilling detail as the facts of Claire's life are revealed. A spine-tingler * Booklist *
- - Praise for Nina Laurin * - *
Nina Laurin's psychological suspense thrill ride will have you ripping through its pages at warp speed * PopSugar *

Every good thriller has a shocking plot twist. Girl Last Seen has many. Author Nina Laurin's eerie novel
will stay with you for days, months, even years to come

* Hello Giggles *
Psychological suspense doesn't come much grittier or more packed with satisfying twists and turns -- Meg Gardiner, Edgar Award-winning author
A twisty, mind-bending thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat * USA Today *

You may also be interested in...

V2
Added to basket
V2
£7.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Never
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Better Off Dead
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
The Castaways
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Slough House
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Still Life
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Eight Detectives
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dinner Guest
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Time for Mercy
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Judge's List
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Evening and the Morning
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Small Pleasures
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Moonflower Murders
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Marlow Murder Club
Added to basket
The Sentinel
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Cleverly plotted, page-turning, psychological thriller.”

The illusion of a perfect marriage is a popular trope for psychological thrillers. but this one has enough originality to make it addictive. Told from two points of view, Claire, Byron’s second wife, and an unknown... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 16

“A gripping thriller”

This is a gripping thriller with plenty of twists, turns and surprises; I was hooked from the first page. It is well written and pretty pacey with the suspense building up nicely before the tremendous ending.... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 16

“More questions than answers!”

Well! Confused? - you definitely will be by the end of this book. One of those stories that leave you with more questions than answers when you finish it! You wonder if you should just start at the beginning again to... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 14

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.