The Spark Girl: A heart-warming tale of wartime adventure, romance and heartbreak. (Paperback)
  • The Spark Girl: A heart-warming tale of wartime adventure, romance and heartbreak. (Paperback)
zoom

The Spark Girl: A heart-warming tale of wartime adventure, romance and heartbreak. (Paperback)

(author)
£6.99
Paperback 320 Pages / Published: 24/08/2017
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket

'A compelling first novel which I promise you won't be able to put down' Daisy Styles, bestselling author of The Bomb Girls

Can her fight for the country fix her broken heart?

A knock on the door early one morning wouldn't normally be cause for concern but it is 1941, Britain is at war, and Kitty Williams's fiance Joe is far from home fighting Hitler with the Navy.

As Kitty's heart is shattered into pieces hearing the news she had been dreading, resolve kicks in and she becomes more determined than ever to do her bit for the war effort.

Signing up to the Women's Army is just the sort of challenge Kitty needs and on meeting new recruits Mary, Di and Peggy, she is happy to learn that the challenge won't be a lonely one. But it also won't be easy and when bombs start to fall on her home town of Coventry, and supposed allies turn against her, Kitty must find the strength she never knew she had to save her family, fix her broken heart and help her country to victory.

The Spark Girl is an absorbing and poignant saga, perfect for fans of Daisy Styles, Kate Thompson and Ellie Dean.

The second book in the series, The Spark Girl's Promise is now available for pre-order

'a fabulous debut from an immensely talented author' Annie Groves

'Ford gets to the heart of what it was like to live through the dangerous war years in this warm, captivating, down-to-earth story which is brimming with engaging characters, adventure, romance and heartbreak.' Lancashire Post

'Fiona Ford has written a charming and very appealing story...Kitty Williams is the girl we all want to be.' Swirl and Thread

'an enjoyable read with a twist towards the end to keep the reader engaged until the next one!' Jera's Jamboree

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781409170112
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 226 g
Dimensions: 197 x 131 x 20 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Praise for THE SPARK GIRL - a heart-wrenching wartime saga:

A compelling first novel by Fiona Ford, which I promise you won't be able to put down

-- Daisy Styles, bestselling author of THE BOMB GIRLS
a fabulous debut from an immensely talented author -- Annie Groves
Ford gets to the heart of what it was like to live through the dangerous war years in this warm, captivating, down-to-earth story which is brimming with engaging characters, adventure, romance and heartbreak. * Lancashire Post *
'an enjoyable read with a twist towards the end to keep the reader engaged until the next one!' * Jera's Jamboree *

You may also be interested in...

The Munitions Girls
Added to basket
Bella Poldark
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Stranger From The Sea
Added to basket
The Angry Tide
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Demelza
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Miller's Dance
Added to basket
Hide Her Name
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Dilly's Sacrifice
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Four Swans
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Warleggan
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Girl on the Cliff
Added to basket
Casting Off
Added to basket
The Light Behind The Window
Added to basket
The Black Moon
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Mightier than the Sword
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Twisted Sword
Added to basket

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.