Ts&Cs
apply
The Source (Paperback)
  • The Source (Paperback)
zoom

The Source (Paperback)

(author)
5 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 320 Pages / Published: 15/04/2021
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
A young TV journalist is forced to revisit her harrowing past when she's thrust into a sex-trafficking investigation in her hometown. A startling, searing, debut thriller by award-winning CNN journalist Sarah Sultoon. 'A brave and thought-provoking debut novel. Sarah Sultoon tackles a challenging and disturbing subject without sensation, and her sensitive handling, tight plotting and authentic storytelling make for a compelling read' Adam Hamdy 'A stunning debut ... a powerhouse writer' Jo Spain 'Delving into corruption, abuse of power and the resilience of the human spirit, The Source is a taut and thought-provoking book that's all the more unnerving for how much it echoes the headlines in real life' CultureFly ------------ One last chance to reveal the truth... 1996. Essex. Thirteen-year-old schoolgirl Carly lives in a disenfranchised town dominated by a military base, struggling to care for her baby sister while her mum sleeps off another binge. When her squaddie brother brings food and treats, and offers an exclusive invitation to army parties, things start to look a little less bleak... 2006. London. Junior TV newsroom journalist Marie has spent six months exposing a gang of sex traffickers, but everything is derailed when New Scotland Yard announces the re-opening of Operation Andromeda, the notorious investigation into allegations of sex abuse at an army base a decade earlier... As the lives of these two characters intertwine around a single, defining event, a series of utterly chilling experiences is revealed, sparking a nail-biting race to find the truth ... and justice. A riveting, searing and devastatingly dark thriller, The Source is also a story about survival, about hopes and dreams, about power, abuse and resilience ... an immense, tense and thought-provoking debut that you will never, ever forget. For fans of Holly Watt, Abigail Dean, Fiona Barton, Abi Dare, Kate Elizabeth Russell, Sarah Vaughan and Casey Kelleher ------------- 'Carly and Marie's stories are about to collide, the secrets of the past are devastating, the investigation in the present urgent. This is a tense thriller, a remarkable debut, heartbreaking, but ultimately this is a story of resilience and survival' New Books Magazine 'A powerful, compelling read that doesn't shy away from some upsetting truths ... written with such energy' Fanny Blake 'Tautly written and compelling, not afraid to shine a spotlight on the darker forces at work in society' Rupert Wallis 'So authentic and exhilarating ... breathtaking pace and relentless ingenuity' Nick Paton Walsh, CNN 'A powerful, intense whammy of a debut that is both uncomfortable and exhilarating to read ... Thought-provoking, tense, and expressive, The Source is an utterly compelling debut' LoveReading 'A gripping, dark thriller' Geoff Hill, ITV 'A cleverly constructed story that offers an authentic view behind the scenes in a British newsroom ... an original and wholly engaging debut. Definitely a name to watch' Crime Fiction Lover 'My heart was racing ... fiction to thrill even the most hard-core adrenaline junkies' Diana Magnay, Sky News 'Unflinching and sharply observed. A hard-hitting, deftly woven debut' Ruth Field 'With this gripping, fast-paced debut thriller, it's easy to see what made Sultoon such a great journalist' Clarissa Ward, CNN 'A hard-hitting, myth-busting rollercoaster of a debut' Eve Smith 'I could picture and feel each scene, all the fear, tension and hope' Katie Allen

Publisher: Orenda Books
ISBN: 9781913193591
Number of pages: 320
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm

You may also be interested in...

The Law of Innocence
Added to basket
Camino Winds
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Dark Hours
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
Agent Running in the Field
Added to basket
The Whistleblower
Added to basket
£14.99   £7.49
Hardback
Blackout
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Devil's Advocate
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
American Dirt
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Clive Cussler's The Devil's Sea
Added to basket
Never
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
1984 Nineteen Eighty-Four
Added to basket
Fair Warning
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Never
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
White Eagles Over Serbia
Added to basket
Breaking Point
Added to basket
£13.99
Paperback
State of Terror
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback

“A tense, edge of the seat read that will have you biting your nails down to the quick”

Every now and again a book comes along that touches the core. The Source is that book. Part of that lies in its veracity. I’ve spent a lot of my working life in and around newsrooms and when Sarah Sultoon writes about... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

“Dark but gripping”

An excellent read which tells the story of 13 year old Carly, who lives near a military base, in 1996. The other main character Marie is a young journalist investigating local sex trafficking in 2006, but the emphasis... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3
Nicole @hemelwstones

“The Source Doesn't Pull Any Punches. Hits Hard. I Couldn't Out It Down.”

This reminded me of Martina Cole's Faceless & Broken books.
A young journalist is allowed in on a people trafficking case, but just as they get their evidence the story is dropped for something bigger...

In... More

Paperback edition
7 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.