The Son-in-Law (Paperback)
  • The Son-in-Law (Paperback)
zoom

The Son-in-Law (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 06/03/2014
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket

On a sharp winter's morning, a man turns his back on prison. Joseph Scott has served his term. He's lost almost everything: his career as a teacher, his wife, the future he'd envisaged. All he has left are his three children but he is not allowed anywhere near them.

This is the story of Joseph, who killed his wife, Zoe. Of their three children who witnessed the event. Of Zoe's parents, Hannah and Frederick, who are bringing up the children and can't forgive or understand Joseph.

They slowly adjust to life without Zoe, until the day Joseph is released from prison...

Publisher: Allen & Unwin
ISBN: 9781743316696
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 384 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 29 mm
Edition: Main


MEDIA REVIEWS
Engrossing. * Woman and Home *
The author's third novel, this is another wonderful and very thought-provoking story that I consumed in a single day. * The Sun *
A gripping tale that would appeal to fans of Jodi Picoult and Joanna Trollope... A page turning book to while away a winter's evening. * Red Online on After the Fall *
Original, wonderfully written and utterly gripping, this is a corker of a tale. * The Sun on After the Fall *
Jodi Picoult had better look over her shoulder - she's got a new contender by the name of Charity Norman. * Sydney Morning Herald on After the Fall *
Will appeal to devotees of Joanna Trollope and Jodi Picoult... [Norman] is hot on their heels. * Daily Mail on Freeing Grace *
Easy to read, hard to put down, it'll move you to tears. * Easy Living on Freeing Grace *

You may also be interested in...

The Sixteen Trees of the Somme
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Break
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Anatomy of a Scandal
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
After the Party
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Snap
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Macbeth
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Uncommon Type
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Crazy Rich Asians
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
In a House of Lies
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
An Unsuitable Match
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Norse Mythology
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
If Cats Disappeared From The World
Added to basket
Killing Commendatore
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
A Discovery of Witches
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Book of Life
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“heartfelt, compelling”

I really enjoyed "After the fall" by Charity Norman so bought this book straight away and this novel was also brilliant.
The characters have strong emotional conflicts going on which makes for a very... More

Paperback edition
9th April 2014
Helpful? Upvote 55

“Fantastic”

The son in law by charity Norman.

Well I had no idea what to expect having never read any of charity's books before.
It sounded fantastic, perhaps a little like Jodi picoult I thought?
So I settled down to read... More

Paperback edition
20th June 2013
Helpful? Upvote 41

“An amazing story told from a different perspective”

I loved this book. The first time in 2 years that all of my book group agreed that they loved a book. Since then I have sought out more of her books and bought this one for friends. You have to share something this... More

Paperback edition
21st December 2016
Helpful? Upvote 24

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.