The Someday Suitcase (Paperback)
  • The Someday Suitcase (Paperback)
zoom

The Someday Suitcase (Paperback)

(author)
£5.99
Paperback 320 Pages / Published: 23/08/2018
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket

Readers who loved The Thing About Jellyfish and Goodbye Stranger will find a mysterious magic and unforgettable friendship in The Someday Suitcase, from the critically acclaimed author of Rules for Stealing Stars.

A Bank Street Books Best Children's Book of 2018!

Clover and Danny are the kind of best friends who make each other even better. They're so important to each other that Clover believes they're symbiotic: her favorite science word, which describes two beings who can't function without the other.

But when Danny comes down with a mysterious illness that won't go away, the doctors can't figure out what's wrong with him. So Clover decides to take matters into her own hands by making lists-list of Danny's symptoms, his good days, his bad days.

As the evidence piles up, only one thing becomes clear: Danny is only better when Clover is around.

Suddenly it feels like time is running out for Clover and Danny to do everything they've planned together-to finally see snow, to go on a trip with the suitcase they picked out together. Will science be able to save Danny, or is this the one time when magic can overcome the unthinkable?

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Inc
ISBN: 9780062352767
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 205 g
Dimensions: 193 x 130 x 16 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"A touch of magic, the promise of snow, and so much love I can barely keep it together to write this sentence. I know Clover and Danny will stick with me for a long, long time." -- Kate Milford, New York Times bestselling author of The Greenglass House
"Beautiful, true, and magical. This book touched my heart." -- Lauren Myracle, author the Wishing Day series
"Quietly superb prose...Haydu doesn't romanticize illness, but she provides comfort through art, science, magic, love, and a purple suitcase. A sharp, clear-cut piece that knows life is beautiful and sickness isn't." -- Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
"Haydu's second middle-grade novel is poignant and powerful. A heartbreaking story about the healing power of friendship amid human fragility." -- Booklist (starred review)
"In this moving, exquisitely written story, Corey Ann Haydu explores the thin line between science and magic within an intense bond of friendship." -- Shelf Awareness, starred review
"Haydu does not shield readers from hard truths, creating complex characters who face difficult situations. This sensitive work will strike an emotional chord with middle-graders." -- School Library Journal

You may also be interested in...

The Wonky Donkey
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
The Worst Witch
Added to basket
£5.99   £4.99
Paperback
Northern Lights
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Dog Man 7: For Whom the Ball Rolls
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Hardback
Dear Evan Hansen
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Somerset Tsunami
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
The Star Outside my Window
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
The Explorer
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Isadora Moon Puts on a Show
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Hardback
Dork Diaries: Birthday Drama!
Added to basket
This Lie Will Kill You
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
Added to basket
£32.00   £27.99
Hardback
Dog Man 5: Lord of the Fleas PB
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The World's Worst Children
Added to basket
Tom Gates: Spectacular School Trip (Really.)
Added to basket
I, Cosmo
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.