The Soldier Who Came Back (Hardback)
  • The Soldier Who Came Back (Hardback)
zoom

The Soldier Who Came Back (Hardback)

(author), (with)
£16.99
Hardback Published: 24/05/2018
  • We can order this from the publisher

UK delivery within 2 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'The extraordinary story of one of the most audacious escape attempts of the Second World War' Dan Snow

In Northern Poland in 1940, at the Nazi war camp Stalag XX-A, two men struck up an unlikely friendship that was to lead to one of the most daring and remarkable wartime escape stories ever told.

Antony Coulthard was the privately educated son of wealthy parents and he had a first-class honours degree in modern languages from Oxford. Fred Foster was the son of a bricklayer from Nottinghamshire - he had left school with no qualifications aged 14.

This seemingly mismatched young pair bonded in the prison camp, and hatched a plan to disguise themselves as advertising executives working for Siemens. They would simply walk out of the camp, board a train - and head straight into the heart of Nazi Germany. Which is precisely what they did.

Their route into Germany was one that no one would think to search for escaped PoWs. This breathtakingly audacious plan involved 18 months of undercover work, including Antony (nicknamed 'The Professor' by fellow inmates) spending 3 hours every evening teaching Fred to speak German. They set off for the Swiss border via Germany, doing some sightseeing along the way in Munich and Berlin, taking notes of strategic interest while eating in restaurants and drinking beer with Nazi officers, just yards from Hitler's HQ.

But could they make it out alive?

Perfect for fans of The Last Escape by John Nichol and Escaping Hitler by Monty Halls.

Publisher: Mirror Books
ISBN: 9781907324239
Weight: 444 g
Dimensions: 238 x 159 x 26 mm

You may also be interested in...

In Wartime
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Typhoon
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Ukraine Diaries
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
The Penguin Lessons
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
SAS: Sea King Down
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Mercies
Added to basket
The Prince Rupert Hotel for the Homeless
Added to basket
Shackleton
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
A Net for Small Fishes
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
SAS Bravo Three Zero
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Confidence Men
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Climb with Charlie
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Say Nothing
Added to basket
Three Women
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Lily's Promise
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Salt Path
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.