The Smidgens (Paperback)
  • The Smidgens (Paperback)
zoom

The Smidgens (Paperback)

(author), (illustrator)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£6.99
Paperback 208 Pages / Published: 01/04/2021
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Gafferty Sprout is a Smidgen. A Smidgen looks like a human, sounds like a human, and loves chips with curry sauce like a human - if humans were three inches tall. If you took a human and shrunk it in the washing machine on a very hot spin cycle, you might get something like a Smidgen. Generations ago there were lots of them, living in a maze of tunnels beneath the human village of Dundoodle. But then something happened and they just ... disappeared. Now Gafferty, her parents and her little brothers Gobkin and Grub are the only ones left, and the tunnels are forbidden territory. And then Gafferty finds an old map. A map that shows a place deep within the maze where Smidgen tribes can go to meet. Smidgen tribes! Gafferty knows that she has to try to find them. But the tunnels are dangerous. And soon Gafferty discovers she's not the only one looking for the lost tribes, and that three inches of Smidgen hold more power than she ever imagined. The first book in a funny, magical adventures series for 7+ readers who love Terry Pratchett, Max and the Millions and The Borrowers.

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
ISBN: 9781526607768
Number of pages: 208
Weight: 168 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
If you put your copy of Harry Potter and Charlie and the Chocolate Factory in the washing machine together, this would be the book that came out at the end. Don't put books in the washing machine though ... * Tom Fletcher on THE CHOCOLATE FACTORY GHOST *
Humour pervades every page, with jokes appearing at the perfect place and with fabulous timing * Bookbag on THE CHOCOLATE FACTORY GHOST *
A thoroughly satisfying and entertaining story, a mix of adventure, comedy and magic ... Delicious! * Books for Keeps on THE CHOCOLATE FACTORY GHOST *
A 21st century take on The Borrowers, albeit much funnier [...] There is SO much to love about this terrific adventure story. David snares the reader's attention from the outset and keeps you on the edge of your seat throughout; along with the tension, there's humour and charm, wonderful characterisation, and such clever disguises ... Bring on the second story * Red Reading Hub *

You may also be interested in...

Legendborn
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.49
Paperback
It's Behind You
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
As Good As Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Hunger Games
Added to basket
Isadora Moon Goes to a Wedding PB
Added to basket
The Grumpy Fairies
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Future Friend
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Shadow and Bone
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Adventures of Dog Man 2: Unleashed
Added to basket
They Both Die at the End
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Supertato: Bubbly Troubly
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Ways to Be Me
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Dog Man 10: Mothering Heights
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Hardback
The Bell Jar
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback

“Fantastic adventure story for early readers”

This story reminded me of a modern day 'Borrowers' with lots of adventure, magic and mysterious scary creatures thrown in!
The Smidgens are tiny little people and the Sprout family believe they could be the... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3
Book Lover Jo

“A thoroughly enjoyable adventure”

I adored David O’ Connell’s, ‘Dundoodle Mysteries,’ so was intrigued to discover he had a brand new series coming from a world not to far away in, The Smidgens.’ For Smidgens are exactly like humans except for one... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“This little tale is packed full of comedy, secrets and adventures!”

The Smidgens are only a few inches high, but little Gafferty Sprout is about to discover something huge in this first in the series by David O'Connell, illustrated superbly by Seb Burnett. This little tale is... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.