Silversmith's Wife (Hardback)
  • Silversmith's Wife (Hardback)
zoom

Silversmith's Wife (Hardback)

(author)
£12.99
Hardback 432 Pages / Published: 16/01/2014
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
Check availability At your local shop
Stunning historical fiction, perfect for fans of Tracy Chevalier. The year is 1792 and it's winter in Berkeley Square. As the city sleeps, the night-watchman keeps a cautious eye over the streets and another eye in the back doors of the great and the good. Then one fateful night he comes across the body of Pierre Renard, the eponymous silversmith, lying dead, his throat cut and his valuables missing. It could be common theft, committed by one of the many villains who stalk the square, but as news of the murder spreads, it soon becomes clear that Renard had more than a few enemies, all with their own secrets to hide. At the centre of this web is Mary, the silversmith's wife. Ostensibly theirs was an excellent pairing, but behind closed doors their relationship was a dark and at times sadistic one and when we meet her, Mary is withdrawn and weak, haunted by her past and near-mad with guilt. Will she attain the redemption she seeks and what, exactly, does she need redemption for...? Rich, intricate and beautifully told, this is a story of murder, love and buried secrets.

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
ISBN: 9781471128080
Number of pages: 432
Weight: 614 g
Dimensions: 234 x 153 x 38 mm

You may also be interested in...

Lamentation
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Pale Horseman
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Demelza
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Boleyn Inheritance
Added to basket
Dissolution
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Red Queen
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The White Princess
Added to basket
Edge of Eternity
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The White Queen
Added to basket
The Tea Planter's Wife
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
A Place Called Winter
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Name Of The Rose
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Written in My Own Heart's Blood
Added to basket
Ross Poldark
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Paying Guests
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Bring Up the Bodies
Added to basket

Reviews

View all

“engrossing read”

It's London in 1792, the company of silversmiths and the alliances, loves and betrayls that have led to the muder of Piere Renard, silversmith. An ambitious and bitter man entries of his diary intercut with the... More

Hardback edition
18th January 2014
Helpful? Upvote 14

“The perfect read for a cold winter day!”

The novel is set in the dark and dangerous London of the late 1700s, a time when social divides were very apparent; the workers resenting not only the wealth of their masters but the control they had over them and the... More

Hardback edition
30th December 2013
Helpful? Upvote 14
KarenD

“Rich in detail”

With this debut novel we are transported back to 18th century London, and in particular to Berkeley Square and Bond Street. This is a dangerous place requiring the presence of a night watchman to protect its people... More

Hardback edition
19th April 2014
Helpful? Upvote 11

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.