The Silver Pigs - Falco (Paperback)
  • The Silver Pigs - Falco (Paperback)
zoom

The Silver Pigs - Falco (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 352 Pages / Published: 07/02/2008
  • In stock

UK delivery within 5 days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Fans of S. J. Parris, Donna Leon, Steven Saylor and C. J. Sansom will absolutely love this gripping page-turner of a historical mystery from multi-million copy bestselling author Lindsey Davis. Full of twists, turns and tension - you'll be hooked from page one...

'Her research has been assiduous and detailed, her commitment to the subject is impressive, and the background detail is often eye-opening' -- Hilary Mantel, Observer
'One of the best writers in this field' -- Donna Leon, The Times
'Surely the best historical detective in the business' -- Daily Telegraph
'Every book in this series is a delight ... highly recommended' -- Library Journal
'Be careful, if you get the taste for this you'll end up reading them all... I can think of worse ways to pass the time' -- ***** Reader review
'This series is just SO addictive!' -- ***** Reader review
'I just could not put it down' -- ***** Reader review
'Engrossing' -- ***** Reader review

********************************************************************************
A NEW EMPEROR SEEKS AN EXPERIENCED AGENT

Marcus Didius Falco is a private informer, the closest thing that first-century Rome has to a detective.

A new emperor, Vespasian, has ascended to power. The tides of money and power are in flux, and Rome's vicious games swirl more ferociously than ever.

When Falco rescues a young girl in trouble, he catapults himself into a dangerous game involving stolen imperial ingots, a dark political plot and, most hazardous of all, a senator's daughter connected to the traitors Falco has sworn to expose.

The rule of law is tenuous for ordinary citizens of Rome. Only a man with a mind as sharp as a gladius can prevail.

Publisher: Cornerstone
ISBN: 9780099515050
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 245 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 21 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Every book in this series is a delight ... fans will snap it up, highly recommended
Library Journal

* Library Journal *
Davis is a prolific and popular writer ... Her research has been assiduous and detailed, her commitment to the subject is impressive, and the background detail is often eye-opening -- Hilary Mantel * Observer *
One of the best of the current writers in this field -- Donna Leon * The Times *
Surely the best historical detective in the business -- Mike Ripley * Daily Telegraph *
The whole thing is splendid. It has everything: mystery, pace wit, fascinating scholarship ... she brings imperial Rome to life -- Ellis Peters

You may also be interested in...

Act of Oblivion
Added to basket
£22.00   £18.99
Hardback
The Bookseller of Inverness
Added to basket
The Axeman's Jazz
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Shadows of Men
Added to basket
Black Drop
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
A Sunlit Weapon
Added to basket
Over My Dead Body
Added to basket
Daughters of Night
Added to basket
The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle
Added to basket
Dissolution
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Devil and the Dark Water
Added to basket
The Fine Art of Invisible Detection
Added to basket
Next in Line
Added to basket
£22.00   £18.99
Hardback
The Essex Serpent
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
A Corruption of Blood
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Christie Affair
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“well written”

Transport yourself back to Roman times and learn how they lived whilst enjoying a jollly good romp. Very good. Will read next one

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 95

“Wonderful”

This is my new favourite author! Historical whodunnit solved by a seemingly seedy P.I. (Roman variety) Full of twists and turns, revolving around a mystery, and the torturous love life and social climbing of the hero.... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.