The Silver Pigs - Falco (Paperback)
  • The Silver Pigs - Falco (Paperback)
zoom

The Silver Pigs - Falco (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 352 Pages
Published: 07/02/2008
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

Fans of S. J. Parris, Donna Leon, Steven Saylor and C. J. Sansom will absolutely love this gripping page-turner of a historical mystery from multi-million copy bestselling author Lindsey Davis. Full of twists, turns and tension - you'll be hooked from page one...

'Her research has been assiduous and detailed, her commitment to the subject is impressive, and the background detail is often eye-opening' -- Hilary Mantel, Observer
'One of the best writers in this field' -- Donna Leon, The Times
'Surely the best historical detective in the business' -- Daily Telegraph
'Every book in this series is a delight ... highly recommended' -- Library Journal
'Be careful, if you get the taste for this you'll end up reading them all... I can think of worse ways to pass the time' -- ***** Reader review
'This series is just SO addictive!' -- ***** Reader review
'I just could not put it down' -- ***** Reader review
'Engrossing' -- ***** Reader review

********************************************************************************
A NEW EMPEROR SEEKS AN EXPERIENCED AGENT

Marcus Didius Falco is a private informer, the closest thing that first-century Rome has to a detective.

A new emperor, Vespasian, has ascended to power. The tides of money and power are in flux, and Rome's vicious games swirl more ferociously than ever.

When Falco rescues a young girl in trouble, he catapults himself into a dangerous game involving stolen imperial ingots, a dark political plot and, most hazardous of all, a senator's daughter connected to the traitors Falco has sworn to expose.

The rule of law is tenuous for ordinary citizens of Rome. Only a man with a mind as sharp as a gladius can prevail.

Publisher: Cornerstone
ISBN: 9780099515050
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 245 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 21 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Every book in this series is a delight … fans will snap it up, highly recommendedLibrary Journal - Library Journal

Davis is a prolific and popular writer … Her research has been assiduous and detailed, her commitment to the subject is impressive, and the background detail is often eye-opening - Hilary Mantel, Observer

One of the best of the current writers in this field - Donna Leon, The Times

Surely the best historical detective in the business - Mike Ripley, Daily Telegraph

The whole thing is splendid. It has everything: mystery, pace wit, fascinating scholarship … she brings imperial Rome to life - Ellis Peters

You may also be interested in...

Murder at Maybridge Castle
Added to basket
Homecoming
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Ashes of London
Added to basket
The Railway Detective's Christmas Case
Added to basket
The Beholders
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle
Added to basket
Munich Wolf
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
The White Lady
Added to basket
The Lock-Up
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Shadows of London
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Traitors Gate
Added to basket
£22.00   £17.99
Hardback
The Great Deceiver
Added to basket
£22.00   £18.99
Hardback
The Whispering Muse
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Hercule Poirot’s Silent Night
Added to basket
£22.00   £18.99
Hardback
A Death in Diamonds
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Murder at Holly House
Added to basket

“well written”

Transport yourself back to Roman times and learn how they lived whilst enjoying a jollly good romp. Very good. Will read next one

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 109

“Wonderful”

This is my new favourite author! Historical whodunnit solved by a seemingly seedy P.I. (Roman variety) Full of twists and turns, revolving around a mystery, and the torturous love life and social climbing of the hero.... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 16
Richard Hayden in Rye

“Roman Crime”

Written with a crime writer’s efficient prose and a storyteller’s eye for character, Silver Pigs delivers a fast-paced, well-researched tale of foul play at both the heart of the Roman Empire and its most remote... More

Paperback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 11

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: