Ts&Cs apply
The Silent Wife: The gripping bestselling novel of betrayal, revenge and murder... (Paperback)
  • The Silent Wife: The gripping bestselling novel of betrayal, revenge and murder... (Paperback)
zoom

The Silent Wife: The gripping bestselling novel of betrayal, revenge and murder... (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 384 Pages / Published: 21/11/2013
  • In stock

In stock online

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

The Sunday Times and New York Times bestseller.

'The slow, murderous disintegration of a marriage is all too believable... As the novel advances into treacherous territory, Harrison's elegant, incisive prose gets dirtier, more dangerous' Observer

Fans of Into the Water and The Couple Next Door will love The Silent Wife.

Having nothing left to lose changes everything.

Todd and Jodie have been together for more than twenty years. They are both aware their world is in crisis, though neither is willing to admit it.

Todd is living a dual existence, while Jodie is living in denial. But she also likes to settle scores. When it becomes clear their affluent Chicago lifestyle could disintegrate at any moment, Jodie knows everything is at stake. It's only now she will discover just how much she's truly capable of...

Shocking and compelling in equal measure, THE SILENT WIFE is a chilling portrayal of two people in turmoil and the lengths they will go to in order to protect themselves.

'One of those books you hate to put down... Devastating... Profoundly disquieting' Guardian

'Dark as hell and totally engrossing' Daily Mail

'Fans of Gone Girl will love it' Sunday Mirror

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9780755399864
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 275 g
Dimensions: 197 x 129 x 26 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
This perfectly pitched debut offers sharp insights into the grievances that accumulate over a long relationship, and the lengths to which a woman will go when her world collapses * SUNDAY TIMES *
Sharp, witty, dark as hell and totally engrossing... A worthy rival to Gone Girl in its psychological complexity and accomplishment * DAILY MAIL *
This will be the book everyone will be talking about by the end of summer, it will be the number one choice for book clubs and well-thumbed copies will be passed between friends and work colleagues with glowing recommendation... The term "must-read" is often bandied around and not always deservedly. The Silent Wife justifies the plaudit without question * SUNDAY EXPRESS *
The slow, murderous disintegration of a marriage is all too believable in A.S.A. Harrison's first - and final - novel... As the novel advances into treacherous territory, Harrison's elegant, incisive prose gets dirtier, more dangerous * OBSERVER *
The Silent Wife attracted much political publicity, but its author died a few weeks ago... The hype was largely justified. It is inevitably being compared with last year's mega-hit, Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl... The Silent Wife is psychologically more interesting * THE TIMES *
The Silent Wife is one of those books you hate to put down. Harrison writes well with a light touch, but her touch is devastating nonetheless... Profoundly disquieting * GUARDIAN.CO.UK *
After Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl, novels about toxic marriages are suddenly in vogue. The Silent Wife is the classiest of the bunch... A smart psychological chiller * MAIL ON SUNDAY *
A hit... and you can see why * THE SUN *
Beautifully written and superbly paced, not to mention full of ingenious twists. Fans of Gone Girl will love it * SUNDAY MIRROR *
SUPERB... As a novel about the dark side of marriage and relationships, it's better than Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl -- SOPHIE HANNAH
This summer's blockbuster novel * DAILY TELEGRAPH *
Sharp, psychological and intricate, if you've ever wondered just how far you'd go if you had nothing left to lose, this will make you do a double-take * HARPER'S BAZAAR ONLINE *
Utterly believable, complex, and compelling -- JOJO MOYES
Beautifully written and deeply unsettling, this darkly funny examination of what happens when you've got nothing left to lose is also brilliantly addictive. It left me almost breathless as I raced towards the devastating finale -- S.J. WATSON
A deliciously wicked pleasure... A very clever, very funny comedy of manners spliced with a domestic thriller -- KATE ATKINSON
A terrific debut novel * VAL MCDERMID *
This is an utterly compelling story, gorgeously written and with so many shocks and surprises... I raced through it. My highest recommendation -- TESS GERRITSEN
The characterization is exceptionally well done, the writing stylish and mature... this is a very accomplished psychological thriller -- S.J. BOLTON
Reminiscent of Gone Girl in that it's written in the alternating voices of the couple, it's every bit as addictive. You'll be thinking about it for months to come -- www.cosmopolitan.co.uk
If you enjoyed Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl, you'll love this unsettling psychological thriller * SUN ON SUNDAY *
A gripping psychological thriller * DAILY EXPRESS *

You may also be interested in...

Find Them Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Long Call
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
V2
Added to basket
V2
£20.00   £14.99
Hardback
The Law of Innocence
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Guest List
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Lockdown
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Agent Running in the Field
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
When Shadows Fall
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
We Begin at the End
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Guardians
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Hunting Party
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Walk the Wire
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The President's Daughter
Added to basket
The Second Sleep
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Time for Mercy
Added to basket
£20.00   £14.99
Hardback

“Disappointed”

Todd and Jodi have been married for years, despite their different personalities and views on life. Anyone looking at them from the outside would envy their life together with seemingly everything going for them. But... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 72

“The Silent Wife”

From the first chapter, you are drawn into the lives of Jodi and Todd and the relationship between them.

They have been married for over 20 years and have built a comfortable existence for them both. However, they... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 62

“Read It”

The Silent Wife A.S.A. Harrison

Please don’t read this book if you like happy endings. And don’t read this book if you’re a fan of chick lit and romance. Don’t read this book if you want an injection of feel good... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 60

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.