The Silent Patient (Paperback)
  • The Silent Patient (Paperback)
zoom

The Silent Patient (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 352 Pages
Published: 12/12/2019
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Sharp, clever and utterly original, The Silent Patient explores the complexities of trauma and the human psyche in twisty, brilliantly paced prose, offering psychological suspense at its finest.

Shortlisted for the British Book Awards Crime & Thriller Book of the Year 2020

Alicia:

Alicia Berenson writes a diary as a release, an outlet - and to prove to her beloved husband that everything is fine. She can't bear the thought of worrying Gabriel, or causing him pain.

Until, late one evening, Alicia shoots Gabriel five times and then never speaks another word.

Theo: 

Forensic psychotherapist Theo Faber is convinced he can successfully treat Alicia, where all others have failed. Obsessed with investigating her crime, his discoveries suggest Alicia's silence goes far deeper than he first thought.

And if she speaks, would he want to hear the truth?

The Silent Patient was the gripping must-read debut thriller of 2019 - perfect for fans of The Woman in the Window by A.J. Finn, Thirteen by Steve Cavanagh and The Girl Before by J.P. Delaney

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781409181637
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 240 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 24 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Absolutely brilliant . . . I read it in a state of intense, breathless excitement - STEPHEN FRY

Masterly plotting, Hitchcockian suspense and an absolute jaw-dropper of an ending. Read this book! - LUCY FOLEY, bestselling author of THE HUNTING PARTY

Intelligent, imaginative and a terrific read - THE TIMES - Crime Book of the Month

I read it in two nights and savoured every luscious word, every grim encounter, every startling twist - DAVID BALDACCI

Smart, sophisticated suspense - a very fine novel by any standard - LEE CHILD

The perfect thriller. I quite literally couldn't put it down - A. J. Finn, bestselling author of THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW

A taut, meticulously plotted and compelling novel - THE OBSERVER

The Silent Patient may be a first novel, but it has the pace and finesse of a master - BBC CULTURE

One of the best thrillers I've read this year. Masterfully plotted and brilliantly paced by a writer at the top of his game - CARA HUNTER, Sunday Times bestselling author of CLOSE TO HOME

A superior psycho-thriller - THE TIMES

I was kicking myself black and blue that I did not see that* moment coming. I have never been so happily wrong-footed. A very clever book - highly recommended. - C. J. TUDOR, Sunday Times bestselling author of THE CHALK MAN

A neatly woven, intelligently written story that lifts the curtain on the complexities of trauma and the human psyche - ALI LAND, Sunday Times bestselling author of GOOD ME, BAD ME

The definition of a page turner. The twist comes as hard and fast as a slap across the face. - JOHN MARRS, bestselling author of THE GOOD SAMARITAN

Genuinely chilling and with a real sucker punch of a twist - SHARON BOLTON, Sunday Times bestselling author of THE CRAFTSMAN

A hugely impressive debut - STEVE CAVANAGH, bestselling author of THIRTEEN

Comes with a killer twist - SUNDAY TIMES Crime Club

An unforgettable - and Hollywood-bound - new thriller - ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY

An excellent, slow-burning psychological thriller; sharp, clever and with a whammy that genuinely took me by surprise - JOANNE HARRIS

Impossible to put down, with a twist that will blow your mind - MARK EDWARDS, bestselling author of THE MAGPIES

One of the most hotly anticipated novels of this year - DAILY EXPRESS

One of the best psychological thrillers I have ever read . . . with an ending that is destined to go down as one of the most shocking, mind-blowing twists in recent memory - BLAKE CROUCH, author of DARK MATTER

You may also be interested in...

Strange Sally Diamond
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Calamity of Souls
Added to basket
£22.00   £11.00
Hardback
Butter
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
None of This is True
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Talented Mr Ripley
Added to basket
Homecoming
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Kamogawa Food Detectives
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Secret
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Housemaid's Secret
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Damascus Station
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Raging Storm
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Secret Hours
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Cloisters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Death in the Parish
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Trial
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Satsuma Complex
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Square of Sevens
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Killing Moon
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback

“A brilliant debut”

Thanks to NetGalley and Orion Publishing Group for the ARC of The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides.

Alicia Berenson, renowned artist, deeply loves her husband Gabriel. So it’s a surprise to everyone when, one... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 85

“Highly recommended”

Absolutely thrilling.
Totally amazing
Completely hooked
Had no idea how the story was going to unfold,.
It as so many twists and turns you just won't see the end coming.

LOVED IT!!!!!!!

Thank you netgalley,... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 75

“Murdering Her Husband”

The front piece of this novel indicates that it is the author's first book. It certainly indicates a promising future for Mr Michaelides as the theme chosen is quite an interesting one. Alicia Berenson is a... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 70

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: