The Silent Patient (Hardback)
  • The Silent Patient (Hardback)
zoom

The Silent Patient (Hardback)

(author)
£12.99
Hardback 352 Pages / Published: 07/02/2019
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

Alicia:

Alicia Berenson writes a diary as a release, an outlet - and to prove to her beloved husband that everything is fine. She can't bear the thought of worrying Gabriel, or causing him pain.

Until, late one evening, Alicia shoots Gabriel five times and then never speaks another word.

Theo: 

Forensic psychotherapist Theo Faber is convinced he can successfully treat Alicia, where all others have failed. Obsessed with investigating her crime, his discoveries suggest Alicia's silence goes far deeper than he first thought.

And if she speaks, would he want to hear the truth?

The Silent Patient is the gripping must-read debut thriller of 2019 - perfect for fans of The Woman in the Window by A.J. Finn, Thirteen by Steve Cavanagh and The Girl Before by J.P. Delaney

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781409181613
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 560 g
Dimensions: 238 x 154 x 34 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Absolutely brilliant ... I read it in a state of intense, breathless excitement and never saw the ending coming. Not for a second!' - Stephen Fry

'The Silent Patient sneaks up on you like a slash of intimidating shadow on a badly lit street. Michaelides has crafted a totally original, spellbinding psychological mystery so quirky, so unique that it should have its own genre. I read it in two nights and savored every luscious word, every grim encounter, every startling twist. The pages will burn with the friction from your hands turning them.' - David Baldacci

'Smart, sophisticated suspense - a very fine novel by any standard.' - Lee Child

'The perfect thriller. This extraordinary novel set my blood fizzing - I quite literally couldn't put it down. I told myself I'd just dip in; eleven hours later - it's now 5.47 AM - I've finished it, absolutely dazzled.' - A. J. Finn, author of The Woman in the Window

'One of the best thrillers I've read this year. Masterfully plotted and brilliantly paced by a writer at the top of his game.' - Cara Hunter, author of Close to Home

'I was kicking myself black and blue that I did not see that moment coming. I have never been so happily wrong-footed. A very clever book - highly recommended.' - C.J. Tudor, author of The Chalk Man

'A neatly woven, intelligently written story that lifts the curtain on the complexities of trauma and the human psyche.' - Ali Land, author of Good Me, Bad Me

'The definition of a page turner. The twist comes as hard and fast as a slap across the face.' - John Marrs, author of The Good Samaritan

'Genuinely chilling and with a real sucker punch of a twist.' - Sharon Bolton, author of The Craftsman

'A hugely impressive debut.' - Steve Cavanagh, author of Thirteen

'Alex Michaelides has written one of the best psychological thrillers I have ever read. The Silent Patient is a swarming, paranoid nightmare of a novel with an ending that is destined to go down as one of the most shocking, mind-blowing twists in recent memory.' - Blake Crouch, author of Dark Matter

'An excellent, slow-burning psychological thriller; sharp, clever and with a whammy that genuinely took me by surprise (it takes a lot to do this). Kudos to the author. More, please.' - Joanne Harris

'"Just one more chapter. Just one more. Then I'll stop." Once you pick up The Silent Patient, this will be what you'll say to yourself, before you give in and keep reading until the blindsiding and brilliantly clever conclusion - no matter how good a sleuth you are, you aren't going to see it coming.' - Emily Koch, author of If I Die Before I Wake

'Impossible to put down, with a twist that will blow your mind.' - Mark Edwards, author of The Magpies

'Fantastic. I could not put it down.' - Heidi Perks, author of Now You See Her

You may also be interested in...

Murder After Christmas
Added to basket
Over My Dead Body
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Sentinel
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Never
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
Better Off Dead
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
The Dinner Guest
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Eight Detectives
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Silverview
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
The Survivors
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Slough House
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Castaways
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Better Off Dead
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
A Time for Mercy
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Night Gate
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“A brilliant debut”

Thanks to NetGalley and Orion Publishing Group for the ARC of The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides.

Alicia Berenson, renowned artist, deeply loves her husband Gabriel. So it’s a surprise to everyone when, one... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 70

“Highly recommended”

Absolutely thrilling.
Totally amazing
Completely hooked
Had no idea how the story was going to unfold,.
It as so many twists and turns you just won't see the end coming.

LOVED IT!!!!!!!

Thank you netgalley,... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 55

“Murdering Her Husband”

The front piece of this novel indicates that it is the author's first book. It certainly indicates a promising future for Mr Michaelides as the theme chosen is quite an interesting one. Alicia Berenson is a... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 51

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.